We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Nunnery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is in a converted nunnery. Beautiful gardens and surrounding. Comfortable beds.

The buffet breakfast offers great variety.

Front desk was efficient and friendly.

Cocoa leaves are available at the front desk and in your room for mitigating effects of altitude. They are a mild narcotic but the effects are not perceptible.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. There are no elevators so be prepared to lug any luggage up stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear guest;

All the Sonesta Posadas del Inca would like to thanks your preference and for your great opinion; this motivate us to give you our best. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our wish you have a great experience during your stay with us.

As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us. All the best for you, please if you have any question, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just came back from a stay in Peru at this property. It was a jewel in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by mountains. I first thought that a monastery converted into a hotel would be austere and not very comfortable. Boy was I wrong. The property is maintained to a very high standard included lovely flowers and trees. There is even a small chapel on the grounds where I am told weddings take place. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was great. Lots of variety to choose from on the breakfast buffet and we were able to pre-order our evening meal because I was with a group of 21. Getting the weird lock and key to open the door to my room was a bit difficult at first, then just a funny challenge. I can’t tell you much about the price because the hotel was reserved and included in the price I paid with a tour company, Trafalgar. We had a private demonstration by some of the women weavers right on the property as part of our tour. My room had two huge beds, a flat screen tv with many English channels, great wifi and the bathroom was nicely appointed. The water pressure for the shower was great. Thank goodness there is a portable electric radiator in the room as the temps dropped close to freezing at night. I tried 3 times to add photos to this review but it kept crashing my computer so I will have to submit this without photos.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2nd floor but I think any room here would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Greetings from all the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay. I would like to thank you for the time to write us and letting us know about your opinion taht is very important to us. My staff and I are really greatfull for your kind comments this motive us to keep doing the best for you.

All of you are very special for us, that is why we are always looking for memorable stay to you. I hope we have the opportunity to have you here again very soon.
Best regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by the travel agency that arranged our trip. The room was lovely, and we enjoyed the quirky room lock and key. Loved the fountains filled with flowers, and the breakfast buffet was very nice.

As part of our package, dinners were included. The first night that we went to the dining room, the waitress was new and overwhelmed. We didn't know that we had to request a special menu, because when we gave our room number, we expected that information to come up. Because I had had a large lunch, I wanted something small, so I just ordered empañadas from the appetizer menu. They were very good.

The next evening, again having had a large lunch, we opted to dine at the bar. We ordered to items from the bar menu and added a side of fries. This is when the trouble began. No one had a clue on how to bill us. We were even told that we were limited to one item from the menu for dinner, which was simply not true. Figuring out the billing was a fiasco involving at least 4 people. I finally told the bartender how to do it, and thank goodness he followed directions!

That morning, I had asked to exchange 40 nuevo soles for coins for tips thoughout the day. Luckily, I counted the coins I was given, and I was 10 soles short. I brought this to the receptionist's attention, and she didn't bat an eye handing over the extra 10 soles, but it was done without an apology, and I had the distinct impression that this was a purposeful short-change.

When we went to check out, we were told that we owed money for a meal. I was informed that the empañadas from the first night were not part of the special menu, which we were never given. We were also accused of eating our included meals and then attempting to cheat the system with the addition of the empañadas. Luckily, our tour guide became involved. They actually checked with the restaurant to discover if the restaurant was missing money! When the restaurant replied that their books were fine, we were allowed to leave.

I filled out an on-line evaluation that I was sent by the hotel, and received a standard reply that the management was grateful for criticism because it helped them to grow, and they hoped I would return. Not a chance! I truly think that there is a serious problem with honesty and competence in this hotel's reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teamfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Madamm;

Greetings from all the Sonesta Posadas del Inca´s family. We are truly sorry about the bad perception we might caused you. I really would like to apologize for the bad service you have received. It never was our intention to bother you or accused you for not paying. It was a big confusion between the waiters that of course we have to check and take the correctives measure to improve and avoid this type of situations would happen again in the future. I have also reported the issue you have with the receptionist in the front desk with the Front Office Manager. All your comments are really important to us, because we have the opportunity to make some changes so your satisfaction. I assure you that this type of situations wont happen again. It is our everyday goal to make your stay memorable.

Once again accept our apologize, I understand you do not want to come back for all the issues you had but if you give us the opportunity to reverse this perception i know you would not regret it.

Best regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful place to stay! And great food and service! It feels very peaceful and quiet. Close to it there is a restaurant El Ananau. Don't forget to visit it. Lugar hermoso, muy buena comida y muy buen servicio! Lugar lleno de paz y quietud. Cerca esta el Rest Ananau, visitenlo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lourdes53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada huésped;

Reciba un cordial saludo de parte de toda la familia del Hotel Posadas del Inca Valle Sagrado Yucay. Para nosotros ha sido un placer conocerla y tenerla en nuestra casa. Estamos muy contentos y complacidos de haber cumplido con lo planificado, estadías memorable. Le agradecemos muchísimo sus lindos comentarios, esto nos motiva a seguri dando lo mejor por ustedes, nuestros huéspedes.

Todo lo mejor para usted y esperamos volver a tenerla por nuestras instalaciones.

Saludos Cordiales,
Elizabeth Carlotto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very pleased with the aesthetics of this hotel, which include beautiful gardens, structures and setting in the Sacred Valley. The staff, from the front desk to the porters to the dining room were most helpful and friendly and professional. 24 hour security at the front gate and they were checking! Felt very safe here.

My room overlooked the hydrangea court, most beautiful, even in the dead of winter (average temps from 30's to 70's in June). The rest of the grounds are no less beautiful...took lots of pictures of the grounds and buildings. The room was clean and spacious with many amenities, which is not necessarily to be expected, as we learned from stays at other hotels in Peru.

The restaurant service was very good for breakfast lunch and dinner. I will never forget the pleasure of my stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mycle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest;

Greetings from all the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We are really happy and pleased for your great comments. We are glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always aour pleasure to serve you and give you the best. In the name of all the Staff i would like to thank your preference.

All the best for you, and we hope to have the opportunity to have you here again very soon.


Kind Regards,
Rosalia Mancilla E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in the Sacred Valley. I believe it was originally a monastery. Perfect place to acclimate to altitude and visit Machu Picchu. The room was very nice and comfortable with TV. The WIFI was pretty weak in the room and I had to go outside to really use it effectively. The grounds are beautifully manicured and so peaceful.The restaurant had a wonderful variety of foods for breakfast and lunch in Buffet style which I liked because you could sample so many dishes.The hotel arranged for a driver to drop us at the train station about 15 or 20 mins away which takes you to Aguas Calientes where you get the bus to Machu Picchu. The train ride is a nice experience in itself. Perhaps if there is a downside it would only be that you are pretty much isolated from town and nowhere really to walk to. But the Hotel is so nice I didn't feel a need to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest;

Greetings from all the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay´s family. We would like to thank your preference and the kind comments. These really motivate us to improve everyday for you, our guests. We are really happy that you had a great experience staying in our Hotel. It always will be our pleassure to serve you. Let me inform you regarding the internet connection that we are changing it for optical fiber in order to improve the speed of this service.

All the best for you, as a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This quite a good hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful as my wife had her purse stolen at a market earlier in the day and we had a lot of international telephone calls to make. The rooms were good. The food was good. The bird watching around the grounds was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guest;

Greetings from all the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel´s family.
We would like to thank your preference. We are really sorry about the inconvenient regarding your wife´s purse. It is really a shame. We are always working for memorable stay to our guest and it is always our pleassure to serve you. We really appreciate your comments that permit us to improve everyday and to give you the best. We hope you visit us again very soon. Please if you have any question, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucay
2.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
2.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
16.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,245 reviews
4.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay 08665, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range: $124 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Yucay Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing