We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property and great location for a multi-day trip in the Sacred Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and great location for a multi-day trip in the Sacred Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

We had a great stay (and trip) at this hotel in Urubamba. Urumbamba is not the most charming town in the Sacred Valley, but it is very convenient for a multi-day trip. If you're staying in Urumbamba, I would definitely recommend this hotel - it's in the center of many of the ruins and charming towns. If you're doing just one night in the Sacred Valley? Then, I would recommend Ollanta or Aguas Caliente.

Our room was spacious and spotless - we had a corner room - I believe an upgraded Superior Room - that a nice view overlooking a beautiful, flower-filled courtyard, backdropped with large majestic mountains. The linens and blankets were clean, cozy, and very comfortable - beds are a big thing for me. The shower, truly, may have been the best shower I've had on my frequent travels - large, strong, and HOT.

The staff was very friendly. The front desk person spoke okay English, but the manager's English was excellent.

The restaurant food was good quality - fresh eggs and an assortment of other items every morning. They offered and will set up the entire buffet as early as you ask. We left for MP 5:00 and breakfast was ready, as promised, at 4:45!

The street that this is located on is a bit "rustic" and dusty, but when you walk on the property - wow! Beautiful courtyards, fountain, exceptional flowers. Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    187
    96
    25
    13
See reviews for
76
168
34
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

There are two San Augustin Hotels in Urubamba, this one and the Monesterio. We had lunch at the Monesterio, and it was excellent, but didn't stay there. This hotel (non-monesterio) was quite nice for an overnight stay, with a pool which looked clean and inviting (but our suits were left behind in Cusco to await our return from Macchu Pichu). The room was clean and pleasant, and our plug in heater worked quite well in keeping the room comfortable during a chilly night. The grounds of the hotel are well kept also. The major downside to the hotel was that the breakfast was not good. There was a lot of food offered, but it was almost uniformly bad, from the coffee to the cereal to the bread products. In contrast to the front desk personnel, who were helpful and pleasant, the man running the dining room for breakfast was surly and unpleasant. Perhaps he had a bad morning, but it soured our short stay.

  • Liked — Nice grounds, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Bad breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed here for 3 days and had a wonderful time. The hotel was an old monastery with a church next to it. Our room was in a newer section. It was clean and nicely decorated. It was also conveniently located, about a 5-min walk to the downtown Urubamba. What they can improve - the bed felt a bit small for 2 people. Also, there were a couple of times when we were locked out from the hotel property. (They lock the gate at night.) It took them about 15 min to let us in, even though we rang the doorbell many times.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

Well. It's better than some. The rooms were small, uncomfortable, and ugly. One pillow... tiny TV, portable heater worked OK, but was aesthetically unpleasing and I tripped over it while going to the bathroom in the dark. Bathroom was OK, but small. The floors had indoor/outdoor carpeting which was ugly and spread throughout the hotel. The restaurant staff was not prepared for non buffet menu service thought they tried to accomodate everyone, it took a long time and the food ranged from fair to very good. The bartender was very good. Nice guy. Fireplace was lit in the bar which was nice. Not a bad place to stay, but the Recoletta looked nicer and there may be better places you can find.

  • Liked — The bar.
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rephello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Urubamba hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

We just got back from our week long trip to Peru! This was our first hotel in Peru, and it was such a pleasant surprise. After spending the night before in the Lima Airport, before catching a very early morning flight to Cusco, we arrived in Urubamba to find a very small town with a true taste of Peruvian culture.

The hotel itself was great. Even in winter, the hotel's courtyard was filled with beautiful flowers. The room (a triple in our case) was large with a pretty big bathroom. The television had several channels (some even in English), and we had a modern, portable radiator for heat in the room too.

The bar area was quiet and intimate, and the dining room was great. Dinner and breakfast were served buffet style, and were fantastic. Dinner costed 30/soles for all three of us to eat. Breakfast was complimentary and the staff of the entire hotel was warm and welcoming. Internet, while slow, was free and available.

There is a gift shop manned by local native people who also sell their products at the front door. This hotel was a great surprise. I was nervous based on other reviews, and found that all of them were dated and not reflective of my great experience here.

  • Liked — I loved the courtyard
  • Disliked — It was a little far for a walk to the center of town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 12 days in July. The hotel is cold, unwelcoming and not very friendly. Although July is winter in Peru, I never saw a fire in ANY of the hotel's fireplaces. The doors were left open most of the time.

The rooms are drafty and incredibly noisy at all hours, as tour groups arrive and depart. The beds are hard and you recieve a small pillow and what appears to be horse blanket to keep warm.

The staff is not merely unfriendly, but downright hostle! They often refused to exchange money or make change. The manager often glared at me, despite my cheerful , "Buenos Dias". Most of our tour group stayed down the road at the Posada del Sol in Yucay, which is a superior hotel. To add insult to injury, the San Augustin does not allow any of the naive Qu'ero people onto the property, in a blatantly racist policy. Avoid this place!

  • Liked — The location in the Sacred Valley is breathtaking
  • Disliked — No service, no smile, no amenities...
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kintu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

We had a great room that opened to a veranda outside, nice and spacious. There is a hot tub, sauna, and steam room that looked nice and can be used for a fee (they told us they would let us use all for $10).

We had an excellent massage there, better and cheaper than in the states. Nice the night before hiking around Machu Picchu.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. It was a joy to wake up at this beautiful hotel in the Sacred Valley of Peru.

  • Liked — the beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — front desk didn't speak the greatest english
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank illovellamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#6 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
6.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
2.2 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Urubamba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Urubamba Hotel

Property: San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
Address: Pisaq Km 69 | Carretera Cusco, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Agustin Urubamba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel y Spa San Agustin Urubamba cuenta con una privilegiada ubicacion, excelente para iniciar su visita a Machu Picchu (a tan solo una hora y media de viaje en tren), ademas el hotel se ubica cerca de las mas importantes ruinas del Valle Sagrado de los Incas tales como Ollantaytambo, Pisac y Maras Moray. La buena ubicacion del Hotel Spa tambien atrae a los viajeros por ser ideal para aclimatarse a la altitud de Cuzco, por su agradable clima y baja altura (2,700 msnm), 700 msnm menos que la ciudad de Cusco. El Hotel San Agustin Urubamba era una antigua hacienda colonial hoy remodelado en un magnifico hotel, en sus instalaciones Ud podra encontrar un maravilloso jardin y frondosos arboles, caracteristicos del majestuoso verdor del Valle Sagrado de los Incas. Ademas el hotel cuenta con una piscina al aire libre y un exclusivo spa, que le permitira disfrutar de un ambiente relajante y tranquilo con un calido servicio. El Hotel Urubamba le ofrece 101 habitaciones estandar y suites. Todas las habitaciones son amplias y comodas, con patios y balcones desde donde apreciara el resplandeciente cielo del Valle Sagrado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Agustin Urubamba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing