We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the stay in Cusco, go straigth to Urubamaba and stay at Los Jardines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Los Jardines
Ranked #9 of 44 Urubamba B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Los Jardines is strategically located in a small city called Urubamba just between Cusco and Ollantaytambo, therefore allowing you to either go south and do all the sightseeing in Cusco (1hr 50min) passing first through Chinchero (1hr), popular because of its craft fair, or head west to Ollanta (45 min) and take one of the trains departing to Machupicchu without the rush of traveling all the way from Cusco or having to pay an overpriced stay in Ollantaytambo. The charge per night/ per room, not per person, in this hotel is just $24.00!

Sleeping in this town also allows you to get used to the altitude. Urubamba is definetly not as high above sea level as Cusco, I don't know exact numbers at the top of my head, but my boyfriend was first hand witness; as soon as we stepped off the plane the "soroche" (high-sickeness) symptoms began, so we just rushed to the hotel in Urubamba. Whatever it was, the couple hundred less masl allowed him to make it through the night.

Raul, the owner of Los Jardines, and his mother were extremely friendly with us. The first night we got to the hotel they notice my boyfriend's condition and didn't hasitate to offer their help with anything I and specially he could need. He helped us with our luggage and came up stairs with us to the room to check on everything. He broght extra towels, extra pillows, and made sure that the hot water was running, crucial if you want to take a shower in the Andes where the water is freezing cold. He even arranged for a taxi driver to pick us up the next morning to catch the first train to Macchupichu and only charged 30 soles!

In conclusion, the price is totally affortable, the rooms are very clean and nice, the staff is super kind, trustworthy, and would go out of their way to help you... and at last, but not least, the view out of the rooms of the second floor is so beautiful, wich reminds me that there is virtually no noise around the hotel..., another great feature ^.^

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Los Jardines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

My cousin and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. Walking distance to town, clean rooms, hot water and a wonderful bunch of people. Raul and his mother who own the hospedaje were so helpful when we were chasing up our lost luggage with LAN. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help with anything. The garden was great to relax in, lots of flowers and birds. 2 negatives: the rooster next door is an early riser!!! and the beds were somewhat hard! other than that we had a great stay and were given a send off like no other, felt like our family. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

A friend of mine and I went to Peru in March 2008 to see a bit of the country. We stayed for a week in Los Jardines and it was the most wonderful place I have ever been to. The staff are so helpful and nice - whatever we needed, they made sure we got it. The breakfast is fantastic - the weather was really nice while we were there so we got to have breakfast outside in the beautiful garden every morning with hummingbirds zooming about the place. We shared an appartment (3 beds and a bathroom); they were very clean, and so was the bathroom.
Another great feature of Los Jardines is its location - it's about an hour away from Cusco; half an hour in the other direction was Ollantaytambo where there is also a train station; the train leaving from Ollantaytambo heads right to Machu Picchu (we got our tickets and everything from Michael, a friend of the owners of the posada).
I can only say it again: GO THERE! You'll have the most awesome stay you can imagine.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed here in February for 4 nights. This is a good budget option and the propery is safe and clean. The family that runs this is very nice and will provide you with breakfast for a fee if you arrange it the day before. We liked the fact that it felt like you were living with a family rather than staying in a hotel so that experience was nice. They even walked us to where you catch the bus to make sure we knew where to get on and off.
There is not a lot to do in Urubamba itself but it is a great place to stay and do daytrips from. We mostly took the local bus everywhere and it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

After many, many hours of travel from New York to Peru, we decided to acclimitize in the Valley. We found this perfect hotel in Urubamba and decided to go for it, seeing as though the other reviewed accomodation in Urubamba is 5 times the price...It fit perfectly in with our plans. We spent 3 nights here, and loved it. A quiet, authentic experience with genuine hospitality. If you are looking for a place to RELAX and enjoy a private breakfast in a stunning garden with views of the Andes, this is the place for you! The family who runs the inn couldnt have been more accomodating and helpful. We loved conversing in Spanish with our host...He even walked us to the nearest bus stop to make sure we got on one headed to Cusco. All around, a fabulous experience for our first days in Peru.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manifestangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Staying a few days in Urubamba makes great sense if you are flying in from lower altitudes. As its a bit lower than Cusco it gives you a chance to get used to the altitude before attempting Machu Picchu or exploring Cusco.

The hostel, at an incredibly cheap US$18 per night, was fantastic value for money. Michael Holberton, (an Australian) met us at the airport in Cusco. We were made feel very welcome by everyone. Although unspectacular from the street , once through the gates you are transported to a beautiful peaceful garden. Our room was simple, fresh and clean with had private facilities and incredibly, at this price, serviced daily. We were served breakfast, at small extra cost, by the young resident family who look after the place. While Michael and Raul speak English, this couple have no English, so having a little Spanish is useful, but not imperitive.

Urubamba is a nice little town with a market and a main square but not a tourist destination in itself. We felt very safe walking around both day and night - although a ride on a motor taxi is great fun and also recommended. We loved the restaurant Huacati and ate there a number of times. I would also recommend having a coffee in Cafe Cusco overlooking the main square, where you can sit in the window upstairs and just watch life go by.

There are many things to explore in the surrounding area. The Sunday market and Incan temple, (now a church), in Chinchero are well worth a visit. So are the saltmines at Maras and Incan agricultural experiment at Moray. The owner of the hostel, Raul, is very helful and will organise a reliable, safe taxi driver to visit these places. We also hired Michael's immaculately maintained bicycles and rode out to the next couple of villages. This is a great way to see the countryside. (I'm 60). There are also a lot more challenging rides available for the very fit.

There are also walks you can do in the area. We got a taxi up to the end of the road past a village called Chicun and then walked back to Urubamba, passing people working on their farms like scenes from an old nursery rhyme. Again if you are young and fit you can walk futher up this valley to the glacier.

Michael was able to pre-book tickets for us on the vistodome train from Urubamba to Aguas Calientes for us. We had the best seats on the train - (1 and 2) right at the front. The station is just a short inexpensive 2 minute ride in a motor taxi from the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YvonneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed for three nights at Macha Wasi (really the Hospedaje los Jardines). We found it to be a good value and convenient for exploring the Sacred Valley. It’s sort of difficult to explain but the hotel is a partnership between Australian Michael Holberton, who had owned another property and was providing bike tours of the Sacred Valley, and the owner of the hospedaje, a local named Raul. You can reserve it through the Macha Wasi website (www.machawasi.com) or directly from the owner once you get to Urubamba.

The grounds are lovely and quiet, with flowers everywhere. Rooms are basic but clean, and good for the price (we paid $18/night for our stay for a double room with a bathroom). Michael was very helpful in arranging our trip: he met us at the airport in Cusco, picked up our train tickets to Machu Picchu, and arranged for a half-day mountain biking excursion (more difficult than advertised, perhaps because it was our first full day at altitude, but worth it for the scenery and the long downhill portions of the trail).

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, and the proprietor, Raul, spoke good English and was helpful and hospitable. For us the main attraction was the chance to stay in Urubamba, the town at the midpoint of the Sacred Valley. There's not much of historical interest, but the town is quiet and friendly and was refreshingly free of tourists, even in August (especially compared to nearby Oyantaytambo). There are two excellent gourmet restaurants within walking distance of the hospedaje -- Tres Keros and Huacatay. Both were among the best that we visited in Peru.

Overall, affordable, pleasant, and a good base for exploring the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bdm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
0.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
0.0 mi away
Eco Andina Hotel
Eco Andina Hotel
#26 of 28 in Urubamba
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#16 of 28 in Urubamba
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#9 of 28 in Urubamba
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Capilla Lodge
La Capilla Lodge
#2 of 44 in Urubamba
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Eco Hotel By Jabar Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Los Jardines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Los Jardines

Address: Jr. Convencion 459, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Urubamba
Price Range: $37 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hs. Los Jardines is located at the heart of this small town, a couple of streets from the main avenue and within walking distance of the main square (Plaza de Armas de Urubamba) very close to everything you need: restaurats, taxis, drugstores, etc. Is a little hotel, with a personalized service that will make you feel at home and we will help you in everything that you need to make your trip an unforgetable experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hospedaje Los Jardines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Los Jardines Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing