We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful little oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pasionaria, universo creativo

La Pasionaria, universo creativo
Ranked #10 of 38 Shopping in Montevideo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Young uruguayan design and original art&crafts. The best shop in Montevideo to buy your gifts. Also you can have lunch, drink coffee with a delicious cake while you enjoy a book. You must visit the second floor and come by our art gallery and boutique, where you will find trendy fashion garments and accesories.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I loved this place! Friendly people and delicious food in a beautiful creative oasis. The perfect place for a short or long break.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you're not an ironically bourgeois older woman, this is not for you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I were eager to visit this after reading its positive reviews. We were disappointed with the tension offered by a shop for local art. On the first floor there were two rooms: a cafe and a gift shop. In the cafe was a tribe of elderly women meeting for their knitting club, supervised by a lifelessly bored waiter. The gift shop was manned by a very friendly young woman who explained some of the unique items to us, such as wallets and bags made of reused Uruguayan tires, and novelty wool items for children. The prices seemed what one would expect from such a shop. Needless to say, nothing was bought. We were also flooded with questions about where we are from, despite our ability to speak Spanish.

We were assured by a very composed older woman that the clothing boutique upstairs would have people in it who speak English. When we walked up the outdoor stairway that is beautifully covered with overgrowth, we accidentally attracted the attention of a young woman sitting in another room using a computer, working on some graphic design. She came over hurriedly and watched us as we examined the items available for sale to an elite class of quirkiness enthusiasts. There were handmade jackets and dresses with outlandish irregular designs, mostly things for runway use. The overall craftsmanship was impressive, but the fruits of their labor were rather sour... and priced at over 200 US$.

Overall we were entertained for a good twenty minutes, but then again, finding this place was a much more rewarding adventure. For those wanting to make a handsome donation to local artists, this is your destination.
P.S. If the width of your body exceeds a foot and a half, you won't be able to enter the tiny doorway that is the entrance for all aspects of La Pasionaria.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Hidden treasures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

La Pasionaria is a small but charming hand-made crafts shop that shares the space with Doméstico, one of the best restaurants in Montevideo, on Reconquista 587, just a block away from the Rambla, and two blocks from the main pedestrian street in the Old City. You have to look for it, because it may not be on the usual visitor itinerary. All items are from local artists, and each piece has been crafted with much skill and love for the trade. Designs are delicate an colorful, ideal for a high-quality gift.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

A very charming place with pieces of art from local artists, nice clothes and jewelery from local designers, a small library and a good restaurant with great food. It's worth to spend an evening in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janaglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I visited La Pasionaria, a design boutique and cafe, in Montevideo, Uruguay, on the recommendation of an artist friend who lives there. It was a wonderful experience. If you want to support young designers in Uruguay, this is a great place to go. The staff is more than courteous—they are extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

Downstairs is a little cafe here we had great soup and salad. Also on the ground level is a shop with Uruguayan design. Upstairs is a small shop that shows the best of young fashion designers in Uruguay. I even met one of the fashion designers at a performance at the Theatre Solis a few days later. She recognized the cape I was wearing as one of hers! It's a small country.

The staff at La Pasionaria told us that they try to partner with young designers to make it possible to get their products to market.

La Pasionaria is a little off the beaten tourist track, but well worth a visit. At La Pasionaria you will find things a cut above the usual cow horn and leather souvenirs that you find at the local craft markets. And, your purchases will be helping to support young designers in Uruguay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pasionaria, universo creativo also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to La Pasionaria, universo creativo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing