We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in a sacred space”
Review of Kuychi Rumi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuychi Rumi
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The gardens, houses, and hospitality make this a perfect place to feel centered in the sacred valley. The personal touch by the owners add to a feeling of being welcomed with open arms. All the staff are helpful, friendly, and caring. They helped arrange all our travels to sites around the area and gave detailed recommendations on what to see. Warm fires in the fireplaces at night allow for cozy evenings in a home away from home.
A home cooked breakfast allows a great start to the day.
It is a bird watchers haven as the gardens abound with hummingbirds, thrushes, and seed eaters. The start up food kits in the cabins allow you to taste a variety of local fruits and foods as well as provide you flexibility for travel.
This is an excellent place to base your sacred valley adventures from.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Kuychi Rumi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 309 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Kuychi Rumi was a beautiful place to stay - the gardens were lovely, and the casitas were cozy. I was unexpectedly amazed at the shower - it was one of the best I've had anywhere - hot and great water pressure!

The best thing about staying here though, were the six dogs - if you're a dog owner who misses your pet when you travel, this place makes it a little better. They are all so affectionate and very well behaved. Our casita had two papasans in the patio, and we had our own pets for the nights we were there - the dalmation and the chocolate lab slept there at night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

KR was probably the most memorable of our accommodations during a recent whirlwind tour of Peru. The two story adobe cottage felt authentically Andean. The gardens were beautiful and the dogs that call the place home were well behaved and welcomed us at the gate. Our hosts were wonderful. Rodrigo assisted in the planning of our stay: Ursula was up before 5 AM to make coffee for us the morning of our departure to Machu Picchu. Our only regret was that we didnt have more days to spend in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My husband & I have returned from our 2nd stay at Kuychi Rumi. This may be one of favorite places on earth. The entire staff are fantastic. Rodgrigo & his family are great hosts at this B&B. Their assistant, Ursula, is great. Julio is one of the nicest people you will ever get to meet & he gladly wil build you a fire every night in your own fireplace in the living room of your own, little home. If you choose to take advantage of the "starter kit' & have food in your home when you arrive, Julio delivers fresh bread every morning to your door. Admiring the flowers & walking through the beautiful gardens is a dream. You will get to see many birds & the largest humming birds you will have ever seen. For those of you missing your dogs, the 6 dogs that live on the property are always happy to stop by for a pet. You should not think twice about staying anywhere else in the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindapurplelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience in Peru (so far, we are still in Peru) and I have the folks at Kuychi Rumi to thank. Kuychi Rumi is truly a unique and lovely place. My husband and I felt at home in casa 7, which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, dining room, and living room with a fireplace (so cozy). The family and staff here are very charming people and were always accomodating. You simply had to ask if you needed anything. Unlike staying at a hotel, it feels very intimate and peaceful here, with the comfort of home surrounded by beautiful grounds. For what you get, this place is a great value. We spent three of our eight nights in Peru at Kuychi Rumi. During those three days, we always looked forward to coming back to Kuychi Rumi after visiting various places in the Valley. This was our first visit to Peru and Rodrigo took away the stress of planning by making all the arrangements for us prior to our trip, bless him. Ursula was wonderful as well. They took care of our flights to and from Cusco, our transportation and personal guide for Machu Picchu, and much more. They also arranged for our personal driver, Jorge, who took us just about everywhere. Jorge is punctual, reliable, very pleasant, a cautious driver, and trustworthy. We never had any issues. The level of service here is exceptional. I highly recommend anyone visiting Peru to visit the Sacred Valley and stay at Kuychi Rumi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cchuck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Kuychi Rumi is amazing!
It is wonderful to have an Andean cottage instead of a room. Our teen-age son loved his separate bedroom and bathroom. As a matter of fact, he said this was his favorite spot for our 18 day trip to Peru.
Claudia is wonderful. We got the starter kit and enjoyed the fresh bread brought to our cottage each morning. I celebrated my birthday here and Claudia baked me a birthday lemon pie. It was delicious and such a wonderful surprise! The only thing that could compete was her wonderful hug. She is so special.
Rodrigo helped plan our trip, arranged all trains, arranged tours in the Sacred Valley, Cusco and Colca Canyon. Rodrigo, the guides you arranged were excellent! Thank you so much! Also, thank you to David, he was a terrific guide who stayed with us through the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and Cusco. And our driver, Synovio, he was very special also. An excellent driver who was also very warm and special. It was wonderful to have the same driver over several days.
We all three loved having the fireplace lit for fires in the evening. Wonderful.
We left our larger bags at Kuychi Rumi to go to the Machu PIcchu citadel. It was nice to have lighter belongings to carry. We spent one night at the Sanctuary Lodge.
Thank you to Ursula. When our bags did not appear from the Sanctuary Lodge for our return trip to the Sacred Valley (Kuychi Rumi), and we couldn't reach anyone at the Sanctuary Lodge, I called Ursula at Kuychi Rumi. Amazingly, someone appeared from the Sanctuary Lodge to take us to our bags. Ursula took care of our problem, like magic.
One night we ordered carry-out pizza. The pizza didn't arrive and the restaurant said there was a problem getting a taxi for delivery. Ursula sent one of Kuychi Rumi's drivers to pick up our pizza for us.
The gardens are beautiful. The property is very safe and secure. Our family had privacy, yet there was someone always there to take care of our problems.
We highly recommend Kuychi Rumi and we hope that we can return to this perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fiamma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just got back from my Peru vacation, 3 nights of which we spent at the Kuychi Rumi (KR). I can honestly say we were so sad to leave the KR. The hotel is a series of about 6 or 7 two bedroom/ two bath duplex cabins equipped with full kitchens and fire places. We booked this hotel at the suggestion of a friend and were beyond impressed by the comfort and overall unique experience we had at the KR. It's location was perfect, being right in the middle of all the main Sacred Valley attractions. And the staff attentiveness was second to none. Many thanks to Ursula, Rodrigo, Claudia, and Senobio for making our trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crubegonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 28 in Urubamba
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
1.7 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuychi Rumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuychi Rumi

Address: Main Urubamba Road Km. 74.5, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#9 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $137 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuychi Rumi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hidden gem in South America by Tripadvisor readers in 2006, the six uniquely designed cottages of this original hotel are nestled in the Andes Mountains among lush and colorful gardens that attract many varieties of hummingbirds. The comfortable, cozy Andean casitas come fully equipped including fireplaces and wi-fi. Here you can be sure to receive the best personal attention for your special needs and travel arrangements for all of Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kuychi Rumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuychi Rumi Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Hotel Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing