We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”
Review of Posada al Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada al Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Bruno recommended the hostel. We didn't stay there but the gracious hosts allowed us to store our bags. We took a tour of the premises and they seemed wonderful as well!! Would definitely recommend if the location suits your needs!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewRH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice and homely hostel with really helpful and friendly staff. The dou rooms are beautifully decorated with high ceilings. Breakfast is an interesting affair where you meet other travellers and share stories. If there is one criticism it would be that the wall in between the rooms are too thin that, when things are quiet in the early evening, it is impossible not to overhear a normal conversation next door.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fidel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had checked into an aweful hotel in Montevideo and decided we had to find something else. We came across this hostel and were instantly impressed. Its in a really good location for seeing the pretty side of Montevideo. Sebastian was so helpful in finding a rental car for us and giving us advice on things to do in and around Montevideo; we really appreciated him. We stayed in the "casita" on the rooftop. It was so unique and had a great view of the city, its also very exciting sounding during a storm.
The hostel is exceptionally clean. The breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosesinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay in a double room in the new ground floor part of the hostel. The room was spacious and the shared bathrooms were cleaned regularly and the wifi worked well. The staff were all nice and friendly and seemed to be very hard working, always making sure things were OK with the facilities.

We had to go out into the street and in via the adjacent door to get upstairs to the kitchen, lounge and roof terrace and the door locks were a bit fiddly, but it was only a minor inconvenience. Breakfast was good and we used the kitchen to cook a few times. It was a shame that they weren't letting people use the oven though.

It's in a great location for the old town, on one of the pedestrianised streets and close to the CA1 bus stop for buses to and from the main Tres Cruces bus station (13 pesos each way). It's very close to the Mercado del Puerto, which has lots of great places to eat. The only worry is that this area of town can be a bit dangerous at quiet times when all the tourists have disappeared, like early on a Sunday morning. We got robbed when we went out for a walk on New Year's Day (which is as quiet a time as you'll ever get on those streets), so make sure you stick to areas where there are plenty of other people about.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A good option for budget travelers in the heart of the port area. This Posada is housed in a charming old colonial building. My only complaint would be that there are no windows in the rooms as they are built facing onto a central courtyard. But this is a minor detraction.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, the location is ideal as you are a short walk from everything downtown. They have a wonderful wooden cabin perched on the rooftop which affords panoramic views of the city.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taste2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is in the heart of the ciudad vieja in Montevideo and it is so clean, welcoming and beautiful. There is a great rooftop terrace and the breakfast is wonderful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a such lovely house in the historical district.
Here are the positive point:
-old case freshly and so nicely restored. When you chek in there, you feel that your contribution help to preserve such nice historical place
-the kitchen is really big and with plenty of tools
-the bedroom are so big. Bed are good
-the bathroom so clean and brand new
-a wonderful terrasse with great view
-some old nice sunlounges which gave a lot of light inside
-the people really helpfull gave us spontanesly some good tips
-in the historical district, very close to everything. Bus stop so close to come and go from the terminal station and everywhere in town

Here are the negativ (if I may say so) points:
- no windows on the bedroom but the doors are with windows
- one of the two computer didn´t work properly
- when we´re there, there are some construction works to build new bedrooms one floor down. By talking with people, apparently the construction works last for quite a bite and might continue so. When we arrive, we didn't notice as it was sunday but monday the construction works last until 9:00PM which is not really convinient when you want to rest after a busy day.

Anyway I'll definitly recommand the place even with the construction work. We really feel so good there.
Go for it probably one of the nicest place in Montevideo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
1.1 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 86 in Montevideo
240 reviews
1 mi away
El Viajero Downtown Montevideo
2.5 mi away
MedioMundo Hostel
MedioMundo Hostel
#8 of 86 in Montevideo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Buenas Vibras Hostel
Buenas Vibras Hostel
#4 of 86 in Montevideo
70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
3.4 mi away
Destino26 Hostel
Destino26 Hostel
#5 of 86 in Montevideo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada al Sur

Address: J. Perez Castellano 1424 | Esq 25 de Mayo, Montevideo 11001, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range: $17 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada al Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Al Sur Montevideo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing