We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area especially after the Inca trail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friends and I (6 total) booked 3 rooms here after our hike to Machu Picchu. Best decision ever! The rooms are large with a tub and shower next to. Enjoy a bath and then shower with two shower heads! Two sinks and separate area for the toilet and bidet. Turn down service is phenomenal. The entire hotel is really relaxing. Enjoy a swim and the jacuzzi (seems only on the female side) and steam room. I got sick and ended up in bed for most of my stay, but glad I had such a comfy bed to stay in. The best part is that you get slippers too.

Town is a short walk and don't expect any supermarkets. Only basic grocery stores and food markets. People in town do not accept USD so make sure you have soles. Try the roasted chicken in town - will be the best you ever eat! We did not eat at the hotel, but my friends went into town to eat the local food which is cheap and pretty good. Questionable hygiene, but none of us got sick from eating in town even though one of our friend had pneumonia.

Food market had great fruits, but felt like some of the vendors gave us outrageous prices (3 soles for 1 clementine?! That's $1 USD for just 1 fruit). Other vendors gave us the local prices (1.5 sole for a huge batch of bananas). Clearly keep away from the vendors who rip you off.

You will not regret staying here. I have friends who planned an inca trail in august and already regret not booking this hotel :)

Room Tip: We all had good rooms staying on the 2nd and 3rd floor facing the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tafanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for letting us share Tambo del Inka experience with you.

Really happy to read that your experience in our resort was simply marvelous. Glad to realize that you did try some of our local food and fruit. I am sure the ¨Pollo a la brasa¨ (roasted chicken) was really good and most of the fruit and food sold in our local markets are fresh and good quality; even if, as you mention, does not look so healthy.

Thank you indeed for your preference and hope to host you and your friends in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,567)
There are newer reviews for Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

One of the best hotels we've stayed at. Great service, great food!
If you are planning to go to Machu Picchu, this is the ideal start point. Reasonable rates and good train connection - especially from the private train station, connected to the hotel premises.
If you need anything, you should contact the Guest Service Manager – Isaac;

Room Tip: all rooms are great! we were on the first floor and had lovely balcony...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Memo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Terrific to read your comments and appreciation on our staff and property.

Thank you indeed for choosing us and letting us share Tambo del Inka magic with you.

Looking forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent location, great view and well planned room design. The hotel is about 1.25 hours from the airport and it can cost you anywhere between 30 -65 dollars( depending on whether you take a van or cab. Ideal rate is $30-35 for a cab ride. The hotel charges you $80 oneway which is ridiculous. I would recommend reaching out to Sacred valley transport who is mentioned in this forum. Alternatively if you speak some Spanish and are traveling without kids, it wouldn't hurt to try your chance by picking a cab outside the airport. The rooms are divided into sections with separate closet space, sitting area, bathroom and bedroom.
Not very efficiently run. It took us 30 mins to check in. No coffee machines in the room.. so if you are in for an early morning fix like me, you will have to go to their restaurant or switch to complementary tea out in the lobby. The pool is great but there are no dryers.
Overall it is a good hotel but I also think it is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Please be informed that our prices consider professional personnel, insurance and a safe ride/tour around Cusco region. This might be the reason of the differnce in prices with the local ones.

On the other hand, we do have kettles and boilers which are provided to our guests in their trooms upon request.

Really concerned about these matters and hope that your overall experience was not affected at all and to have the chance to host you again in time.

Thank you for your understanding.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is simply amazing. As soon as you enter the property you know that something good is coming. When you enter the lobby you confirm the thought that something good was coming. Then you walk into the rooms and your first word might be wuao....That nice are the rooms.

Our room had a walking closet, led TV, a radio with iPod/iphone base and amazing bathroom with shower and bathtub.

The bed is really good also.

We used the spa and the services was excellent. It is not the greatest spa in the world regarding facilities, but it was good enough and combine with the people that attend you it was excellent.

Why not an 5 overall?
1.- Urubamba is not a nice city. There is nothing out there other that the hotel worth going (walking).
2.- During the night, you can hear the noise from the city (loud if you are walking within the hotel property).
3.- Beds are amazing, but the pillows are not as good as the bed. (They are too big)
4.- Last but not least, the toillet paper location...tall or big people are affected. In my case I am both. There is enough room in the bathroom to put this elsewhere...
5.- Restaurant Hawa, is not as good as the rest of the hotel. Extremely nice restaurant, but the food is just average and the service is a bit slow.
6.- Why charge internet in the rooms if you have free wifi in the lobby? Please include internet in the whole hotel, even if you need to add the cost.

Still....if you want to take a relaxing weekend is worth it. Also if you are travelling to Machu Picchu, I would suggest you to stay in this hotel for 1 or 2 days and then go back to Cuzco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent Luxury Collection ensemble!

Grateful to you for your magnificent words and appreciation to our staff and property itself.

Concerning those points that you bring to my attention, please let me explain the following:

1. Our location is simply great considering the vicinity to other towns, communities and ruins nearby.
2. Our rooms are totally isolated so no noise should be heard from the outside however we will keep an eye on it.
3. We have four types of pillows; feather king, feather queen, foam king and foam queen. Wish I had known it in advance so we could have provided you with the smaller ones.
4. Concerning the toilet paper location, our maintenance personnel is following on this matter.
5. We have had a meeting with all our F&B personnel in order to double check our food preparation and service in order to exceed all our guests´ expectations.
6. As per Starwood policy, there is free internet access in the Lobby, in the bar and the Restaurant. Furthermore, there is a business center 24/7.

Really hope that these matters have not modified your overall apprecaition to our resort and do hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. - with three deluxe rooms for three nights. As noted in the other recent reviews, the grounds are beautiful, the rooms are large and luxurious, and the the hotel is perfectly located for exploring the Sacred Valley. Also, the breakfast buffet is fantastic - try the quinoa pancakes! I do have two complaints - 1) no coffee makers in the room or coffee in the lobby, you have to order room service if you like coffee when you get up, and 2) $10 per day charge for Internet in rooms (it's free only in the lobby) - this is inexcusable for a luxury hotel where it's likely 100% of guests have a smartphone, tablet, or laptop. This turned out not to be as much of an irritant as I thought it would when we checked in because the automated billing system worked only sporadically so we ended up not having to pay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Nice to hear that you did enjoy our resort while you stayed in the middle of the Sacred Valley!

Concerning the matters that you bring to my attention please let me inform you that we do offer kettles and boilers in the rooms upon request. On the other hand, as per Starwood policy, there is free internet connection in our main lobby , Bar and restaurant. Furthermore, there is a business center 24/7.

Do hope that your overall experience was not affected at all and look forward to hosting you again.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a nice hotel! The architectural design is stunning from the rooms to the lobby and especially the bar and restaurant. This is easily the nicest resort in the Sacred Valley and the value was unbeatable. Honestly I would have paid much more money to stay at this hotel. The customer service was outstanding and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms were large with huge bathrooms and walk in closets. I had a room facing the river and it was so nice to open the windows and here the river in the morning. Had dinner every night at the restaurant and all the dishes were delicious. This is a great place to relax before or after Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonTCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Terrific to read your words and comments on our staff, service, outlets and property itslelf.

In fact, being located in the middle of the Sacred Valley gives all our guests the chance to visits several other towns, communities and ruins nearby. Architect Bernardo fort Brescia made a magnificent job in the design of our building.

Happy to know that you did enjoy our food, our beverages and in general all our resort.

Thank you again and hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the one truly 5-star property we stayed at in Peru. The rooms (and bed/bedding) were wonderful. The property architecture was dramatic (wonderful blend of mountain lodge with Incan flair). The service was very attentive. Would recommend staying here as a base of operations for the Sacred Valley and avoid Cusco as much as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Very grateful to you for all your kind words and comments to our staff and property.

In fact, being located in the middle of the Sacred Valley gives you the chance to visit other communities, towns and ruins nearby without staying at Cusco.

Thank you indeed for your preference and hope to host you again.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
773 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
5.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $187 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing