We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We liked our stay at La Casona de Yucay that we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. The staff was amazingly helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had beautiful views. After a couple noisy nights in Cusco, it was luxurious to rest in peace in Yucay. I thank the entire hotel staff for truly making our stay the best possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    190
    43
    7
    2
See reviews for
171
198
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

La Casona de Yucay had been recommended by friends as a home away from home, in the beautiful little town of Yucay, minutes away from Urubamba, in the middle of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner, Mrs. Teresa Orihuela de De Bary, who restored the 18th Century "Casona", the main house of the old Hacienda, where Bolivar stayed during the Peruvian Indepence war. It was the rainy season, so the fields in the valley were all shades of green and the hotel was full of flowers everywhere. The rooms in the new wing were ample and well lit, with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water, and the restaurant was better than average. On our third day, we were taking the 5:30 AM train to Machu Picchu, so breakfast was ready at 4:00 AM and Teresa had the restaurant staff prepare a snack with sandwiches and fruit for us to take on the road. We were truly well taken care of, to the last detail. - I would definitely recommend the Casona de Yucay to anyone looking for a quiet European-style Ferme, in the middle of the Peruvian Andes.

Room Tip: Request ground-level, if not used to the altitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpizarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of our 12 day Peru tour. We were travelling onward to Ollanta train station the next morning to start our train voyage to Machu Picchu.

The hotel is very basic and somewhat rustic so be prepared for a very quiet evening. However, after long days travelling, an early night was welcome.

We wandered through the town, but there really isn't much in Yucay. We found a restaurant, but upon entering, we could not find anybody there. So, we ended up eating at Don Manuel's restaurant at the hotel. The food was good and the scenery through the windows was great - surrounding mountains and beautiful gardens at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. It is nice to be in a small town, and the hotel is high quality.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandmanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Be aware there is no TV so you must entertain yourselves! There was no plugs in the hotel room so we ended up charging our phones outside in the courtyard.

The hotel has stunning views of the Andes, however when you leave the hotel there is little to do. Internet is available in a room, however there is no wireless in the rooms.

The room is spacious and clean with a heater to use in the evenings (it gets cold!). We ate in the restaurant which was decent.

This hotel is perfect as a base for visiting the Sacred Valley and Machupicchu.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalex_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

This hotel is a converted hacienda and it is lovely. The rooms are very comfortable and you wake up in the morning looking at the Andes. There are no tvs so bring a book and enjoy your surroundings. Less than an hour from the temporary train station to aguascalientes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marimar2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

This hotel has amazingly beautiful grounds. You could stay here for a week just looking at the scenery in the Sacred Valley. Staff are helpful, the restaurant is good and its prices are reasonable. The bar area is rustic and comfortable (though the particular bartender there during our stay was a surly teenager). Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are nice. This is a very clean hotel. The only downside (depending on your taste) is that there are no tvs in the rooms.
Around the hotel, you can take a scenic hike through Yucay, wander around the center of town for a bit, or take a local bus (or hire a private car) to visit Urubamba or Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesLatinAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucay
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
2.2 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
2.0 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#4 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado

Property: Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Address: Av. San Martin 104, Yucay | Cusco, Yucay Urub 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a place where history, nature and good service blend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona De Yucay Hotel Yucay
La Casona De Hotel Yucay
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing