We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Could easily be better”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a double room in this well located hostel. Both room and shared bathroom could have been cleaner, and in a better state of repair, but were fine. The breakfast was the standard hostel offering, but was seemingly left out for ages before breakfast started - due to an early bus we were the first people at breakfast but it was all pretty gross with crumbs (from the day before ?) in the butter etc. The whole place felt like it needed a good clean.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    99
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
13
35
103
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly place, with helpful staff. We rented bikes from the hostel on the first day and they were in great condition. The set us up with everything we needed to enjoy an awesome day on La Rambla. staff suggested restaurants and activities and even offered an Asado on Sunday nights when most area restaurants are closed. Nice patio, game shelf and decent breakfast. Could maybe use some de-humidifiers in rooms... Because it's so close to the ocean things are a little damp but nothing terrible. So glad we switched hostels and stayed here! Well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanyeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wow, I booked this place based on it's reviews and location. I have no idea how so many people are giving it good reviews. The only good thing about it is it's staff. They are great, helpful and welcoming. That's pretty much where the good ends. The entrance has a steep staircase, the staff come down to welcome you & take your bags up. Outside on the street at night are lots of either homeless or drunk/drugged people. I didn't get close enough to find out. There is absolutely NO sound proofing at all. If you are in one of the front rooms then you hear ALL the traffic and pedestrians all night long. Its as if you are sleeping outside. Inside is no better. Everything that happens upstairs you hear in your room. The telephone in the reception is so freaking loud that it might as well be in the dorm rooms. The bathrooms are so dirty and old. They need to be ripped out and replaced. Not sure how this place is getting past the health inspections. There is no noise policy and it sounds as if they have a piano. Which was joined by guitars while I was there - until 3am in the morning. And then started up again during the day! So there is no possible time to actually get any sleep. The beds are old bunks. The 'lockers' under the bunks are not at all safe - one pull on the 'door' would rip the hinges off. Also they 'assign' you a bunk number but don't enforce it. So you pretty much get any old vacant bunk. The location is very central and close to lots of things but it is not a safe area to walk around after about 5pm, whether you are a guy or a girl. The saying of you get what you pay for does not apply - you could be paying the same amount to stay at another hostel down the road which is so much better than this one. Also do not trust the photos on the websites - they are not at all recent photos. I do not recommend this place. Do Not Stay Here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourados, MS
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I went there for the first time in 2009, it was such an Amazing experience! So, even if my local friend tried me to take me somewhere else, I insisted on going there!
The entrance has a long stair, not the best thing for the ones who bring suitcases instead of backpacks, but if you ask the front desk attendant will go down and help you with no complains and a big smile on the face. There are 4 shared bathrooms on the 1st floor (I did not check the second one), The one close to the kitchen is cleaner, since it's used with less frequency (the other ones are close to the entrance) but they are all cleaned everyday, so around 5pm (a little after it's cleaned) is the best time to take a shower. The terrace is amazing! The balcony on the second floor is a nice place to meet people and talk as well.
The location is awesome! Really close to many interesting places (Bars, Restaurants, Tour Places, etc). I heard that neighbourhood used to be dangerous, but I was talking to a local policeman (whose friend was hosted there too) and he explained us all the Ciudad Vieja now have cameras, if anything happens, you call the police and they follow the person with the cameras and send a policeman to catch it.
The service and the staff was the best staff I've ever met in a hostel!! They were REALLY nice and helpful, the manager even took me and my friend to one of those AMAZING restaurants which are not in any guide and only local people would know about.
It all for only 350 pesos!
My next trip to Mvdeo, I will stay there again! NO doubt!

Room Tip: If you are a girl, take the feminine room, it has an own bathroom that's really cleam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielNarcisoPareja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, PA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hostel is localized an old building of "Ciudad Vieja". It is just a few steps from the Montevideo Cathedral, and two or three blocks from "Plaza de la Independencia", Mercado del Puerto" and Teatro Solis. There are many restaurants nearby and it seems to be a safe area. The staff could be more helpful, and bathrooms' cleanliness could be better. Simple breakfast, but ok to price you are paying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaltoPontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

the location is good, the bulging is old, important to choose a room with air conditioning,
The breakfast is simple, few options
kitchen is small, the shared bathrooms are dirty..........................

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Based on value alone, this place is terrible. I cannot understand why this place rates highly on Tripadvisor. 720 pesos a night for an unclean, and very unhygienic bed in a dark and dingy dorm.

*I am talking from comparable experience; hence over 120 reviews.

Feedback for travellers:
The staff are friendly, but that is about it. I have stayed in hostels in the same price range that have been extremely clean, very presentable, very close to beaches, and in nicer parts of a city. They have also had laundry rooms, huge communal areas with DVDs, games, sofas, metal lockers (not wooden drawers that are falling to pieces), clean and spacious bathrooms, etc. Look elsewhere, you can do so much better for the price. Especially because this hostel is in the worst and most dangerous part of town.

Feedback for management:
This hostel needs to dramatically drop the price, or spend more money on cleaning and upgrading the place. Not all backpackers are scruffy, unhygienic and carefree. Some have standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Viajero Downtown Montevideo
0.2 mi away
Ukelele Hostel
Ukelele Hostel
#11 of 73 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.5 mi away
MedioMundo Hostel
MedioMundo Hostel
#10 of 73 in Montevideo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 73 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montevideo Port Hostel
Montevideo Port Hostel
#46 of 73 in Montevideo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Property: El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
Address: Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11003, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing