We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Lenos

Los Lenos
Ranked #170 of 923 Restaurants in Montevideo
Price range: $5 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We went to this famous restaurant. I asked for pork, that was uneatable. It tasted like hormones and plastic. On the contrary, all my colleagues asked meat and they were very happy. Service is very good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    148
    79
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very good service, good food. Enjoyable evening. A variey of meats from varoius areas as well as the standard steaks.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not great price / quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I ate here because a friend had the best meal ever in Brazas which I think was located here before (although I am still not sure). I ordered a bife de lomo and asked if they could cook it a bit shorter than medium as I know that is how the locals like it. Still it came as what I would call medium which was unfortunate. The meat was good though.

Besides a salad bar they do not offer many vegetables, except for a grilled pepper. Maybe that is the way they do it, but I would have preferred if they had taken out the seeds, it would have saved me some work.

The service was not very friendly, and I do not think they appreciated my lack of Spanish speaking ability. I don't think any of the staff spoke English, which I find surprising for a restaurant that also caters to tourists. I was there on a Sunday and it was not particularly busy.

I have had much better meat diners in Buenos Aires and expect that there might be some better ones in Montevideo as well, probably at a lower price.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great choice in Montevideo - steaks are excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

The atmosphere was great and the steaks were wonderful! We also thought the service was top-notch. From start to finish the server's recommendations (wine, starters, dessert, mains) were fabulous.

The atmosphere was pleasant - lots of families, colleagues, and couples. In short, this would be a great place to dine for anyone.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prodigalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

I visited this restaurant, primarily because it was close to Plaza Independencia, near my hotel. It is a casual parilla with and open plan barbeque. I was really impressed with the very high quality food, the very friendly service and would highly recommend here. I had filletto de lomo with barbequed potatoes (with four cheese sauce) and barbequed red pepper - absolutely delicious. I opted for dessert too - local Montevideo pears poached in Uruaguayan Tannat wine - outstanding too. I will be returning before I leave Montevideo as my experience was so good!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Lenos also viewed

Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
Montevideo, Montevideo Department
 

Been to Los Lenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing