We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the way to Machu Picchu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel on the way to Machu Picchu!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hotel with a caring staff. Loved the Coca Tea right by the entrance! It does get cold at night so don't resist asking the staff for an extra heater. The rooms are organized around beautiful garden courtyards and the Wifi is located on the second floor. Although the restaurant serves great food, I would recommend visiting a little restaurant beside the hotel called "Tradiciones" run by a wife, husband and her kids. If you don't mind the humble atmosphere, the dishes are really large and tasty. Her name is Leo and she loves serving tourists.

Room Tip: Second floor has the wifi routers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    194
    97
    26
    13
See reviews for
79
171
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place was decent, but nothing special. The rooms were clean and provided bottle water, but very small. There were 3 of us in one room and we were tripping over each other. We stayed here in July and it was very cold at night. There's no heating in the hotel and each room had one small space heater. Most of the folks on our tour were cold all night. The dining room in the morning that served breakfast was so cold that you could see your breath in the air. That was the biggest drawback.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road, so request a room in the back so that you don't have as much road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The grounds stand out even though this place is on a major road, with a canal in the back, which attracts birds. The catch is the noise. The food, breakfast and dinner, were adequate, but what is excellent is the service. We asked for a room with a view of the mts., and ended being moved to the bridal suite.

Room Tip: away from the road and with a mt. view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The room was comfortable, for chilly evenings there is a space heater. The walk from the room to the restaurant was pleasant with flowers, a fountain and women in traditional costume who set out their handmade items for sale on a patio. The sights around the hotel give a glimpse of local culture and way of life. No sidewalks, but my husband walked from hotel to city square one evening and felt safe, though it was a dusty experience.

Breakfast buffet was usual breads, yogurt, cheese, quinoa and juice plus unappealing scrambled eggs. Dinner the two nights we were there was good, though on the bland side, a good variety of dishes offered.

No in room safe, internet connection in lobby. You leave the room key at the desk when you leave your room. Our group was dismayed to find our keys sitting out on the counter for anyone to pick up when we returned to the hotel each day. No one missed anything, but I think most of us carried any valuables with us since we were traveling by bus and could leave things there during the day.

Local craftspeople stood outside the door each time we came and went offering, some pressuring us to buy goods. Try being polite, but if that doesn't work, just push on past. It's a poor area and I didn't mind buying a few of the cheaper items to help boost the economy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the interior decor, to the simple but clean rooms, this hotel was one of our favorites on a recent trip to Peru. In the Spanish style, with a very lovely courtyard, one truly feels immersed in the culture of the country. The daily breakfast buffet is quite adequate with the usual sludge-style (to the American tongue) coffee and lots of very fresh fruit and juices. A room facing the courtyard is preferable to one facing the street which can sometimes get noisy. The hotel provides both wifi as well as 2 computers for guest use. I would like to be sleeping there again tonight!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel does not look like much from outside but on the inside its very cute. I really liked the blue color of the outside beams. Nice pool but nobody was swimming- the water was cold- I guess May is winter time. Too bad they didn't warm it up. Very nice breakfast. About 15 min walk from Main Street. I'd use the local taxi/motorbike as it was very cheap: 2 soles. The Internet/computer in the lobby needs upgrading.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be_Melodyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is 6 feet from the highway and another busy road. After 2 nights, we had enough of dogs barking,roosters crowing,trucks,motorcycles and loud cars going by all night. The breakfast buffet was the best thing offered and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Urubamba hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#8 of 26 in Urubamba
445 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Urubamba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Urubamba Hotel

Property: San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
Address: Pisaq Km 69 | Carretera Cusco, Urubamba, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Agustin Urubamba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel y Spa San Agustin Urubamba cuenta con una privilegiada ubicacion, excelente para iniciar su visita a Machu Picchu (a tan solo una hora y media de viaje en tren), ademas el hotel se ubica cerca de las mas importantes ruinas del Valle Sagrado de los Incas tales como Ollantaytambo, Pisac y Maras Moray. La buena ubicacion del Hotel Spa tambien atrae a los viajeros por ser ideal para aclimatarse a la altitud de Cuzco, por su agradable clima y baja altura (2,700 msnm), 700 msnm menos que la ciudad de Cusco. El Hotel San Agustin Urubamba era una antigua hacienda colonial hoy remodelado en un magnifico hotel, en sus instalaciones Ud podra encontrar un maravilloso jardin y frondosos arboles, caracteristicos del majestuoso verdor del Valle Sagrado de los Incas. Ademas el hotel cuenta con una piscina al aire libre y un exclusivo spa, que le permitira disfrutar de un ambiente relajante y tranquilo con un calido servicio. El Hotel Urubamba le ofrece 101 habitaciones estandar y suites. Todas las habitaciones son amplias y comodas, con patios y balcones desde donde apreciara el resplandeciente cielo del Valle Sagrado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your San Agustin Urubamba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing