We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Hotel (but don't use Tour Desk- T`ikariy Office)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel (but don't use Tour Desk- T`ikariy Office)”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First of all, I absolutely loved the Tambo del Inka resort. As a Platinum Guest, I was treated as superbly. We paid for half of the trip with points and the other half with points and cash. It was a total bargain. As our Platinum gift, we did the daily breakfast which was delicious. I am a picky eater and have a hard time with local foods. The food on the breakfast buffet contained all the basic American foods (bacon, eggs, fruits, yogurts, granola, etc) and also some local foods (like potatoes, cheese, fruits). We could even order pancakes off the menu. Honestly, it was the best meal I had every day.

The staff at the hotel was fantastic. Our "butlers" Roger and Alan, we helpful in providing advice for local restaurants and things to do. Even our breakfast waitress, Rosanna, gave us helpful advice about her hometown Lima which we were visiting after the trip. The hotel held our bags when we went up to Aguas Caliente for a night on our way to Machu Picchu. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite and had our own patio with chaise lounges, chairs, and a small lawn. While I was reading outside, a large humming bird came up to visit with me. Behind the patio was a small path that ran along a rushing river. It was very relaxing to lay outside in the sun, reading a book, and listening to the river.

The hotel is located in a beautiful little quaint town called Urubamba. We were able to use it as a base to explore the Sacred Valley. We are quite travelers and don’t really like the party or tourist scene, like Cusco, so Urubamba was perfect for that. The town was safe and I was comfortable exploring it by myself during the day. One day, it may have been a Saturday, we went to the local market. They have every kind of fruit you can imagine and different meats being cut to request. Definitely not FDA approved, but well worth checking out if you have time. We ate dinner every night in town at Pizza Wasi, which served oven baked pizza.

It was really easy to get around and to neighboring towns and sites within the Sacred Valley. We took collectivos to get to Pisca market and Ollantaytambo to catch the train to Machu Pichu. The cost was less than 1 USD for one person both ways… for both trips. There is also a taxi stand 2.5 blocks from the hotel (out the gate and to the left). A cab to Cusco will run you about 45 USD. Again, I felt completely comfortable with all modes of transportation I took. I wasn’t slightly afraid or uncomfortable. My Spanish is really poor… really really poor. But people were really patient and bystanders were always willing to help translate.

Which gets me to comment about the hotel tour services: All tours are ridiculously overpriced. For example, a car to the airport is 80 USD. We arranged for a taxi driver to take us for 45 USD and he picked us up at 3:30a. When we first arrived at the airport, we got a ride from a taxi driver there and told them we were going to Urubamba. It was not until after he gave us a price, we told the hotel name. We didn’t want him to up-charge us because we were staying in a nice resort. The bellman offered to put together a tour of the surround countryside for 190 USD. Again, we paid 50 USD using a taxi. Granted the tour with the taxi did not include a US speaking tour guide, but could figure out what was going on by what we read online and in tour books.

Unfortunately, we had to use the tour company to purchase our tickets to Machu Picchu. We were not able to purchase the tickets from the US because the website was broken and could not process international requests. Through the hotel, we only bought tickets to Machu Picchu and Wayna Picchu (a little more expensive than basic Machu Picchu tickets) and round trip train tickets to Machu Picchu. Nothing more. According out our receipts from the tickets, the total should have been 167 USD per person or 334 USD total. Instead, we 224 USD per person or 448 USD total. That’s a 35% charge just to book tickets through a computer. I fail to see what value- add the 114 USD service charge bought, but it was really outrageous. The tour office did provide a suggested itinerary, but I could have figured that myself and it sure was not worth 114 USD. Having said all that, I am by no means a frugal or backpack traveler. I will gladly pay a service charge or for a luxury service. (We left Peru and flew to the Galapagos Islands). But I do expect it to be reasonable and provide some sort of value- add.

The tour office was just a little bump in the trip. Tambo del Inka was a lovely lovely resort. I would gladly stay there again :

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Junior Suite. The are just as described on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliainTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Ciollection!

Really happy to read about experience in our resort. You are right, our location, in the middle of the Sacred Valley, is just great.

As you mention, there are all kinds of transportation in order to go back and forth other cities and places around. Glad to realize that you took the proper ones. As you mention, our prices at the Tour Office might be higher but do please understand that it is a matter of excellente service, guide, taxes, and others. Honestly, thank you for bringing this matter to me.

On the other hand, I am sure you did have a gorgeous time while with us and do hope to have the chance to host you again at your earliest convenience.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,131
    201
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
638
1,130
64
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a beautiful modern hotel with large comfortable rooms, great bathrooms and a Peruvian feel. We only stayed one night en route to Machu Picchu and we thought that the hotel was marvellous. We had dinner elsewhere in the village so we are unable to comment on dinner but breakfast was everything one could expect from this hotel.
The staff are excellent and the location on the banks of the river is spectacular with either mountain or river views. Should we ever return to the Sacred Valley, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The river view rooms would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thankl you for choosing Tambo del Inka while in Urubamba, Cusco!

Really terrific to read your comments on our property and our staff. Really hope you had stayed longer and ejnoyed our outlets, Spa, Train Station, pool and others. However, let us have the chance to host you again in time.

Confident you will have a great time while in the Sacred valley.

Sincerely,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The decor of this hotel was magnificent! You still felt the local culture of Peru while being in this 5-star hotel! We didnt end up leaving after we checked-in! We went to the spa, hung out in the bar and ate lunch and dinner here! We didnt want to leave... the rooms were large and the bathrooms were amazing! We loved every minute and definitely thought it was worth the splurge. I was sick and they had a staff member go buy me medicine so my husband didnt have to... that's 5-star service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Sorry to hear that you did not feel well during your stay with us but at the same time happy to realize that my colleagues helped you get the medicine you needed. Really hope that you are akready back to your feet by the time you read this message.

Thank you indeed for your honest appreciation to our staff and property.

You are right, our deco is simply great. Studio Caparra together with some peruvian artesans made ity possible.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to have the chance to host you again in time.


Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here 4 days and found the room and facilities very nice. Watch out for the Pisco Sours - they have a kick. Beautiful resort and the staff and service was amazing. Definitely a must stay! Dinner next to the fire place was a great way to end the day. Food was delicious.

Rooms were large and showers had plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nextadventure66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka; part of the magnificent ensemble of the Luxury Collection!

Over happy to realize that your experience in our resort was really fabulous and that you did enjoy every minute of it.

Look forward to your coming soon again.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location, location that age old recommendation is very true in this respect. As previously noted, this luxury hotel is in a prime location beside the river, this gives guests an option of a river view or a mountains view. Both have their own attractions, peace and quiet everywhere. The town of Urubamba is not the most pleasing on the eye but the people are wonderful, from cheering school children waving and all saying 'Hello, good morning' to the locals in the central market to the cashiers in the bank, all most receptive.

The hotel prides itself on guest recognition, after the first name take for breakfast you are confidently addressed as Mr or Mrs thereafter. Front desk, concierge, doorman to waiters and waitresses all make sure they know their guests.

We are not normally eat in the hotel type of people and this was the only downside. Breakfasts were fine, lunches in the Kiri Bar were excellent. We ate an evening meal on two ocassions, both the main courses did not meet what we thought might have been a high standard. When the evenings chef's special is Swordfish, but offered on two nights three nights apart I question if it is fresh. I did have it one nigt and it was so dry it was a big let down. Now the deserts are another story, absolutely fantastic, presentation superb and taste was wonderful.

On one evening we just wanted a glass of wine with dinner, they offered a Merlot from Argentina, I sent mine back it was so rough. Now they didn't charge for either so that is to their credit.

Our favourite place was the Kiri Bar, wonderful people looking after us, Johanna and Delfur, these two people really made the trip. Best Pisco Sours, Delfur, he even gave me his recipe. General conversation and information, especially with my wife, Johanna, she is very fluent in English and just wants to speak with the guests. We sat at the bar on most evenings either before we went out for dinner or afterwards, knowing we could have some really good exchange of subjects, and Delfur would make us our Pisco Sour. So from us it is kudos to these two people who made us feel very much wanted and welcome. Thank you.

Room Tip: Even numbers are the river view, odd numbers mountain view. All are wonderful as it is only two stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouser1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Concerned about the situation you went through with your dinner and wine experience and thank you for your understanding considering our high sanitation and HACCP standards.

Thank you indeed for your excellent words on our Staff (especially Johanna and Delfur who have already been advised about your comments) and our property.

Right! our location in the middle of the Sacred Valley is just great. You can easily reach all different communities and touristic places.

Once again, thank you for your excellent comments on us and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having just spent a couple of nights in Cusco we cut our stay the short by a day and checked in to Tambo Del Inka a day earlier than planned. What a great decision. Cusco is fine for a day but wouldn't recommend for any longer. Here you will find a beautiful resort with fantastic design in a lovely small town.

The staff here were very friendly. It was extremely quiet due to the wet season. We had great weather during our trip though!

The spa was super but I could see the being a shortage of loungers in high season. The restaurant room was incredible. Like eating in a beautiful wooden cathedral. The bar was lovely and a better place to eat as it had more atmosphere.

The only downside was the very limited menus available. We checked into the Westin in Lima after this and the menu was a revelation in comparison. I wonder if the menu is better and more extensive in high season? There are too many sandwiches and not much else in the bar and room service. You don't come for the food though. There are other restaurants just outside the front of the hotel.

We had a lovely room on the 1st floor with access directly onto the garden by the river. I would definitely recommend these rooms. Large and beautifully decorated.

The highlight though was the staff. Most notably Rene in the bar. All others were great but she was so personable, professional, friendly and a credit to the hotel and to the Starwood group.

We took a tour from here to Macchu Picchu on the train from the hotels own grounds. This was organised by the tour operator in the hotel T'ikariy. It costs more than other options but with a private guide it was the best option by far.

Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaac P, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your preference in Tambo del Inka!

Really happy to realize that you did enjoy your stay with us and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Thank you indeed for your kind words on our staff and property itself. In fact, our staff is oriented into exceeding all our guests´ expectations and glad to see that you alsop felt that way.

Concerning the menu, I have already talked to our Excecutive Cheff and we are altready working on it in order to give several other alternatives to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and be sure we are doing our best in order to comply all the needs and requests.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights ending December 22nd for my birthday. Room 251, which was at the very north end of the hotel and was on the side facing the mountains and not towards the river.

The internet was almost non-functioning while we were staying at the hotel. The connection via wifi and wired connection were down for most of our 3 night stay. As others have mentioned this is the "rainy season" and the hotel was at a very low occupancy. So the internet problems were more than likely not due to the number of guests using it.

The restaurant and spa had excellent service (Samuel at breakfast was excellent), but I cannot say the same for the front desk. They had a hard time dealing with issues we had with the room. There were problems with the lights in the room. They would constantly flicker and would then would turn off and on randomly. We contacted the front desk several times about the lights and the internet, but nothing was ever done during our stay. No notes were ever taken on our account, so each time I called I had to re-explain the problems. For some reason there was never a manager or supervisor working, maybe due to the upcoming holiday?The problems with the room were only addressed by the front desk after I contacted Starwood's corporate offices. We were then given an apology and a free meal on our last day.

It was also difficult to get an electronic copy of the portfolio. I was sent a photocopy of a handwritten bill that which was just a list of charges. There was nothing on the bill that indicated what the charges were for. Beyond the issues with the room, internet, and communication with the front desk it is a beautiful hotel and a great cash and points value. Whatever happened to getting a bill under your door the last morning of your stay? Does this hotel not confirm your email and ask if you would like to have a portfolio sent to you like every other Starwood hotel?

To play it safe I would print off your tickets to the train, park, or any tours before you get to the hotel. They do have computers in the business center, but they were suffering the same problems as our room.

I frequent Starwood hotels and have status with their SPG program. I don't often write negative reviews unless something stands out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmarconi, Director General at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you indeed for letting us share our experience with you for three days in December!

Room 251 has a beautiful mountain view facing our Chicon glacier. In fact, all our rooms have nice vews either to the river or to the mountain.

Really concerned about the internet situation. In fact, as you mention, it might be because of the rainy season that we had several problems. This is the reason why no charges were made to any of our guests during this period.

Thank you for your sincere words to our service in the Restaurant and Spa. Samuel has been congratulated in your behalf. He thanks you for your amability.

Really sorry about the misunderstanding at the Front Desk. Soon after contacting you at the hotel, we had a refreshing meeting with all our FD personnel about problem solving situations and we are following up on this matter. On the other hand, our maintenance personnel has already worked on the room light issue.

Kindly accept our apologies from all our staff and management at our resort.

Remain at your disposal and look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
2.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
4.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
17.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
17.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing