We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Nearby Hotels
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inti Nan Hotel(Urubamba)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda del Valle(Urubamba)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$369
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,766)
Filter reviews
2,766 results
Traveler rating
2,466
230
39
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,466
230
39
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwalk in closetthe indoor outdoor poolmachu picchuthe riversacred valleybeautiful hotelperu railaguas calientesbreakfast buffethigh ceilingsnicest hoteltour companypublic areasrooms are largecusco airportworld class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,466 - 1,471 of 2,766 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a true gem. It is in a truly stunning location, right by the river, and it has its own train to Machu Picchu. The town is on the quieter side, but it had some nice dining options. The real appeal is the international quality of the facilities and the setting right in the middle of the Sacred Valley. It is extremely easy to get around the Sacred Valley from Urubamba and the property is truly so beautiful that if you stay in the hotel for half the day, you won't feel like you wasted your time. The price is reasonable considering it's far and away the best hotel in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an especially clear view of the river--you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for making Tambo del Inka an hospitality option in the Sacred Valley!

Happy to realize that your experience in our resort was simply stunning.

Thank you indeed for your sincere words to our staff and property itself.

You are right, our room views are great. River and Mountain views are just perfect for all our guests. An our location in the middle of the Sacred Valley of the Inkas is terrific.

Thank you again indeed for your kind appreciation to our hotel and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my familly here and WoW, amazing big manor house resort, one of the most beautiful Luxury Collection, I've been, so spacious and peaceful. Actually, when we checked-in, we felt we were the only guests in the hotel, a big mansion just for us. The hotel resort is located into the small town of Urubamba (10 minutes walk to reach la Plaza de Armas), next to the Rio Urubamba, surrounded by trees and a mountain. You are about 30 minutes from Ollantaytambo train station to reach Machu Picchu. We had a fabulous experience at this hotel, you will realize it when you enter the lobby. We had a great service here, a lot of staff everywhere, the room was nice, the swimming pool was indoor but as well outdoor. Free wifi into the lobby or even at their business center. The food at the bar and at the restaurant was delicious, it taste good and it was quality food as well their pisco sour + cheviche + local breads. In the morning, there was no buffet, only à la carte menu, the breakfast menu was a bit limited for our taste. That's the only complain, because the rest was an amazing experience. I definitely recommend it for couples or families for a stopover before the Machu Picchu or even after and as well if you wanna relax into a peaceful resort into the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while in Urubamba, Cusco!

Really stunning to realize that you did have a great experience while in our resort which is located in the middle of the Sacred Valley.

As you mention, our location is just perfect and you can easily reach all other towns and communities nearby.

Thank you indeed for your sincere words and comments to our staff, service and property. In fact, we do look for exceeding all our guets´ expectations.

Our building was designed by architect Bernanrdo Fort Brescia and our interior decor was created by Caparra studio together with peruvian artesans.

Concerning your breakfast exprience, please be informed that our Executive Chef and F&B have already been informed about it and they are already working on it.

Thank you for letting us host you while in Cusco and hope to host you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Tambo del Inka resort and spa is a beautiful property with a breathtaking view. The staff was detail oriented and the service level was top notch. Looking back on our experience I would have preferred a more authentic feel given our surroundings. At the end of the day, it was a standard Starwood property resort; very high quality but would highly recommend a more local 4 or 5 star equivalent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka; part of the ensemble of Starwood Luxury Collection!

I really appreciate your comments on our staff and property. Thank you for your great words!

Happy to see that you did enjoy your experience in our resort and really hope to host you again in time.

Right! Being part of Starwood, we comply with all required measurementes and standards in order to exceed all our guests´ expectations. Thank you for the recognition.

Once again, Thank you indeed and welcome back to this magnificent experience.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic piece of architecture and wonderful to look at. That's where it stops. Very expensive and terrible service considering the hotel was only half full. The food in the restaurant was nearly in edible as it had so much salt in it. What a shame as the hotel has so much potential to be good but the management need to get a grip!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka.

Quite concerned about the situations you went through while in our resort but at the same time I want to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

I have already talked to our Executive Cheff who is working on part of these situations. I am sure they will be solved soon after.

Thank you for your kind words to our property and staff. Please let me inform you that out building was designed by architect Bernardo Fort Brescia and the decor was made by Caparra studio together with some peruvian artesans.

Again, thank you indeed for your sincere appreciation and do look forward to your next coming to this resort in the middle of the Sacred Valley.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's taken me some time to write a review but I realized as I was looking on trip advisor for an upcoming trip, how valuable it is has been for me and I should take the time to pass along my own reviews. We stayed at Tambo during March 2012 for 4 nights on part of a larger trip to Peru, with my husband and two children (10 and 6). We like the finer things, but also like good value and Tambo absolutely fit the bill. The decor was modern but still Peruvian and just lovely. The restaurant was a beautiful space with it's grand fireplace etc. Our children loved having our personal concierge Alan (and still talk of him) who emailed us before our trip and was there to greet us and was ever so attentive. Without asking he arranged a birthday cake for our 10 year old, he helped with our younger one who managed to get sick before our flight to Peru (a rush to the doctor an hour before our flight!) and overall really wanted to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. Our room was a junior suite mountain side on the ground floor and the ability for the kids to just run and play on the grass (soccer and football for some downtime) was fantastic. I also enjoyed having the separate living space and extra room it afforded us with a family of 4. The pool was a very nice setting, though perhaps a little chilly - but it didn't stop the boys and was much needed when travelling to a very cultural and historic place with children. In terms of preferences to stay here or Cusco, I would absolutely give up staying in Cusco (except for logistical purposes), to stay in the sacred valley and in particular here. It's a great base to explore the stunning Sacred Valley and Ollytaytambo was my favourite town. Food itself at the Tambo was very good, nothing out of this world extraordinary, but good nevertheless. I can't comment on any tour arrangements themselves as we had booked a few things ourselves (via ferreta/zipline - unbelievable!!) and had a tour arrangement prior to us leaving. If ever back in the country again, I would absolutely stay here again - no doubt!!

Room Tip: Junior suite ground floor mountain view - great view, quiet and play spot if with kids
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoFunforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Good afternoon.

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really excited to realize that you and your family had a wonderful while in our resort. In fact, our location in the middle of teh Sacred vally is simply great.

Thank you for your kind words to our staff, butllers and properly itself. Our personnel is really involved into exceeding all our guests´ expectations.

Right, our outlets are simply beautiful and hope to host you, your wife and two kids in time again.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews