We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls very thin”
Review of Sur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sur Hotel
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Greetings -
The hotel room was small, but clean. It had everything I needed, including a bathroom and television. My room was directly off a road - I heard motorcycles, trucks, etc. The walls were thin so I heard people having sex next door. Bring EAR PLUGS!
I didn't feel unsafe in the street and the hotel was very helpful in making suggestions of areas to avoid on a weekend. Breakfast of yogurt, coffee, and a bread basket costs $5. There were no other amenities in the hotel.

Room Tip: Get one off of the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culture_luvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Sur Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 374 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

It’s quite nice little hotel, tastefully remodelled from a pension, with all the fixtures you would expect from a medium range hotel in this price range (we paid US$55). Our room had bench along one wall, a wardrobe, mini fridge, two bedside tables with drawers, a safe, air-con and wall fan. In the bathroom was a hair dryer, shower recess, toiletries, and recessed vanity with plenty of bench space (see my photos).

On the down side, our room was quite cramped with no chairs and little room for our suit cases. We had no window, so it was a bit like staying in a cave with no idea if it was day or night. The air was a bit musty even though we kept the air-con and the fan on. The front door is always locked so you have to ring a bell to gain entry. Breakfast is not included, and you will have a hard time if you don’t speak Spanish.

We stayed for only four nights even though we had booked for a week. The problem was the hot water. We had hot water only on the first day. This is bad enough, but what really upset me was the attitude of the staff, who were, apart from this issue very friendly, professional and polite. But when it came to the issue of the hot water they were in disbelief. You need to keep it running they would say, or perhaps you need to try the other tap. “Yes, we tried that”, I would reply. At one stage, still in disbelief, they sent up a young girl to investigate. Now I need to explain that on occasion the water will go hot for a few seconds and then go stone cold again. The girl ran the shower until it went hot for a few seconds, claimed that all was fixed and quickly left the room.

We moved out the next day to the Iberia across the road, but that’s another story. We had such an unfriendly reception there that we wished we had stayed at the Sur, hot water or not.
In my opinion these budget hotels represent false economy. It's worth paying a little extra for a good room in a more central location.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16... it's very small and has no window
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

From the airport we took the bus for less than $2. We asked the driver to let us off close to Paraguay and Maldonado. The bus stops on 18 De Julio street which is about six blocks away. We found the hotel with no problems. Our check in was quick. We got a standard room which had one queen room. No twin beds. the room had no windows and was small. The bathroom was ok. It met our needs. From here we walk to the old part of town. I recommend you stay on 18 de Julio since it is a busy street. Some of the streets in this area are empty. We had no safety issues. At night it was lonely and quiet but we walked to nearby restaurants with no problems.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location for a couple nights in Montevideo. CLEAN and cost effective hotel. Stayed two nights and had a great experience. Although the women running the front desk didn't speak English, she broke out the google translate and did everything in her power to make sure we were communicating clearly. It was fantastic.

The hotel is on a pretty corner across the street from a great little cafe. It's also two blocks from the waterfront rambla. You can scoot down and walk on the rambla into downtown Montevideo. (5-10 minute walk max). Montevideo is a big city, I recommend two nights max, and Sur is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennaBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my fiancée. Stayed in the room 17, double superior with bathtub. The room is big, it has a locker inside, cable TV, air-conditioning. The down side was that every time we would come back to the room, there was a mold smell to it. Friendly staff, good advice on how to get around on the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in May. Very friendly Spanish-speaking staff. Rooms were very clean, comfortable. Cable tv in rooms and good wifi on all floors. We were able to check in an hour early and given a choice between 2 different rooms. Breakfast was good (100 pesos extra) with fresh orange juice, coffee, toast, bakery treats, cereal and yoghurt. Map provided. We were also cautioned not to be in the old town past 7pm due to security.

Only negatives would be the varying temperature of the shower and for some reason, we were only given the key to our apartment and the safe later in the day (wasn't possible earlier in the day for some reason - our only moderate Spanish couldn't work it out unfortunately).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sur is cheap and clean. It's not a luxury accommodation, but you shouldn't expect that for the price you pay. The location is good, though not great. It's a bit of a walk to the old city, which is by far the most interesting part of Montevideo. One issue is that the staff there spoke no English. That wasn't a big problem for us because we speak Spanish, but that could be a problem for others.

Room Tip: Bring your Spanish phrase book, the staff spoke no English when we were there.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyntonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#29 of 87 in Montevideo
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Palace Hotel
London Palace Hotel
#51 of 87 in Montevideo
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klee
Hotel Klee
#46 of 87 in Montevideo
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Hotel

Address: Maldonado 1098 esq. Paraguay, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $39 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel Is " 2 Stars " Please!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing