We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give 6 stars if I could - this is a great place to stay!”
Review of Kuychi Rumi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuychi Rumi
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were a group of 5 adult family members traveling in Peru and Colombia. I was the one booking everything and spent MANY hours reading, researching, and emailing back and forth. I read all of the great reviews of KR and kept wondering if it could be that good. It is. You already know from reading other reviews and looking at the photos that each unit is a little house, decorated with Peruvian handcrafts and more. As you are driven up to KR, the first view is not great. But when you go through the gate and see the beautiful garden with blooming plants and trees, the very friendly dogs come up to great you, and Rodrigo comes out to welcome you, you will know that this is a special place.
Rodrigo and the staff took care of our every need. He offered to book our Perurail tickets and Machu Picchu passes in advance, and I wish that I had taken him up on that. It would have been so much easier. He arranged for a private driver and van to pick us up at the Cusco airport and bring us down to KR in Urubamba (a little outside of the town), taking about one and half hours. We then had the same driver for all of our other outings and sightseeing in the area. Rosalia was our driver and we really loved her. She was a great driver and a very nice person.
Rodrigo kept our big suitcases for us while we went to spend the night in Aguas Caliente the night before our Machu Picchu day. (On Perurail you can only take 11 lbs with you).
The breakfasts were great at Kuychi Rumi, and we enjoyed the fire in the fireplace our first night. It really wasn't terribly cold in May, but the fire was pleasant.
After a couple of days in Lima, Kuychi Rumi was wonderful - I wish we could have stayed longer. We all want to return, and next time I will just send money to Rodrigo and take him up on his offers to book things. He also gave us three great restaurant tips - one in Aguas and two in Cusco. When it came time to settle up our account, everything was in order. It was a fantastic base for the Cusco region. We kept the city of Cusco for the last two days, but honestly we wish we had more time at KR. Cusco was nice to see for a day, but we much preferred all of the sights and experiences from our Kuychi Rumi base. I highly recommend Kuychi Rumi.
The altitude is lower at KR than at Cusco, which is why we initially started looking into that area. Give yourself some time to adjust to the altitude before you spend time in Cusco or anywhere that has a higher altitude. We brought altitude sickness pills, but did not need them. We drank the coca tea and were mostly fine. (I had a slight headache in the middle of the night, maybe from altitude, and took a couple of over-the-counter ibuprofen. I was fine after that.)
Things to see and do from KR - depends on what you like...mountain biking, hiking, seeing many ruins (Pisac, Ollantaytambo, Moray, Salinas, more), Pisac market (much better than buying in Cusco), Awana Kancha (llamas, alpacas, and weaving demonstration), animal rescue - cannot remember the name - condors, pumas, and more, shopping in Ollantaytambo, shopping in Urubamba (ceramics at Seminario and others, more).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank upandaway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Kuychi Rumi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 309 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Kuychi Rumi for one night during our recent trip to South America and cannot say enough about how much we loved the house, and the amazing warmth and generosity of the wonderful management team and staff. This is a really special place where you are looked after so well, it's like being cocooned in goodness! Before arriving we had the most incredible support and assistance from the wonderful Rodrigo who organised all of our train tickets, transfers and guides for the Sacred Valley and Mach Pichu, all the while providing excellent itinerary advice as well. For example Rodrigo organised for us to be picked up in Cusco, then have a full day tour of the Sacred Valley, then transfer to Kuychi Rumi for just $USD85 total. Our driver Julio was fantastic, we visited the lovely town of Chinchero for the Sunday market, Moray, the Salina and Ollantaytambo. When we arrived at Kuychi Rumi that evening our house was waiting including a gorgeous roaring fire. We loved he dogs at the property and the gardens were stunning. When it was time or dinner Julio was back to drive us 5 minutes up the road to a great local restaurant, then collected us a few hours later. On arrival back at Kuychi Rumi after inner our wonderful hosts were waiting to escort us back through the gardens to the house by torchlight and make sure we were safely inside. No detail was overlooked. The house itself was huge and lovely in every way - we wish we had weeks to spend there. The guides organised by Rodrigo at Machu Pichu were great and the seats he booked for us on the Vistadrome train were brilliant, we could not have got better. In conclusion, we loved styling at Kuychi Rumi and would highly recommend it as a wonderful base to explore the Sacred Valley. A complete delight!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day stay at Kuychi Rumi. We had paid for 2 nights but loved it SO much that decided to stay an extra night.
The cabins are super comfortable with a chimney to keep you warm after long days of sightseeing.
7 cabins sorounded by flowers and vegetation that makes Kuychi Rumi a special and peaceful place to stay.
Rodrigo the owner is great and super helpful and the breakfast is deliscious!!!!! If you have to stay in Urubamba try Kuichi Rumi...my 6 year old girl loved the place and the dogs specially Chocolate!!!
Thanks Rodrigo for making our stay so special,. We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: We stay in cabin 7 and loved it. Private and quiet!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 15Paola15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 days of our 2 week honeymoon and I am very glad we did. We had just done the Santankay Trail ending in Aqua Calentes which is to say the least very busy!
When we arrived we had a lovely welcome even though it was getting late. After a very quiet nights sleep woke to find the beautiful gardens outside in fact we spent the entire morning lying in the sun on the grass. Very relaxing.
We ate out for dinner on the first night and at lunch time the next day both restaurants where recommended by the owner and both where extremely good. We walked to town for lunch its about 2.5 km and took 25 mins but was worth it especially the walk back we went through town on Friday which is market day, if you are going to buy peruvian blankets or clothes as souvenirs this was the place it was a third cheaper than everywhere else we had been although bargaining was done on paper.... my Spanish isn't great.
Rodriguez was very helpful and sorted a transfer to Cusco for our flight cost 35 dollars in a new taxi that actually had treed on the tires which was novel! This compared to the transfer we had from Cusco Airport to the hotel in town that was 20 dollars was a bargain especially as it was a 1.5 hr drive.
All in all beautiful place, the houses are lovely with the extra room would be great value with kids in tow. For those that can't escape the outside world the internet connection was the quickest we had on holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank damokeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I (two children ages 10 and 12) stayed at Kuychi Rumi during our Spring Break. We had a spacious two-bedroom house to ourselves with a full kitchen and patio. The gardens around the grounds are beautiful. We had great conversations with the owner who is eager to share his knowledge of the area. The staff was attentive and willing to try to help in any way. My kids loved the four big, friendly dogs at the hotel and still miss them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fantastic! I just returned to Afghanistan from spending a week of my R&R in Peru. All but one of my days were spent lodging at Kuychi Rumi and I cannot wait to return! The adobe houses were beautiful, well kept and the grounds were well manicured with flowers and gardens all over. Claudia did a fantastic job with breakfast each morning, catering to our late wake ups and Rodrigo assisted with all our travel needs to include transportation to local restaurants, stores and anywhere we needed to go. He also coordinated our trip to Maccu Piccu to include our train tickets. I highly recommend staying here for anyone planning to visit Maccu Piccu or anyone who wants to have some peace & quiet while having all their needs attended to by the staff of Kuychi Rumi, thanks again! -Mike L. -

Room Tip: All of the houses on site were equally beautiful. Don't forget to ask for a BBQ, by hosted by th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I (early 30s) and my parents (early 60s) stayed at Kuychi Rumi for 3 nights during our 8 day stay in Peru. I initially had made reservations for 2 nights but then with the heavy rains and some train scheduling changes we unexpectedly stayed a 3rd night. Claudia was amazing and beyond helpful with everything, as was Rodrigo. They helped arrange drivers for our day trips as well as give us recommendations for restaurants and excursions. The lodges are perfect!! We stayed in lodge 2 and lodge 6, both were very homey and welcoming as well as having lovely outside areas with chairs and a table to sit and relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens and the sound of the nearby stream. We had a fire in the fireplace each night and even took advantage of their Monopoly board. We loved having a fridge and a kitchen! They made our stay so smooth and easy. I can't recommend Kuychi Rumi enough. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone without hesitation!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pink1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
3.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
2.8 mi away
Sacred Dreams Lodge
Sacred Dreams Lodge
#14 of 28 in Urubamba
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Urubamba
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
2.6 mi away
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
Hotel Hacienda del Valle
#9 of 28 in Urubamba
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuychi Rumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuychi Rumi

Address: Main Urubamba Road Km. 74.5, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#9 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $138 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuychi Rumi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hidden gem in South America by Tripadvisor readers in 2006, the six uniquely designed cottages of this original hotel are nestled in the Andes Mountains among lush and colorful gardens that attract many varieties of hummingbirds. The comfortable, cozy Andean casitas come fully equipped including fireplaces and wi-fi. Here you can be sure to receive the best personal attention for your special needs and travel arrangements for all of Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kuychi Rumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuychi Rumi Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Hotel Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing