We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service minded Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
Asuncion, Paraguay
1 review
“Service minded Staff”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had a very good experience at the hostel. Clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff. Those who worked at the hostel seemed to really enjoy working there and made a very good atmosphere. Nice roof terrace and social areas and good location is also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torman2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    99
    48
    16
    16
See reviews for
13
35
103
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

El Viajero has everything you need as a traveller. It does a majority of the hostels in Montevideo, because the hostels generally in Uruguay are the best in South America (have travelled more then 7 months). Even though, this one has a really special environment, great stuff a friendly atmosphere which is from my point of view meant sincerely. I would never choose different hostel in Montevideo if coming again (even though I was unlucky and after party there was some idiot packing a backpack at seven in the morning noisily:-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The beds are clean, the staff is amazingly friendly (shout out to Jeranimo!) the location is perfect if you want to stay in ciudad viejo near the mercado, the river, and the plaza de la independencia. Also, breakfast is incluided and there are two different floors plus the rooftop to hang out on. Overall, my friend and I liked it. The location at night is a little sketchy but if you travel with people, don't worry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spotlessly clean, really friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Well stocked kitchen.
You won't get better than here. The rooms are spacious with comfy beds, the wi fi is really fast. Plenty of plugs to charge things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It´s a very good hostel, excellent location, near "mercado del puerto" and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are comfortable, very clean bathrooms, the kitchen is very complete and the TV room is very nice too. Travelers don´t have to worry about anything in this hostel. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hostel is located near the port, and old city, but also near the banks and the coastline. The staff were very helpful and polite with recommendations regarding means of transportation and touristic places. Excellent room, generous breakfast, good internet service.

I recommend it for all the travelers who want to visit Montevideo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundocerveza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a very good hostel, with very friendly and helpfull staff. The atmosphere is very nice. I made a lot of friends staying here. They even give you free mate :-) I would recommend this place as I am staying in the same hostel now in Colonia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhpistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Montevideo
0.0 mi away
El Viajero Downtown Montevideo
0.1 mi away
Caballo Loco Hostel
Caballo Loco Hostel
#1 of 75 in Montevideo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Royal
#25 of 34 in Montevideo
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planet Hostel
Planet Hostel
#22 of 75 in Montevideo
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Montevideo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja

Property: El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja
Address: Ituzaingo 1436, Montevideo 11003, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Viajero Hostel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing