We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of Bar Tabare

Bar Tabare
Ranked #26 of 943 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Café and Bar Tabaré is located in the residential area of Punta Carretas, not far from the Rambla. In spite of its name, it is not just a café and bar but also a very good restaurant, although expensive. The old building where it is housed has a great atmosphere and fairly good cuisine. Since the choice of good restaurants in Montevideo is limited to a dozen, this is one of the places you may want to visit, preferably in the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    267
    62
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with inspired food and outstanding wines”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our first night in Montevideo we by chance run into Bar Tabare and had a very memorable evening with inspired food and outstanding wines (Bouza Tannat A8). The ambiance was great, the personal attentive and the drinks just lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth going”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Apart from that I got completely cold meal the meat was not prepared properly. The part of "recommended" dish were tasting like yesterdays potatoes, smashed again with addition of pinch of other vegetables. This is called "rustic", huh, indeed tasted like this.
The service was horrible, even if we went there not in high hours the delays and waiting for waiters were irritating (yes, many, not one waiter to one table). Generally: poor food, poor service, high prices. They base only on tripadvisor logo hanging on the doors. Should be removed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChupacabraX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice food and music, friendly staff, cool ambiance”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Don't miss it if you are visiting Montevideo. Good fish, unforgettable risotto and, of course, uruguayan beef. Book a table in the old room.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Early bird”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We live very close to Tabaré, so we sometimes go there early with our two ten-year olds. The food is excellent, and their is always something the children like. Personally, I find rissottos wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arribalaceleste_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Tabare also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Bar Tabare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing