We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Planet Hostel

Planet Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Hostel
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such a cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

A mixed group of us stayed here for 2 nights on a short trip to Uruguay, such a cool place, the décor is very similar to primary school with posters of planets and stars all over the walls, nice clean rooms and bathrooms, they provide you with lockers and padlocks, nice kitchen and common room, was never a queue for the internet, TV room with a variety of DVD's, staff very helpful, hired bikes with the orange bike company, awesome idea rode out to the lighthouse and also to the market where we had an asado, very good food and cheap for what you get! Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyGurl-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
12
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Unfortunately I only spent one day in Montevideo and it happened to be Sunday. The town seemed to be hit by a nuclear explosion because I literally saw 10 people outside and none of the shops were open during my walk through the bus station to the hostel. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the staff members (the guy from Colombia) who kept on asking us to slow down with our speech since he couldn't understand our english. If anything it was really amusing, but what got my attention was that he said that most likely none of the ATMs/Banks would be open all day and probably none of the night spots/restaurants either. He pretty much suggested that Sunday is a ghost day in Montevideo and he couldn't be more wrong...the town came alive around 4-5 pm and it was very busy and vibrant after 7pm. The rooms have ACs which is a plus and the showers are ok (there are two bathroom/shower rooms) there is also a pretty cool patio on the deck where one can just chill out. The breakfast is not much..toast and a piece of fruit with some instant coffee or tea.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Planet Hostel is brilliantly positioned in the middle of the triangle of the sea, Centro and the old town. The staff are great - helpful, kind and knowledgeable. The place exudes the same charm that much of Montevideo does.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank matttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

There are not a lot of places where you can stay to sleep and for having a great time too.

In this place I meet a lot of friends that I will never forget, the people were nice and kind. They were always willing to help me if I have problems, helping me to show me the city and everything.

Was really a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

The location and the building of the Planet Hostel are great - it's a nice house right in the center of Montevideu. But this first impression fades away as soon as you try to sleep, shower and eat in there. The beds are good and the bathrooms are pretty clean. But that's of little value when you can't sleep because of the noises from the road which come through the windows which couldn't be closed properly. Apart from the windows the lockers are also complety broken and do not give the impression of being somehow "safe". Furthermore it's impossible to take a normal shower there - friendly notes advise you to inform the staff in case the water is not hot - nervertheless it was freezing cold during the whole three days I spent there, except the few seconds when it suddenly got boiling hot. Well, and the breakfast is horrible - cold "hot water", green oranges and tasteless so called toasts. The staff simply doensn't seem to be in the least motivated to offer a friendly and complaisant service. They do not care if you come or go, and if you ask for any information or help they at most answer you inert and monosyllabic. The fact that only one member of the staff understands English does not enhance that. It's a pity, cause this hostel could be so much better if the staff would make at least some more efforts!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cominghome91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Planet hostel has earned the unenviable title of the worst hostel we have so far stayed in. It does have a central location and it is not expensive, but for us the good news ends there. We stayed in a double room in the annexe which most definitely did not have air conditioning, as advertised in their hostel bookers page. Our room faced the street and the transom window over the french doors would not close, allowing an endless stream of traffic noise into the room, all through the night. The breakfast was barely passable and we had to hire the towels, but our biggest complaint of all were the incredibly surly, lazy. rude staff, for whom every request seemed to be treated as a disturbance to their peace, an example of happened on our first morning Breakfast starts at 9:00 and we went down at 9:10 only to find that nothing was ready, not even the tea or coffee. When I asked the girl (in Spanish) what the system was she walked past us, without a word, and looked at the clock outside the room to check whether she had to begin or not. We understand that the old saying "you get what you pay for" is often true but in this case the rude attitude of the staff was completely unacceptable. To cap it all, I paid for our stay on the day before departure only to be told by the receptionist the following morning that we hadn't paid. I had to go back up to the room and unpack my case in order to find the receipt they had given me. Somebody had forgotten to cross us off as paid. I advise against staying here unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Bom, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hostel is located in the heart of Montevideo. The acommodations are simple, but clean. The staff is educated and helpful. If you has a car you can leave in front of the hostel. The breakfast is good too. The only thing that I disliked was there were few bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JankielRohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
La Tatucera Montevideo Hostel
#12 of 73 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
ContraLuz Art Hostel
ContraLuz Art Hostel
#19 of 73 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ukelele Hostel
Ukelele Hostel
#10 of 73 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Montevideo Chic Hostel
Montevideo Chic Hostel
#20 of 73 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 73 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
MedioMundo Hostel
MedioMundo Hostel
#11 of 73 in Montevideo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hostel

Property: Planet Hostel
Address: Canelones 1095, Montevideo 11111, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing