We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location - good price - recently renovated”
Review of Hotel Iberia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older hotel that is family run and has obvious new updates from paint, furniture, light switches, lamps, etc. The location is good. It is about a 4 block walk to the main commercial area with restaurants and stores. The building and rooms are well maintained. It is an older building but it is nicely maintained and a great value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 695 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is interesting reading the review before ours, as we felt the location was absolutely safe, as well as convenient to both the main tourist track and the Waterfront. My partner and I walked back to the hotel relatively late on both nights of our stay and never felt unsafe or uneasy.

This is by no means a 5-star hotel, but we thought it was tastefully decorated, very clean and had a really homely feel. It was excellent value for money.

We found all the staff to be very friendly (along with most of the locals we encountered in Montevideo). We can only speak basic Spanish, but we were happy to practise with the staff, some of whom could only speak basic English and some of whom could speak excellent english. That's all part of the fun isn't it? The owner, Sylvia, also loves to practise her English by chatting up a storm, so we had two pleasant evenings conversing with her before we headed out for the night.

Sylvia was also very accommodating, letting us use the kitchen facilities and pretty much treat the place as our own.

We personally had a great stay at Hotel Iberia and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliandAdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Yes, the hotel is inexpensive...however, a single female and families should not reserve here....just a half mile away, we were surrounded by a gang of thugs who tried to carjack our family....graffiti is everywhere....walking alone is not advisable. We were told to put our car in a parking garage rather than use on the street parking because it is too risky. However, we did not feel it was safe to walk in that neighborhood from a parking garage and we would rather take our chances that someone would break into our car (than risk bodily damage to ourselves) so we parked it right outside the hotel, removing all of our valuables of course. Fortunately, one of us was a fluent Spanish speaker as very little English is used at the hotel....the owner is okay with English but the main desk person knows no English. Sheets, bedcovers, towels are all worn, some with holes. The room we were in desperately needs a coat of paint....looks dingy, dirty and worn. After our experience with street thugs, I will not be back to Montevideo....better to stay in a smaller coastal town rather than use the city as a base. Very noisy hotel from the street....take earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel I, Propietario at Hotel Iberia, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Mrs: We are really shocked because of all the negative stuff you happened in your visit to Montevideo.
I have to tell you that Montevideo is considered the safer city in Latinoamérica by international organizations.
I have to clarify that the event you wrote, in a zone very far from our location (4 Km) in a non touristic zone, we think that we don't have the responsability to deserve your comment in this site. Sorry, your resentment with our country.
In our staff three people who speak English.
The room you took is in perfect conditions both, the painting, towels and bedclothes. The room number 21 (The one you took) was opened totally brand new just 3 months ago, all the furniture is brand new too.
That room (21) as you can look in the picture of the title page of trip advisor with perfect conditions. The room have double windows and blinds, totally soundless.
You and your family arrived our hotel without booking in any website, so if you didn't like the room conditions in that moment you had the possibility to leave the hotel without any charge, but you didn't. You alike stayed five nights at our hotel,is clear that the room was to his liking, price and quality.
The car rental asks in their contracts that the vehicles have to be in a garage at nights, that's why we suggested you to leave it in a parking that is only 150 meters far from hotel.
Our hotel is in front of two police departments, a bar, and two more hotels, so that you can easily walk down the street. Also, we are located in a touristic zone with another 50 hotels of Center of Montevideo.
Our location is excellent, a few meters you have the beatiful rambla (coast) where people enjoy a lot walking or doing aerobic excercises including very late in the night.
We are just 300 meters far of the main avenue of the city, the most crowded by tourists and the uruguayan people, theatres, cinemas, pubs, squares, banks, supermarkets, casinos, schools, etc.
In our hotel there very cool, women staff are very friendly, is a hotel to feel at home, you were not in this tone. We're sorry.

I wish you the best, Be happy.
Silvia Regueira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you go to MVD on a budget, and do not want to spend 150+ $ a night in grand hotels, there's an array of some budget hotels. Unfortunately most of them are not up even to a minimum standard.

Unless you go to the Iberia. Family owned, absolutely clean, good normal people environment, great location close to downtown, shops and restaurants. The way oneself would keep an hotel.

Rooms are clean, decent sized (not huge, but comfortable enough), very clean private bathrooms, WIFI, double glass windows to isolate the street noise (which is not a lot by the way), AC and Flat Screen TV in every room. Breakfast is paid, I have not tried it but you can take a peek at the kitchen and is as clean as the rest of the hotel. They'll let you use the bkfst room microwave, toaster and facilities for your dinner or lunch.

Employees super friendly and helpful. If you need a car for the airport, they'll call a private company with good cars that is even cheaper than the normal taxis.

Unless you really have to go to the Radisson, this is your choice for MVD.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owners of the Hotel Iberia made our stay in Montevideo so easy! They got bikes for us, had the clean, ample room ready for us, and were great with replying to confirm the booking. Silvia at the desk also gave us an excellent dinner recommendation for Parilla Parada Sur, and advice on where to go around Cuidad Viejo.

The room was simple but large, CHEAP and lovely. the shower was a little small, but otherwise the whole place was perfect, and an easy walk through old town to and from the port.

Room Tip: great value, nice location, excellent staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank annerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely little hotel with great, friendly, helpful staff and a lovely room. The owner is learning English and was obviously keen to practise it with us, she went out of her way to help us when we couldn't find a post box and took us to the farmacia up the road, spoke through the metal grid to the staff and got our cards into a box inside - no way on earth would we have nown to do this!! The location isn't that good, a fair way from the old town but 4 blocks from the main road and there are some restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for six nights. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in walking distance to many sites and shops. There is a continental breakfast available for a nominal fee which for us was quite large - a large ham and cheese croissant with a laite or tea and two slices of toast. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit instead of all that bread. My advice is to eat at the hotel once or twice depending on your length off stay and then try some of the local corner cafes nearby. I ordered cafe complete at one and it came with a small juice, small water, merange bud, whipped cream and was delicious. The atmosphere of sitting outside on a patio was wonderful and that probably was my best breakfast in Montevideo except for a tortilla I had for one brunch.

The hotel room was adequate and had a stereo with wall speakers. The decor was up to date and stylish. The only thing we were missing was a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries. The room was on the small side but we are accustomed to New York rooms which are as small as they come. There is also a lot of street noise during the morning even though we were on the third floor. After a night or so, we got used to it and found it comforting. The beds were adequate but there were only two pillows - one each. It would have been nice to have an extra one each. As well, we are accustomed to memory foam pillows and found these too soft for our personal liking but we managed! One more thing that could have been added to the room was a full length mirror. There is one small mirror in the bathroom only.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolaandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#48 of 87 in Montevideo
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#51 of 87 in Montevideo
356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Intercity Montevideo
Intercity Montevideo
#23 of 87 in Montevideo
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#26 of 87 in Montevideo
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Address: Maldonado 1097, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $43 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Iberia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing