We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected oasis in Urubambo valley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
223 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unexpected oasis in Urubambo valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We turned off the main road and headed into the valley and unexpectedly came across this tile roofed oasis set amidst lovely gardens. Services excellent. Breakfast and dinner very good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    371
    98
    37
    10
See reviews for
290
545
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South America
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful, quiet spot in the Sacred Valley, off a dirt road near the main highway between Ollantaytambo and Urubamba. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean, set apart from the main hotel. The food was excellent, the spa facilities were so-so, although the massage I got was very good. The one negative point was that there was a high charge to use every facility. For example, I paid 240 soles for the basic Andean massage, which is about $90 or £60. I also had to pay a fee to use the spa and there's another fee if you want to use the planetarium. Dinner was also on the expensive side, but I couldn't fault the quality of the food or the service.

If you're using the hotel just to spend a night on the way to Machu Picchu or the Sacred Valley, it's good value at $120 plus fees and taxes and the food is delicious. However, after paying for two massages, a fee for to use the spa facilities, a service fee, tax, dinner for two and a lunch time snack, my bill for one night had almost tripled. I still enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it, although I'd hesitate before using the facilities. This is the reason I gave it three stars rather than the four stars it probably deserves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Private Collection Sacred Valley for your stay and for sharing your experience.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our facilities. We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us, as well as the food. Rest assured we always look for ways to exceed our customer expectations.

We hope we can welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great service, superb ambiance, unbelievable breakfast. We stayed two nights. One day was drizzly. We enjoyed it the most.. Garden and lawn were very well maintained and good flora selection. Hotel is in the valley.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Considering where you are, this hotel was nicer than expected. Our tour group stayed 2 nights. The food was excellent; the grounds beautiful. The large fireplaces, in lobby and dining room, bring a charm to the rooms, as well as smoke (air pollution). Our rooms were a fair distance from the lobby - up 4 terrace levels. We could have used the golf cart. The 2-storey blocks for rooms have no elevator - there is a bell boy service for suitcases. Our room was basic ~ 3* level. The carpet was worn. The heater barely functioned. There was no wi-fi in the room. You have to sign out a separate key for the safe. Careful: the tub was very slippery. Overall, the charm of the place won over its deficiencies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for a night in October 2013, with our 11 year old son. This is without doubt a luxury hotel, and one of the nicest places we stayed in during our time in Peru. The room was spacious and clean, with a nice bathroom and shower. The heating was good, which is necessary as it can be cold at night.

The rooms are in blocks, separate from the main hotel. That can mean a wet walk to the dining room, though they provide plenty of umbrellas. The main hotel is modern and looks classy. There are two PCs for guest use in the business centre, and Wi-Fi in the main hotel only (i.e. not in the rooms).

The complementary breakfast is fantastic, and the evening meal was one of the best I had in Peru; though not cheap by Peruvian standards.

We got a discounted rate of £85 per night for the triple room, which makes it very reasonable for an upmarket hotel such as this, probably because of it's remote rural location. This is one of the few downsides to this hotel. Unless you want to take a taxi into Urubamba or Ollantaytambo, you are pretty much stuck in the hotel. Though there are worse places to be stuck!

I think this hotel caters more for tour parties, where the transport and trips are included, so the location isn't an issue.

The other minor gripe, is that we were looking forward to using the spa. However, we arrived back too late from Macho Picchu to use it, and left before it opened the next day at 2pm. Also, the planetarium show was cancelled due to bad weather, so we weren't able to make use of any facilities that attracted us there in the first place.

In summary, beautiful hotel and grounds, great meals and food, as long as you don't mind being in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a perfect place to stop for a couple days to acclimate to the altitude. The grounds are large and beautifully landscaped. Rooms are comfortable, though not luxurious and the staff was friendly and helpful. Don't skip the observatory/planetarium! The guide gave an interesting talk about constellations in the Southern hemisphere, and we spent quite a lot of time viewing stars and the moon in the telescope. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the nearest town, but the front desk can quickly arrange an inexpensive taxi to & from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoKittyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We travelled with three kids and stayed in this hotel. Rooms, service and breakfast were excellent. We had dinner in the hotel too as there is nothing walking distance outside of the hotel. Service in the restaurant is also very good. One draw back: do not waste your time nor your money in the observatory!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
1.2 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado

Property: Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Address: 5to Paradero Yanahuara | Yanahuara, Urubamba 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#6 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sacred Valley's most complete hotel: a mountain chalet-styled retreat with panoramic Andes views from every room and every angle. On more than 8 landscaped acres, it breathes an air of tranquility and relaxation. Unique among Sacred Valley hotels - most of which remain isolated in the valley, offering precious little for guests to do - it contains an extraordinary, full-service "Sacred-Spa", a domed Planetarium-&-Observatory for stargazing in the massive Southern-Hemisphere sky, and gourmet restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Hotel Urubamba
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing