We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful mind”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

In the Holy Valley in Peru I was amazed by the nature, rich history/culture and this beautiful place. Las Castitas del Arco Iris combine nature, culture and history. Knowing that your stay will make a contribution to the forgotten children in the Holy Valley makes it truly special and warms the heart.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picaflor1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We loved this hotel.

It is lies in the middle of nowhere, only reachable by a bumpy road, but once you enter the gate you get into a little oasis.

They have 8 luxurious bungalows with fire place and large bathroom with bath tub and seperate shower. In the main building is a living room where you can have breakfast,lunch or diner. It feels like being at home.

The gardens surrounding the bungalows are beautiful. The many birds and plants/flowers make you grap one of the lounging chairs and just sit there and enjoy the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urumbamba
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The ¨Las Casitas del Arco Iris Foundation¨ is more than a great hotel. The houses themselves are beautiful and the surroundings are pure natural. From the begin of your stay you feel right at home at these kind people. Coming there feels very luxerious, but everything that is made there is extracted from nature. The symbolism of the Inca´s is also a nice touch in the right direction. The place sparkles with cosiness, this due to the fireplaces that are located in the main diningroom as in the stay-overhouses. The foundation is a non-profit organization and you can see there that your money is well spent on the projects that are organized in the foundation itself. The ¨Children of the Rainbow¨ cheer up when they enter the grounds. This place is a school and a home for them en gives them a shot at happiness in a poor district. The people who work there have their hart on the right place. It is a great place to relax and a fine agent to book your hollidays. They are close to Machupicchu and to Cusco aswell. I really enjoyed my stay there and if I come back to Peru I would certainly visit them again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietervhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

A true experience of 'win-win lodging'. The Rainbow cottages on the premises of the Arco Iris Foundation in Urubamba is a great way to experience how children and the local community is being helped forward in a tough world. At the same time it is the perfect fall out base for all your day trips in the region (Ollantaytambo, Pisaq, Machu Pichu, etc...).
Your room rate contributes to the Foundation's running costs and the hospitality, lodging and food are excellent.
The cottages are very clean and the best in the area. The varanda views of the premises are enchanting as well as happening (local community traffic). Absolute recommendation. Very secure: we stayed with our 4 kids (ages 2 to 8) and they loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Several years ago we stayed in a house of the Children of the Rainbow project in the Sacred Valley.
The house was very comfortable, a good bed, a beautiful bathroom and a fireplace.
The Environment of the house is beautiful, beautiful nature and a view on the montains.
From here you-can visit important places in the Sacred Valley: Cusco, Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo, the Saltmine, the market of Pisac.
If you wish-you-can enjoy of the good meals in the guesthouse.
The people are very friendly and helpful.
And if you are interested, people will show you the project Children of the Rainbow: a health and education project for the poor people of Urubamba and Environment.
In 2003 started by Helen van Engelen, a Dutch lady.
What They Do is magnificent work.
The net output of the houses is for the project. Staying in the houses you support the project.
Final, it is a good place to be.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiepTiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
0.0 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#14 of 26 in Urubamba
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
Hotel Mabey Urubamba
#17 of 26 in Urubamba
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris

Property: Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris
Address: Querocancha s/n Urubamba, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our eight bungalows are furnished with a fireplace and a terrace. We also have 3 rooms that share a bathroom. A 100% of our profits gos to our projects "Fundación Niños del Arco Iris" aimed to provide with Health, Education and Love to the most deprived children in the Sacred Valley and their families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Las Casitas del Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Casitas Del Arco Iris Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing