We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value hotel in Montevideo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Iberia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Iberia
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent value hotel in Montevideo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owners of the Hotel Iberia made our stay in Montevideo so easy! They got bikes for us, had the clean, ample room ready for us, and were great with replying to confirm the booking. Silvia at the desk also gave us an excellent dinner recommendation for Parilla Parada Sur, and advice on where to go around Cuidad Viejo.

The room was simple but large, CHEAP and lovely. the shower was a little small, but otherwise the whole place was perfect, and an easy walk through old town to and from the port.

Room Tip: great value, nice location, excellent staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank annerene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    249
    77
    23
    8
See reviews for
142
297
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely little hotel with great, friendly, helpful staff and a lovely room. The owner is learning English and was obviously keen to practise it with us, she went out of her way to help us when we couldn't find a post box and took us to the farmacia up the road, spoke through the metal grid to the staff and got our cards into a box inside - no way on earth would we have nown to do this!! The location isn't that good, a fair way from the old town but 4 blocks from the main road and there are some restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for six nights. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in walking distance to many sites and shops. There is a continental breakfast available for a nominal fee which for us was quite large - a large ham and cheese croissant with a laite or tea and two slices of toast. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit instead of all that bread. My advice is to eat at the hotel once or twice depending on your length off stay and then try some of the local corner cafes nearby. I ordered cafe complete at one and it came with a small juice, small water, merange bud, whipped cream and was delicious. The atmosphere of sitting outside on a patio was wonderful and that probably was my best breakfast in Montevideo except for a tortilla I had for one brunch.

The hotel room was adequate and had a stereo with wall speakers. The decor was up to date and stylish. The only thing we were missing was a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries. The room was on the small side but we are accustomed to New York rooms which are as small as they come. There is also a lot of street noise during the morning even though we were on the third floor. After a night or so, we got used to it and found it comforting. The beds were adequate but there were only two pillows - one each. It would have been nice to have an extra one each. As well, we are accustomed to memory foam pillows and found these too soft for our personal liking but we managed! One more thing that could have been added to the room was a full length mirror. There is one small mirror in the bathroom only.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolaandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was a bit wary beforehand because it was our first visit to Uruguay and I couldnt get any personal referrals for a place to stay. My worries melted away the moment we stepped inside Hotel Iberia. Sylvia the owner and her staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly. They NEVER stop smiling. Without prompting they go out of their way to keep you comfortable and safe. The common areas of the hotel are warm and welcoming. Our room was simple but lacked nothing and everyting was always spotlessly clean. This hotel is a fantastic value.

Room Tip: I believe that the Superior rooms are on the top floor and are quieter than the regular rooms below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel & rooms are modern & spotlessly clean! Bed & pillows very comfy. Small refrigerator in room for drinks & snacks. Wifi works perfectly in the room & position is central to the whole city Very warm & friendly staff, this has to be one of the best value hotels with excellent service we have experienced in our 6 months in South America. Don't bother to look any further! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice friendly people , clean and good value close to the city centre and many museums and heaps of restaurants . Visit the markets by the docks for the most BBQ meat you can eat !! Recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to all city amenities, beaches and historical city sites. The rooms were kept very clean and customer service was top notch. This hotel is only two short blocks away from the 'Llamadas' parade route, which is a must see and experience cultural event during Carnival.

Room Tip: This is near the 'Barrio Sur' portion of town, which is in the heart of the 'Centro'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#43 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Montevideo
Ibis Montevideo
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#25 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#5 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#8 of 87 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Property: Hotel Iberia
Address: Maldonado 1097, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Iberia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Iberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing