We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option in a nice part of town”
Review of Pocitos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pocitos Hostel
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great budget option in a nice part of town”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for both the first few days and the last few days of my Uruguayan adventure. It is a small residential style building in a nice part of town with convenient bus access and walkable to a pleasant urban beach, restaurants and various shopping options. Friendly staff, available 24 hours, secure with a door buzzer entrance, clean and comfortable. WiFi is reliable and surprisingly fast.
The rooms have basic sturdy wooden bunkbeds with firm foam mattresses, thin sheets and good comforters. No air conditioning but fans in each room and large windows upstairs. Rooms are on the basement level or second story, the first story is a lounge area with TV and radio, office area with couches and a kitchen.
Bathrooms are serviceable. Very clean and modern but the upstairs baths (both toilet areas and shower stalls) are TINY. I'm a thin female and I felt crowded trying to shower and kept elbowing the wall and the toilet stalls almost had my knees hitting the door. The upstairs WC is a 2 shower (with curtains), 2 toilet (public restroom stalls) and 1 sink. The downstairs WCs are 2 full baths (shower, toilet and sink behind a regular door) which give a little more room.

Simply a pleasant place to stay and on the better side for a hostel, certainly cleaner and

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyinKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
10
32
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hostel is worth the trip with taxi from the Centro, it's close to one of the nicest beaches in Montevideo, lots of clubs, restaurants, buses to the Old Town etc. The staff is really nice, they give you lots of good tips and are so helpful! The asado we had Saturday night was delicious and everyone went out on a club afterwards. So fun! The dorms and the bathrooms are clean and nice, and it is quiet when it is suppose to be. I would come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I had been looking for an affordable, nice place to stay in Montevideo. The location is great and the staff wonderful- they´re extremely helpful, friendly, and very cool. The rooms are basic (I had a single both my stays here) but clean. Being a solo woman traveler, I didn´t mix with most of the guests at the weekly parilla while I was there, as they tended to be guys who drank way too much. They also have breakfast served every morning, which is basic fruit and tea and bread and juice. Also a few blocks from the rambla, where you can enjoy the calmness of the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapulapu_718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a different perspective, but gives a sense of how wonderful this hostel is. My daughter was staying there for a few days. I hadn't been able to get ahold of her by either cell phone or computer. I was sure she was just busy having fun, but as a mom was still worried. I finally called the hostel. It was 3 AM there but the phone was answered. I explained my concern and the guy who answered the phone knew exactly where my daughter was and what time she was due back. He put me at ease and had my daughter call me when she returned. I don't know of many other places that would respond in this manner. My daughter absolutely loved this hostel and all the people who run it. It was very quiet in Montevideo at this time of year, but the staff still put together a BBQ and gave my daughter many suggestions as to where to go and what to see. From a parent's viewpoint, this hostel is where you want your son or daughter to stay when visiting Montevideo.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank georgewCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The first hostel we went to had messed up our reservation and was full, so we spent the night at Pocitos Hostel in the predominantly Jewish neighborhood Pocitos of Montevideo. Only a two minute walk from Pocitos beach, this hostel was charming and the staff very friendly. They are fluent in English. The fireplace in the common area was very inviting, and the hostel is within blocks of a few small restaurants and only a short taxi ride from the bus station. The following night, when we returned to the other hostel we were disappointed to leave Pocitos.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstenmarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This is a nice and charming place in a very nice neighborhood in montevideo.
You can get to all other sights by taking the bus
The staff are a bunch of young guys who are very friendly and very nice
The common area is cool to hang out
The negatives, the rooms are tiny and cramped and are noisy :( and it is expensive

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Pocitos Hostel it's located in a great neighbourhood in Montevideo, the staff is very very kind, and the people staying there, in my case, were honest guys having fun just like me and my friends. At night we had some drinks in the backyard of the hostel. I'll come back as soon as I can. Only for young people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.4 mi away
Destino26 Hostel
Destino26 Hostel
#4 of 75 in Montevideo
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
1.4 Merit Montevideo Apart & Suites
0.5 mi away
Una Noche Mas
Una Noche Mas
#3 of 35 in Montevideo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
#13 of 75 in Montevideo
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punto Berro Hostel
Punto Berro Hostel
#16 of 75 in Montevideo
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tibet Hostel
Tibet Hostel
#36 of 75 in Montevideo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocitos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocitos Hostel

Property: Pocitos Hostel
Address: Av. Sarmiento 2641. Esq. Fco. Aguilar | Pocitos, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are two friends who met in Ireland in 2006. After travelling and working around we came back to Uruguay convinced that the best way to continue with our trip, getting to meet people from all around the world and new life stories would be by having our own hostel. That´s why we opened Pocitos Hostel in December 2008. Our staff has been carefully selected; they are all very good friends of ours and even though they are young people (between 18 and 23) they surely are the best staff you’ll ever meet and for sure will never forget. The hostel is in the heart of ‘Pocitos’, the best neighborhood in which to stay in Montevideo. The house is unique and was built in the 1930´s by Bello & Reborati . It has big, light dorms and common areas. Pocitos Hostel is an "all year-round hostel". Here, when days are cold you can enjoy listening to music, reading a good book from our library, having a drink, playing board games or just sharing a moment next to our fireplace! Then, when the days are nice you can enjoy our backyard! Get a nice tan before going to Pocitos beach (2 min. walk) or just lie down on a hammock or an outdoor chair and forget about the world. Last but not least you cannot miss our "asado" nights with all the hostel staff and guests. Our beautiful house, the opportunities at the hostel, the neighborhood and our great service will make of your visit to Montevideo, a special stay. We are proud and happy to say (as some backpackers said) that Pocitos Hostel is ‘a home away from home’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pocitos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing