We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deligthtful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were pleased with our rustic room, in a nice garden full of flowers.
We had a nice pisco sour ( happy hour 1 = 2) on the terrace overlooking the courtyard and top of the bill had a free mini concert of a local musician who gave us the best of himself. One of those magical moments we will remember for ever.
The dinner in the restaurant was excellent, breakfast at 5 am no problem, check out swift and quick.
On the way to Sacred Valley an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokeAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Among the four hotels that we used during our trip to Peru, the Sonesta Posada del Inca was the BEST!!. A few weeks ago my SO and I went to Peru with a tour group.

The tour company that we used (smartours) selected and booked all our hotels during our trip. Therefore, I can’t say anything about the booking process. Based on Trip Advisor’s reviews about this hotel, I knew that the hotel was good but when we arrived in the Sacred Valley and saw our hotel I was speechless.

The Hotel used to be a monastery, it has beautiful gardens, and the rooms still had the monastery look and feel. The door knob and the room key are the original things that the nuns used to have. Regarding the key, there is no way that you can misplace that key (it’s huge).

Even though the rooms have the monastery look and feel, they have a TV screen, telephone, nice and comfortable beds, an armoire and a safety box. The bathrooms are big and modern. They have hot water and also a hairdryer.

Please be aware that the electricity in Peru is 220V so if your electronics are 110V you MUST ask for a converter at the front desk.

The staff is very friendly and professional. On my first night I got altitude sickness and when our tour director found out that I was sick, he called the front desk asking for oxygen and 5 minutes later, one of the employees was knocking at my door with a tank of oxygen.
The food at the restaurant was good but they can improve the breakfast buffet. There is a small and lovely chapel in the hotel and there are a few local vendors in one of the courtyards. The pisco sours at the bar were good and we were able to take advantage of the Happy hour (two pisco sours for the price of one) plus their pisco sours were the less expensive during our trip.

The check in and check out process was excellent. We were a group of 26 people and when we arrived everything was ready for us. We only had to wait a couple of minutes so our tour director was able to finish filing some papers and after that he gave us our room keys. When it was time to check out, we did not have any hidden fees in our check. Everything was clear.

I don’t have anything bad to say about this hotel. The location, grounds and service were perfect; the scenery which surrounds this hotel is excellent.

The only thing that I can say is that if someday I’ll go back to the Sacred Valley; the Sonesta Posada del Inca would be my hotel of preference

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice description and comments of our hotel. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely converted monastery on ground and first floor but no lift. No fridge in room. Wooded floors can make it very noisy if room above occupied. Also suitcase wheels on paving stones were noisy early in the morning. Problem while we were there with the Electric Company so power by generator one morning.
Food excellent - breakfast outside. Nice gardens with local stalls around.

Room Tip: Ask for First Floor room for a more peaceful night - just remember the people below you!! Also, no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Catlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nicely appointed rooms. Beautiful setting in the midst of the Inca Sacred valley. Very fine restaurant with a good variety of choices - the alpaca steak was excellent as was the local trout. Service is superb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioannisutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our tour of the Sacred Valley took us for a buffet lunch at the Sonesta Posadas and what a splendid location this is. We had an excellent buffet lunch surrounded by beautiful gardens and flowers whilst being accompanied by one of the best small bands (just two) that we heard during our holiday. Whilst we didn't actually stay in the hotel, it did look as though it would be one to give serious consideration if in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bakerlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Customer;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your buffet lunch with us. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stop with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights on our way to Machu Pichu. We were part of a group and we ended up with a superb room; spacious, modern, huge TV. The bathroom was fantastic.
Visited some other rooms and they were all different, not as large but equally interesting.
The restaurant food was tasty but not out of this world. Breakfast was OK.
Only drawback is that there is no other places to eat around (there's two restaurants within walking distance but both were closed when we were there).
Great place to stay after arriving in Cusco (10300 feet) to get acclimatized to the altitude since the valley is at 6000 feet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice description of our hotel. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

my wife and I stayed here two nights on our way to MP. We were blown away with the pretty setting of the hotel and the service! Breakfest was great. Im telling everyone to stay here. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-Yucay, General Manager at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest;

Greetings from all the family Sonesta Posadas del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thank you so much for your nice comments. I am totally glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad for your kindness, this motivate us to improve always. All the best for you and we hope you can stay again at our Hotel. As a valued customer, you are of the upmost importance to us and it is our wish that you have a great experience during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Carlotto O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucay
2.1 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
7.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
2.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay

Address: Plaza Manco II 123, Yucay 08665, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Yucay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yucay
Price Range: $119 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas and surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Sonesta Posada del Inca Yucay is a former 18th century colonial-style monastery. This charming 87-room posada is a one-hour drive from the ancient Inca capital of Cusco and close to Machu Picchu. The area's year-round warm weather is ideal for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Sacred Valley Yucay Hotel Yucay
Sonesta Yucay
Yucay Sonesta
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Yucay Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing