We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but Pricey!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but Pricey!”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Loved this hotel! We stayed here after a week in the Amazon (quite the 180!) and what a treat it was. The location of the hotel is beautiful and so peaceful. The rooms are gorgeous and so welcoming! Also, a free buffet brunch is included with you stay - and it is a quality brunch in the hotel's beautiful restaurant. My only two minor complaints were the price (pricey for Peru) and the location (far from everything). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    423
    108
    41
    12
See reviews for
336
626
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

For our 4 night stay in the Sacred Valley, we chose the Casa Andina Sacred Valley because we wanted to be comfortable and in a convenient location. Even though this hotel does accommodate tours, we found that they definitely provide a high level of service to the independent traveler. We enjoyed staying here – all the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds are very pretty with lots of flowers against a backdrop of mountains that seem to glow at sunset. There are a couple of services and facilities that made our stay special. The planetarium and observatory at night was a hoot. We learned so much about the skies over the Sacred Valley, about the constellations and sightings of UFOs and it was just fun. My husband & I both had massages. It was an experience where we used the sauna and Jacuzzi in their beautiful facility and then relaxed after a full day of touring under the capable hands of Edith and Margarita. I did the Inca stone massage that was especially soothing.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful including fresh fruit, breads, cereals, hot dishes and made-to-order eggs.

Our standard room had a comfortable mattress and we could take long hot showers. I would suggest that you request a second floor room, away from any tour groups. Our only issue with this hotel was the noise from insensitive members of tour groups that were leaving early in the morning (on more than one morning). Their talking outside of the rooms and moving of luggage was such that we were awake on their time schedule, not ours. Can’t blame the hotel for that.

Overall, I would say that it was a good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

stayed there with family for 4 nights. Rooms are confortable and service is very good. They should improve quality on typical peruvian food ( lomo saltado was sub par) but the rest of the food was very good.
Very good service.
Planetary at night could be arranged on a more relaxed way. I think depends upon number of guests.
Hotel was full and our room was located at the very end. Nice walking but difficult with a toddler¡¡¡¡¡

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregoryLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel is not very far from Cusco, around one hour drive. The mountains of the Sacred Valley bring a very nice countryside atmosphere to that area. Rooms are very comfortable with good amenities, fabulous food at the restaurant. Breakfast is excellent and the staff attention is remarkable. As any other hotel of the region, at the front desk Coca tea is available 24 hours and in case of altitude sickness, bottles of oxygen are at hand. The hint is to drink water constantly and avoid heavy meals. Alpaca meat is low fat and everyone must try. Keep your eyes on low temperatures from June to September. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Excellent hotel, with a very nice spa. Let Margarita treat you with a very relaxing hot stones massage. Unfortunatelly bikes wer not available at the time we were there, so not really much to at the spare time.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClaraRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Driving through the town on the way to the hotel, you could be forgiven for having the impression that you might be about to stay somewhere a little "low rent / seedy"... the hotel is so completely different from its surroundings, being a beautiful little oasis in the middle of "not much".

It's a very convenient location for people visiting the sacred valley - it's just a bit incongruous that this very attractive hotel is plonked down in the middle of what seemed like a bit of a run-down area. I guess that what I am trying to say, is don't let your very first fleeting impressions put you off. The hotel was great, and was well worth the stay.

We had a nice spacious 2-storey suite, dealt with very friendly staff, and had good food for both breakfast and dinner. The rooms were very quiet so that you could grab a quick rest any time you needed ; although the staff (housekeeping, grounds etc) seemed to be constantly busy, they were unintrusive and quiet.

The only really minor negative I can think of was that for some reason they seem to polish UNDER the carpets – I just about broke my neck a few times when the carpet kept slipping away from under me as I walked around downstairs. The night manager was accomodating in taking the carpet out of the room in order to fix the problem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado towards the end of May 2009... after our visit to Machu Picchu. Unfortunately we only had 1 night at this hotel... because it would have been a pleasant and relaxing place to spend for several more nights.

We arrived on the train from Agua Calientes during the evening hours (8 PM)... where our ride picked us up at the train station in Ollantaytambo. Let me say... it seems quite "chaotic" at the train station with everyone being picked up to go to their hotels and beyond. The road out of Ollantaytambo from the train station is quite narrow and cars are parked everywhere. It took us a good 30 minutes just to go a few kilometers to get out of town because of the traffic. Just make sure you know who is picking you up when you get into town... because it could become a bit confusing. Luckily we knew exactly who was picking us up... and where to find her.

Upon arrival to the hotel... check-in was quite easy (a few minutes) and then we were shown to our room. Since it was nighttime... we couldn't enjoy the beauty of the grounds... but when we awoke in the morning and walked over to the restaurant for breakfast... we were in for a treat. Anyways... since we were quite hungry and it was getting late... we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. There was someone playing live music... while we were able to enjoy our meal. Overall... if you can't get away from the hotel for meals... it provides a good and filling meal.

The next day... we were suppose to be picked up at 9 AM for our trip to Cusco. Unfortunately there was a strike going on...that blocked many of the roads around and out of Cusco. As a result... we couldn't get our ride to Cusco. So... we talked with the woman at the front desk... and found out what we could do (since our ride wasn't showing up until 6 PM). She helped us schedule a private driver for a quick trip to Moray and Maras. Also... she helped my wife get a spa treatment scheduled for later in the afternoon. Moray and Maras were quite interesting to visit. Moray was an agricultural site with many circular terraces. It was an experience to climb into the bottom and just look around at how this was built. Maras is the salt pools that are STILL in operation today. The views are beautiful... and seeing the salt pools was also a neat experience. Together... these two side trips took up about 4 hours.

When we got back to the hotel... we had a quick lunch before my wife's spa treatment. Again... this was a good place to have a meal. Not too expensive and filling. Afterwards... I read a book I had brought along... while my wife went in for her spa treatment. She thoroughly enjoyed this... and the price wasn't all too expensive (which seems can be the case at some hotels). By the time my wife finished up her spa treatment... it was time to head out toward Cusco. It was amazing how fast the day went by... knowing that we really had no plans that day... once our ride to Cusco was delayed for several hours by the strike. I think it was amazing that the hotel staff was so pleasant... and helped us plan our day... even though we were already checked out of our room. They even offered to let us keep our room until 2 PM if we wanted. Overall... I would highly recommend this hotel... both for the scenery and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
5.4 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
10.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
4.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 27 in Urubamba
194 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas

Property: Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Address: 5to Paradero Yanahuara | Valle Sagrado, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#6 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#6 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sacred Valley's most complete hotel: a mountain chalet-styled retreat with panoramic Andes views from every room and every angle. On more than 8 landscaped acres, it breathes an air of tranquility and relaxation. Unique among Sacred Valley hotels - most of which remain isolated in the valley, offering precious little for guests to do - it contains an extraordinary, full-service "Sacred-Spa", a domed Planetarium-&-Observatory for stargazing in the massive Southern-Hemisphere sky, and gourmet restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing