We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and enjoy the Sacred Valley at KR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuychi Rumi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kuychi Rumi
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the Sacred Valley at KR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Kuychi Rumi for 3 nights in November. What a unique place! We loved our "casita" - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, living area. You definitely get value for your money in my opinion. The grounds are gorgeous, full of trees and flowers - and each casita feels quite private. There are great chairs to lounge in on the front deck, and we enjoyed doing this with a cup of coca tea. Free wifi, always a plus for my husband.
We paid extra for the breakfast each morning, and it was definitely more than we could ever eat! Yogourt, cereals, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, bread, etc. Claudia also offered to make eggs, but we were just never that hungry.
Fantastic staff, including Ursula and Rodrigo who were extremely helpful and friendly. They recommended a couple of restaurants in Urubamba - El Huacatay and Tres Keros. They both exceeded our expectations. We went twice to El Huacatay and had the Lamb Ricotta Ravioli with Chocolate Sauce - around $13. And at Tres Keros, my husband LOVED the lamb in a banana sauce.
We had a driver for the time we were there, Rosalia. She picked us up at the airport in Cusco, drove us to Pisac to see the ruins and the town, then on to Kuychi Rumi. She also drove us to dinner each night in town and then picked us up, and she took us to and from the train station in Ollantaytambo. The rides to and from supper were $5, to the train station was $15, from the train station to Cusco was $40.
As for excursions, we had arranged our own guide to tour one day, doing the salt mines at Maras, Moray, Chinchero and Ollantaytambo. The next day, Urusula arranged for us to go horseback riding through the Sacred Valley. Loved it. 1/2 day for $60.
Bring earplugs! The neighbourhood dogs do bark throughout the night and also every morning a bird would fly into our bedroom window, over and over again, for about an hour! We always travel with earplugs and found them useful in a few places - especially where there are dogs and roosters!
As for the location, you're not really within walking distance of much in Urubamba. I don't know that there was much to see in the town of Urubamba anyways. As I said, we didn't walk to any of the restaurants at night. I wouldn't have wanted to walk at night along the main road - it's quite dark and we had dogs chasing the car quite a few times, so wouldn't want to have those chasing ME! We chose Urubamba to start the vacation because 1) it's at a lower altitude than starting in Cusco, 2) it's quite central to the sites in the Sacred Valley, and 3) because of how awesome Kuychi Rumi sounded! So glad we made this choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cdnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
116
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

at Kuychi Rumi you can stay in the most beautiful and cozy houses, the house is surrounded by all types of flowers and overlooking the mountains. The staff is very helpful for planning your stay at Sacred Valley and making it a wonderful experience. It is a very peaceful place and it is located 20 min from Ollantaytambo station, which is the closest train station to go to Machu Pichu.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NPadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

It was wonderful to have a calm and beautiful place to return to after a day of sightseeing. Kuychi Rumi is so beautiful with flowers and birds everywhere. The casa we had was so charming and comfortable with a complete kitchen. The decor is simple but interesting. The staff was willing to do whatever it took to make your stay enjoyable. They even arrange for train tickets to Machu Picchu. Kuychi Rumi is a little bit of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Historygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I and a group of friends had the pleasure of staying at Kuychi Rumi for four days and it was wonderful. The property is quiet, peaceful, and landscaped beautifully with colorful flowers. The houses are all thoughtfully and beautifully designed, and are comfortable and full of the amenities needed, including a fully stocked kitchen, a fireplace, and a garden sitting area.

However, the thing that impressed us the most was the warm and friendly service. The owners and staff of Kuychi Rumi went ouf of their way to make us feel at home, and to help us plan our daily excursions around the Sacred Valley. We had fresh bread delivered to our door every morning, someone to light our fires at night, and even access to an outdoor fire ring for all of us to celebrate New Years eve. The Sacred Valley is a magical place, and you can definitely feel the positive energy at Kuychi Rumi!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sshepar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed at Kuychi Rumi for several nights and greatly enjoyed my stay. The location was great for further sightseeing in the area - there were many amazing sights like Moray, Macchu Picchu, Ollantaytambo, etc. close enough for day trips.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They spoke excellent English and were able to help me & my friends arrange many fun trips.
The house was very comfortable and clean and I felt right at home in its nice kitchen, comfy bedrooms and the cozy living room with fireplace. The grounds around the houses were beautiful - gorgeous flowers & hummingbirds everywhere - and really gave Kuychi Rumi a very peaceful atmosphere. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahBB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Traveled to Machu Picchu just recently, and had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful little resort of a main building with 7 surrounding houses. The full-time staff including the owners are great -- responding to any request. They'll make reservations for you, and you have the option of a buffet breakfast each morning and/or a "starter kit" of food you can make yourself in the fully equipped kitchen in your house (both for a small fee, of course). I'd highly recommend staying here. There are some excellent restaurants in the nearby town, including Huacatay (our favorite).

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DanielDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I've never written a review before, but Kuychi Rumi is too good to be true. The charming 2 bedroom house surrounded by beautiful gardens is the best place to come home to after a day of sightseeing. We even decided to stay "home" one day just to spend more time there. Breakfast includes warm bread and jelly, cereal, fruit, fresh squeezed juice, coffee, and cooked to order eggs. Friends of ours ordered the starter package and enjoyed making their own breakfast with many of the same ingredients. Claudia and Carlos speak English well, help with travel arrangements, and offer great recommendations. The rest of the staff was very accomodating too. They'll even light a fire for you to enjoy your cozy Sacred Valley home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
5.6 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#12 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuychi Rumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuychi Rumi

Property: Kuychi Rumi
Address: Main Urubamba Road Km. 74.5, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#9 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuychi Rumi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hidden gem in South America by Tripadvisor readers in 2006, the six uniquely designed cottages of this original hotel are nestled in the Andes Mountains among lush and colorful gardens that attract many varieties of hummingbirds. The comfortable, cozy Andean casitas come fully equipped including fireplaces and wi-fi. Here you can be sure to receive the best personal attention for your special needs and travel arrangements for all of Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kuychi Rumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuychi Rumi Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Hotel Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing