We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tandory

Tandory
Ranked #5 of 923 Restaurants in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Pocitos
Description: Fusion cuisine with European, Latino and Asian influences, one of the most famous Chef in the country. Unique dishes in relaxed and elegant room. Good wine list tables, should be reserved.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went to Tandory a couple of months ago once and now we are back in town and without a doubt are going back again. The food is fabulous and the selection unlike anything I have seen elsewhere in Uruguay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    423
    90
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
“Best option for nice dining in Montevideo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

For an American visiting Montevideo, Uruguay, Tandory is a great option if you are looking for finer dining at a great price. This is some of the best food you will find in Montevideo. The service is wonderful and similar to the service you will find in the US (which is rare in Uruguay because it's a different culture with a different style of restaurant service.) The food is rich with flavor, a great combo of different flavor palates and cultural influences.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jill0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Sensational"? nooo is too less for such great resturant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I need help, how to describe a meal where you cannot stop eating.. even when you are full?when you dont want to leave because you want to have more?

The food was simply phenominal... no.... Maginficent... no... is still not giving the meal it is justice... but you kow what... Orgasmic!... yes!!! this is the word I am looking for!!! It is a meal to remmber, no matter what you try.....

You want more? well how about a great cozy place? not hitting the makr yet...? well how about a welcome from the executive chef him self. and you know what, he will explain you the menu... not just that..just tell him from where you are... and he can suggest what you will surly love!

Is not the best place in montevideo for nothing!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoH'd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprise Cuisine in Montevideo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went in with no expectations as the name of the restaurant made it sound like we were going for Indian food, but what we had was some great fusion. Great attention to detail by the chef/owner. His passion comes through in both his dishes and service. This is not typical Montevideo food.

All I can say is great job and thanks for thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilMurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Tandory 2 weeks ago. It was amazing! Although the name implies an Indian restaurant, it is an international fusion cuisine. The owner/chef went over the menu with us (on IPADS with photos of each plate) answering all our questions. Each dish we had was absolutely wonderful. If you go to Buenos Aires and need an alternative to the Parrillas, this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandory also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Tandory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing