We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a wonderful setting in the "Sacred Valley" of the Incas. The grounds of this hotel are magnificent. The history of this property as an ex-convent, the quaint chapel & the tidy flower beds made this an ideal setting for our Machu Picchu experience. The staff were very friendly, helpful & us feel welcome. Our room was spacious, with a decor suitable to the area & extremely clean. The breakfast offered many foods selections. We ate our evening meals both nights in the restaurant. The service & food were excellent and the prices were very reasonable. My wife & I hope we have the opportunity to return here someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayvone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. We really appreciate them. It is wonderful you have loved the breakfast, totally fresh every day. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The satff and I are really thankfull for your kidness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    327
    51
    16
    18
See reviews for
303
538
75
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kohav yair
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

An old monastry with beautiful gardens, birds singing in the morning as a natural wake up call.
very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast has a very nice selection of food.

This is our second time in Peru, so we decided this time, to travel directly from Cusco to the Urubamba valley to catch some fresh air and oxygen... We had the hotel friendly driver Sabino , take us first thing in the morning to Ollantaytambo, to buy train tickets to Macchu pichu and then to visit the Inca ruins at Ollyatantambo, before all the tourist buses arrive.
We had a nice light, American style lunch at the corner main Plaza at La Esquina bakery cafe, they have on their menu Vegan, Gluten free,etc.and free WiFi, From there the driver took us to the Salt Mines and to Inca round ruins of Maras.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. It is wonderful you have loved the breakfast, totally fresh. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are really thankfull for your kidness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A delightful quiet hotel with plenty of character and local walks to explore. If you have a guide then ask him to take you to the near by Inca trail - if you don't ask at reception for directions. The trail is only a few hundred meters from the hotel and well worth an evening stroll up it. When you think you have gone far enough it is easier to walk back down to the hotel. It will get you in the mood for Machu Picchu. I would highly recomend this hotel as a change from the norm - enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you trusted us. We are glad for your kindness and comments, this motivate us to improve always. Our best wishes for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A beautiful setting, surrounded by Mountains, lovely gardens with a small chapel in them, one of the best Breakfast layouts we saw in Peru, and nice quality evening meals, the bar was inexpensive, bottled water was reasonable, and reception had real flame gas fires and comfy chairs to relax in the evenings. The staff were lovely, the beds comfortable, plentiful supply of toiletries, a nice powerful shower over a deep bath, and satellite TV. Only the very picky could find fault, we certainly didnt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope we could have you here again very soon. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay with us and. We are really thankful that you appreciate the service of our staff and the hotel itself, this motivate us to improve always. You are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A Spanish palace in the middle of Sacred Valley, far away from all noises and buzzles of daily life. The gardens were all lovingly tended and looked very colourful and peaceful.

The 2 of us were given a room on the ground floor that opened directly onto a quiet little courtyard. There were 1 king bed and 2 double beds, but only 1 chair for all ! No air exhaust in bathroom, hence the condensation was a bit of a problem.

Breakfast was basic but fresh. Dinner was ordinary too.

Good value if you only stop over for 1 or 2 night. Great place for meditation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We are really thankful for your comments; we have informed to our Maitre and Chef to improve our breakfast buffet and our dinner. Permit us to verify the good working and all the furniture of our rooms with our maintenance and housekeeper supervisors. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. You are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is just lovely. Extremely peaceful and beautiful, the hotel was once a monastery and the owners have preserved the style and feel throughout. Including a small chapel which is open throughout the day and evening.

The immaculate gardens have oversized furniture dotted throughout so there are lots of quiet spots to relax and laze about in the sun or shade. With free coca tea available 24 hours a day there is no better way to acclimatise to the altitude!

The gardens are also full of fruit trees (used in the restaurants) a lovely stream and a small market with local handicrafts run by ladies in traditional dress. We did not buy anything as we had already shopped at markets, but it makes for a nice atmosphere. Somehow, even when full, the hotel maintains a feeling a calm and peace as though you were in the middle of nowhere.

The food is very good at breakfast and lunch - both buffet style with a wide range of choice and very well cooked. Hot drinks included and cold drinks a reasonable price. We particularly enjoyed the local beer and frozen lemonade. The evening food was a little expensive compared to what we paid for a similar standard in Cuzco and not as well cooked as lunch I felt. This reflects the fact that there is limited other options around, but for those willing to venture off the hotel grounds there are a couple of nice places locally at a lower price.

Rooms large and clean, with bottled water on the first night provided, which I felt was a nice touch and candy places on the pillow each night. There is a nice bar area with a happy hour each night - the only time the hotel did not seem quite so peaceful! Free Internet access was also welcome in the bar and garden area (not in the room).

Overall I would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodye2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you can visit us again very soon. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know our Hotel is a very unique Hotel and we are always looking for a memorable stay to our guest. Let me inform you that we are working on our dinner menus because we would love to have different options for ur election and satisfaction. We are deeply thankful that you appreciate our differents service, this motivate us to improve always. You are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was quite a facinating rustic style hotel - it was almost like a film set. As well as the usual hotel facilities this hotel had its own church; a small handicrafts market; extensive gardens and some livestock! The hotel could be easily be overlooked from the main road and it is a bit isolated with only a couple of small shops within walking distance. However they did sell snacks and bottled water at reasonable prices. The rooms were large, clean and well appointed with good storage space. The rooms had satellite TV and a modern safe but they had the most old fashioned door locks and keys that you could imagine. In fact this did create a bit of a problem as my wife was a bit unwell and we could not work out the safest way of leaving her in the room whilst I went to dinner. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water. Room heating was by a plug in radiator. There was no air conditioning but this was not a problem. The room was very quiet. The ranch style layout meant that transferring suitcases could be a bit tricky without the help of the staff.The restaurant was a good size and provided breakfast from 4.30am! It offered a good cold buffet but with rather limited hot options. The dinner menu was a bit over-sophisticated with a limited choice for vegetarians. Wine was expensive. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The reception and bar areas were large but rather draughty. The reception area also had free supplies of coca tea together with free access internet terminals.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the upper level and at the end of the veranda to reduce any noise from early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpmeimlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. Permit me inform you that we have a project in the end of this year to change our doors , some guests adore this unique keys but they are not practical and that is the reason of our project, thanking a lot for your help. Also, we are deeply thankful that you appreciate the service of our staff, this motivate us to improve always. You are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucay
2.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
3.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
3.4 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay

Property: Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay 08665, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Yucay Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing