We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great days in Montevideo”
Review of Splendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splendido Hotel
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The location is perfect (in front of a beautiful old and luxurious theatre) and the hotel is wonderfull. An old place full of magic.
The staff is friendly, helpful and there´s a family atmosphere.
The hotel is cheap but high quality.
So, what else can I say? totally recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seandoelvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2010

Splendido Hotel is definitely not as chique nor as elegant as their website would have you believe and so I could symphathise with those booking on line. They would possibly be disappointed.

However, it is a wonderfully safe and clean establishment right in the heart of Montevideo. You couldn't ask for nicer people running the place: helpful, obliging and with an eye for detail. Double with share or private bath for $US35 and $US45 per night respectively for each room might seem a little expensive, but that's the going rate in Uruguay. Plus there is a good wifi connection; neat and tidy kitchen; and common room at your disposal to. We were perfectly satisfied with what we got.

The only downside might be the noise from the bars and cafes on Bartolome Mitre. If so, ask for a room on the other side of the building.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank accomodationreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Don't be sucked in by the trendy website... the Hotel Splendido is not splendido in the least!
OK so it's got a kind of groovy deco thing going on...although most of the place looks like that isn't intentional - it just hasn't been re-decorated since the 1970s.
The worst thing about it though was the stench of rising damp, which meant I couldn't go into the kitchen/ lounge area without literally retching.
It was noisy as well...our room looked onto what transpired to be Montevideo's main party street so it felt like you were sleeping in the middle of an Irish bar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasickHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

As another reviewer said (really wish we'd checked Trip Advisor before we travelled!), if you check out the 'hotel' website you'd think you'd just found a bargain boutique hotel right in the centre of Montevideo. However, the reality is that Hotel Splendido is really a glorified hostel. If you go with that expectation it is not bad value and the rooms are definitely a step up from private rooms in hostels...but not much more than that! As other reviewers, we had an uncomfortable foam mattress, a really awful bathroom with a door that didn't shut and a pretty poor night's sleep from the bar/ traffic noise below and so checked out early. That said, the staff were incredibly friendly/ helpful and spoke really good English. If you're looking for a central hostel with a reasonably good value private room and are likely to be part of the party scene making all the noise in the street below at 4am (!) this is the place for you. But, if you want the boutique hotel they advertise on their website, look elsewhere - we found another place the next night which got us a lot more for only a few dollars extra so there are definitely better value hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

we arrived in this Hostal warried from bad reports noticed in internet , and we were surprised by very warm welcome , reasonable standard of the rooms and, looking at the quility/price, the standard is quite high.
Remember that you ar just in the middle of the center!!!
They are very keen about travellers troubles , they help you with informations. the only negatise side is the big noiseat night from the bar on the front road , if you wish a quite room ask for a rear one.
God value for backpeakers
Margherita e Andrea

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marghitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I will never come here again.
I thought it was ok in the beginning( as i am not wanting to spend a ton of money im willing to put up with some inconveniences).
I could have stayed in a hostel with 10other people in the room and had a better sleep.

The hotel markets it self to be cheap and nice.
Quite far from the truth.
The room I stayed has a foam mattress, the wall paper doesn't even cover the whole wall. In fact it is stapled on the wall in parts. The bathrooms are DISGUSTING. The ceiling is falling down on the bed practically.
There is a ton of bars on the street that make it IMPOSSIBLE TO SLEEP.
Friday night at from 2 30 until 5 30am this horrible street samba band started playing the same music over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over...
Which when I asked about this with the staff, The simply offered me to sleep in the kitchen on a foam matress.... No ear plugs, and didn't make any effort what so ever to resolve the situation.

I can handle a fair bit of noise, and I can have a bomb go off beside me and not wake up. This was right under my window. I am a very laid back traveler and have been in many loud environments. I live in a busy area at home with constant noise, but this is just unsupportable.
Imagine having a drumming band in your ear, and they suck.....

The owners of the hotel have made no effort what so ever to compensate guests. Literally the whole hotel woke up and was complaining, and all they said was.. oh sorry about that. Have a good night.

The marching band that woke me up yesterday in the morning, which btw happens every single Friday morning at 10 am.

I am soo pissed right now that i will be going out of my way to not recommend this place to anyone.
Montevideo is awesome and the people are great , but this hotel unfortunately has left a very sour taste in my mouth.
Do not ever stay here. It SUCKS

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-In-Peace29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I have to say, for what it is like in reality, this place does an excellent job marketing itself on their website. To look at their website, you would think you are staying at this great modern hotel on the cheap. My wife and I went for it and made a reservation.

The building is gorgeous and many of the rooms do have views of Teatro Solis from the balcony. The ceilings are extremely tall which was cool. The problem though is that this place is a combination hostel/hotel, so there is a lot of the hostel crowd here making it a little loud. The beds have at most 2 inches of padding on them. The real kicker is the bathroom, which bascially has a rubber floor with a drain in it, because the whole thing doubles as the shower as well, I'll try to include a picture below.

The worst part though is the walls are paper thin. Each bus that drives by through the night made my window rattle loudly. But the worst was our next door neighbors who proceeded to have loud sex from midnight until 4AM, and basically sounded like they were in the same room as us. At first it was funny, but then I just wanted to get some sleep!

The location of the hotel is great to explore Ciudad Viejo and the few sights there are in Montevideo, so it is very convenient. On top of that for a double occupancy room with private bath, it was only $30 US per night, which was amazing.

All in all, this is a barebones hotel with a good location, and I think it justifies its price. Just don't be fooled by their website and think you are going to be staying at a full service modern amenity kind of place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ButtMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#72 of 87 in Montevideo
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Uruguay
Hotel Uruguay
#75 of 87 in Montevideo
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urban Express
Hotel Urban Express
#83 of 87 in Montevideo
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio
Hotel Palacio
#27 of 87 in Montevideo
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
#82 of 87 in Montevideo
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendido Hotel

Address: Bartolome Mitre 1314, Montevideo, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $31 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Splendido Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendido Petit Hotel & Hostel is housed in a bow shaped construction, declared National Heritage, builded in early twentieth century (1901). Located in the cultural, tourist and historic very heart of Montevideo City. In front of Solís Theatre and two blocks away from the majestic Rio de la Plata and it's beautiful promenade “The Rambla”.Features high-ceilinged rooms decorated in style, wooden floors and original furniture. Balconies to Pedestrian Bacacay; sights the City Opera House and the bohemian Bartolomé Mitre street.Spléndido breathes past and present of Montevideo. Providing a clear example of what our city has to offer, from its warmth, simplicity, good taste, and sophistication.Placed in “Ciudad Vieja” neighborhood that gathers the cultural, gastronomic and recreational main offer of Montevideo, hosting museums and historic buildings, cultural centers, antique markets, classic bars and shops.The Spléndido is a place for all who want to live and feel Montevideo and get to know it from a privileged located spot - Advised by a committed staff, fan of their city and its main features, in culture, art or recreation. Helping to discover new itineraries according to the interests of each guest, from an eclectic and open minded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Splendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing