We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last night”
Review of Francis Restaurant

Francis Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 964 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Torremolinos
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect last night”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Francis on our last night in Montevideo and have to say it thoroughly deserves it's rating. We sat outside and although there is no view to speak of there was a nice romantic atmosphere. The food was faultless - I had chicken and my husband had steak, service was efficient and unobtrusive. It was the most expensive meal we had in Uruguay but I paid with a European credit card and when I got the bill was pleased to note the tax had been refunded! All in all highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulaintorrespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,524
    1,190
    326
    89
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and alternative to the classic Parillada”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I saw the review on Trip Advisor and thought it would be a great place to talk family to expose them to different cuisines, specially sushi and other seafood. We were all very pleased with the food and the sushi was as good as I have had home in DC. The drinks were good as well with an extensive menu of mixed drinks.

I highly recommend this restaurant if you want something other than the classic grilled meat, though they have that if you have one member of your dining party who just will not stray, which was our case.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect choice”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I went to the restaurant to celebrate my birthday and everything was perfect. The meal and wine were wonderful and the staff is so nice and friendly. The price are reasonable and i really recomend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Classic spot for a good meal, specially for fish lovers! the menú is too extensive for my taste and a bit too pricey too...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bguelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good meal in Montevideo”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I had a really nice meal here. The menu is extensive, and normally that would give me pause. But I think the restaurant pulled off the meanu fairly well. We had a really tasty sushi roll as a starter, and we each got a different pasta for a main. It wasn't the best pasta I've ever had, but it was a pleasant meal overall, the wine was great, the service was good, and the restaurant had a nice design.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Restaurant also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Francis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing