We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is great and all reviews are correct. The city has absolutely nothing to it, but as we went to relax we were happy to stay in the hotel, except, of course, ou daytrip to Machu Piccho. Ask for a room awat from the water treatment station.

Room Tip: Book with your visa credit card in the luxury visa hotel website and get free internet and a 25 doll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Thank you indeed for your great appreciation and comments to our staff, service and property itself.

Really happy to see that you did have a wonderful stay in our resort and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 after being transfered from Rio Sagrado due to maintenance works. The hotel is simply incredible. The rooms, staff, spa, resturant and pool are all outstanding. The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever encountered. This hotel is definetly worthy of its title as the best luxury hotel in South America.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Good afternoon.

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really happy that we had the chance to host you in March. I understand that due to some maintenance work in another hotel, you did come to our resort but let me inform you that we were very pleased to share with you two, since the moment that you arrived at our Lobby and our personnel came to welcome you, our magical experience in the middle of the Sacred Valley.

Thank you for your sincere words and comments to our staff and property and do hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed two nights at Tambo del Inka en route to Machu Picchu. We took the hotel’s shuttle from the airport and while it cost more than a taxi (about an extra $40 / US), we thought it was worthwhile to have a driver awaiting us. Taxi service is definitely cheaper, and was a good option for the return to the airport which the concierge helped arrange.

Room was amazing. Very very spacious, well designed, and well appointed. Had a lodge feel with all the modern updates/amenities one would ever need. Had a “river view” room, which really was nothing much to look at, but the sound of the water was relaxing. I wouldn’t have paid more for the river room.

Utilized the tours setup through the hotel, and while the price was steep and we could have found cheaper options elsewhere we were too lazy to do so and relied on the hotel’s tour company. Despite the high cost, the tour was great. People aren’t lying when they say the hotel has their own train station. We were the only couple on the train till it made its first stop 30 minutes after we boarded. The guide at Machu Picchu was excellent as well and the day trip was really a highlight of our experience.

Ate at the two onsite restaurants and the food was pretty solid, but I would not say amazing. The price was high, but not wallet busting, especially considering they’re the only place on property to eat. Decent value for what you got.

The service at the hotel was top notch. Hats off to the entire staff at the property. They were very professional, friendly, and made you feel very welcomed.

There were two minor things that did irk me however about the property. First off, the spa services were nearly impossible to book. While there was literally only a handful of guests on property, we could not book any spa services at reasonable times even giving the staff several options. Given the occupancy it seemed odd. We witnessed another couple who booked services only to show up and be told there was nobody there to help them. The second thing was there are these amazing Jacuzzi spa ‘s that are part of the indoor pool complex, but there’s a gate at the stairs leading down to them with a sign saying they’re for “hydro therapy appointments only”. I never saw one person in them and the staff said we could not use them, which I thought ironic when you couldn’t even book the spa services anyways.

Overall, great property though, and a great value for SPG cash/points which is what we used to book (back when it was Cat. 4 hotel).

Room Tip: The "river room" view isn't much to really look at, but the sound of the river is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tew34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our resort.

Thank you indeed for all your honest comments to our staff and property itself. In fact, our staff is oriented into exceeding all our quests´ expectations.

Concerned about your transportation and Spa experience. Do believe me that we all do our best in order to give our clients the best available service at the requested time and best prices as well. In fact, due to formal insurance, quality of the service and security, there might be some differences comparing to our tourist agancy Tikariy but I do hope you had a marvelous experience in all.

Thank you again for choosing us and please be sure we look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here for some rest and relaxation after an intense one week medical mission in Northern Peru. The surrounding mountain scenery, comfortable spacious room, relaxing pool, and very attentive staff were just what we were looking for. They also have a train station on property that can take you right to the base of Macchu Picchu. This is worth every penny. We had such a nice day trip to this amazing place. Memories from our day at Macchu Picchu we will certainly have for a lifetime. They even had staff members at the station to walk us back to the entrance at the end of day trip.I also want to say thank you to Juan, our waiter, at both dinner and breakfast. He was so caring and polite!

Room Tip: May want to schedule a spa treatment ahead of time. I waited to book an appointment until I was on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corbor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Good evening,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka!

Really happy to realize that did have a great experience in our resort which will be lifetime.

Thank you for your kind words to our staff, outlets and property itself. Juan is very thankful to you for your excellent words to him.

In fact, our train station is a plus as well as our location in the middle of the Sacred valley of the Inkas.

Thank you again for letting us share with you this marvelous culture and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, the employees at this hotel are world class. The nicest and friendliest staff we have every experienced, and their attention to detail was unmatched. We had a room that faced the river, which was nice and private. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Obviously when you walk out of your hotel the surrounding mountainous landscape is breath-taking. We highly recommend everyone who has the opportunity to stay at Tambo del Inka. Thanks again to Erwin and Juan for their awesome service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book peru rail right the hotel they have an office there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yine1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really glad to read your words and comments to our staff and property. Thank you indeed for your terrific words to Erwin and Juan. They are pleased that you did enjoy their service. In fact, as well as all our staff, we are oriented into exceeding all our guests´ expectations.

Sure hope to be able to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived at this beautiful hotel after flying into Cusco from Lima earlier in the day, and a number of us were quite quickly hit by altitude sickness. The staff couldn't do enough. I guess they are used to it and oxygen is available for free at any time. Also coca tea is always available in the lobby and I'd advise drinking it regularly. Our room was absolutely beautiful, clean and comfortable. Probably one of the most beautiful hotels we've stayed in around the world, given the facilities, the grounds and the simple elegance of everything. Breakfasts were excellent as was the one dinner we had there. The indoor/outdoor pool is breathtaking and you can look out at the river from the outdoor balcony around the pool. This is a standout hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection!

Fully satisfied because of your experience in our resort in the middle of the Sacred Valley.

Thank you indeed for you kind and sincere words to our staff, outlets and property itself.

Please let me inform you that our resort was designed by architet Bernardo Fort Brescia and the interior decor was created by Caparra Studio together with peruvian artesans.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Unfortunatly I couldn´t stay there, only did a site inspection, but next time (if I have the opportunity) will stay in Tambo del Inka! The hotel is AMAZING, a 5 star hotel but really cozy, modern and beautiful. Detail: the only one with it’s own rail station to Machu Picchu! The spa and pool areas are also beautiful, inspires relaxation and have amazing views to Urubamba river

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Julienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Sad to know that you could not make it this time but happy because you made a site in our property.

Thank you indeed for your appreciation to our resort and really look forward to hosting your next time with us.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
5.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado

Address: Avenida Ferrocarril S/N | Sacred Valley, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $246 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado is a hotel in Sacred Valley, Peru that invites visitors to experience a warm and welcoming atmosphere, along with adventure tourism experiences nearby including historical and cultural tours of the vestiges of the Incan Empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing