We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable House in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Kuychi Rumi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuychi Rumi
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Reviewed April 5, 2008

My family (2 adults, 2 tweens, 1 grandma) stayed at K'uychi Rumi for 2 nights during our trip to the Sacred Valley. K'uychi Rumi is a small "complex" of several houses owned by friends. When the owners are not using them, the houses are available for rent. Our house was located near the back of the complex, through very beautiful gardens filled with flowers and hummingbirds. The house has 2 bedrooms. The downstairs bedroom has two double beds. The upstairs bedroom has a king bed and a double bed. There are 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining area and living room with a fireplace. At night, a fire was lit for us.

Rodrigo, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful answering all of our questions, arranging transportation, contacting tour operators, and giving recommendations. We arrived at K'uychi Rumi on a Tuesday in the late afternoon. Rodrigo recommended Huaratay for dinner which was unbelievable! We left the next morning at dawn for our train to Machu Picchu. The taxi that was arranged for us arrived early. We were able to leave most of our belonging in the house while we went to Machu Picchu for the night. We returned Thursday afternoon and ate dinner at Los 3 Keros -- very good. The next morning we had a delcious breakfast in the common building.

The only downside is that the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. You must take a taxi to Urumbamba to get dinner and you cannot leave the hotel and just walk around the town -- you are on a busy street and there's really nothing to see.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank stephgintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Kuychi Rumi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2008

After we read all the reviews we were pretty excited about staying here. Overall it is a really nice place to stay, in a really peaceful setting. After reading the reviews we expected it to be real far from town and that it was hard to get anywhere without using their drivers which they pushed on you. Well this could not be further from the truth. Not once was the driver issue brought up and to get to town you go to the front of the hotel, walk towards town and wave down a moto taxi within 3 minutes and for 2 soles (68 cents) you can get anywhere in town. To get to Pisac or Ollantaytambo all you do is take a 2 soles moto taxi to the bus station then a 1 sole bus to either Pisac or Ollantaytambo or 3 soles to Cusco. We loved the town of Urubamba and it is the perfect place to explore the valley.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rickphillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I just read a number of the reviews on Kuychi Rumi and agree with them all. Claudia is a gem - when you arrive LISTEN TO CLAUDIA. The property is nice, quiet, clean, well kept, and you feel secluded. It is a cab ride to most everything you do BUT the cabs/drivers are cheap, professional, and on time. Kuychi Rumi's staff will even come to your room and start a fire for you every night.

I would recommend this property (and especially Claudia) to virtually anyone. Being so close and convenient to Machu Picchu without having to stay in Aqua Caliente was great. We got the first train to Aqua Caliente in the morning and still were at Machu Picchu an hour or more before the crowds came. Two reasons you MIGHT want to spend the night in Aqua Caliente could be to have two shots at good weather (our weather was fine) or if you really wanted to be the first in the park in the morning. Staying at Kuychi Rumi was the right choice for us because we had enough time at Machu Picchu and it gave us more time (and access) to some other interesting sites like the salt flats and other Inca ruins.

We ate at a very nice restaurant in Urubamba called Huaytacui thanks to Claudia. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

One tip --- there are two different (at least) ATM's in Urubamba. One will allow you to withdraw more money - it is at a bank. The other one is outside the gas station/market located at the traffic light. The good one is further down on the opposite side of the road outside a bank.

Claudia was just in the process of putting in all new water pipes through out the property as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LostWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at KR very much. All guests have their own houses in the beautiful garden. We enjoyed the privacy and space. We had reserved a pick-up from Cusco airport through the hotel (good value at 25 USD for the long drive).

KR is an excellent base for touring the Sacred Valley. Touring was very convenient with our driver who drove very well and carefully (60 USD full day). We had also booked our train tickests to Machu Picchu and Cusco through KR. They were actually able to get us seats on a train that Perurail had said is fully booked when I first tried to make the booking directly.

All tours were discussed and settled with the help of our hostess. She also made reservations for dinner at restaurants and arranged the pick-ups with our driver (5 USD per evening). This was very convenient and the restaurants were very good and prices very reasonable. She also gave us a good recommendation for a restaurant when we went to Aguas Calientes (for Machu Picchu).

We had ordered a start-up kit (25 USD) which contained plenty of stuff for breakfasts (eggs, cheece, ham, fruit, local cereals etc).

I certainly recommend this place for the good service.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Although our Kuychi Rumi visit started off rocky, with their driver picking us up for the airport an hour late and then making many personal stops along the way, Rodrigo made up for it with his service when we finally arrived.

After a sleepless night of traveling from the US, waiting in the Lima airport in the wee hours, and waitng for our taxi once we got to Cusco, when we got to the property we collapsed in our bungalow (which is 2x the size of our house at home). The master bedroom's bed was big and firm, but comfortable. After we woke up, Rodrigo arranged a driver for us to hire to visit Ollyantambo.

The next day, Rodrigo discussed our touring options over breakfast. He then arranged another driver for us to hire to visit Chinchero, Moray, and Salinas, all which were great! We also drove through agricultural lands, which was an interesting experience.

Rodrigo recommended a restaurant in Urumbaba for that night, and it was delicious. The driver he hired to take us there failed to be there when we were ready to leave (I think the restaurant was supposed to call him), so we walked home, which was an interesting experience in the dark, but we made it!

Finally, Rodrigo provided an early breakfast on our last morning as we were starting the Inca trail trek (after a quick 2 days of acclimating to the altitude).

Kuychi Rumi is a little oasis. The gardens are beautiful and the bungalows are huge. While we were there, we were wishing we planned to stay longer, as we didn't get to take advantage of the kitchen and we were too tired to enjoy the fireplace for very long. After we stayed in other hotels during our stay, we looked back and realized what a difference personal service makes in one's stay!

Although Kuychi Rumi it is not in a town that is easy to walk around and explore (like Ollyantambo, which was very cute), it is very relaxing, centrally located in the valley, and is a good place to both relax and tour the sites.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank venicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

As soon as you enter Kuychi Rumi you realize you've entered a magical place ...and you have. Within five minutes of being there I wished I could stay for a very long time and I still felt that way when I had to check out.

The gardens and grounds are a feast for the senses and immediatly create a feeling of tranquillity. Waking to the sound of the stream (just outside my window) that flows from the mountains, was a wonderful way to start the day.

The cottages more than met my hopes and expectations. They are beautiful inside and out .The kitchen is very well equipped; a real treat for someone who loves to cook, or just have ice and a blender to make up some mango pisco sours!

The resident dogs were so welcoming and really made one feel at home. If it was possible, I would make this special spot a second home! It is a real gem, not to be mised.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank esterella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

Stayed 5 nights at the KR with friends. We had arranged with Rodrigo to book all our tickets – to MP, Puno, Catamaran trip to La Paz, driver, guide for MP. And although when we arrived at KR there was a mistake with one of the tickets Rodrigo eventually sorted it out.

The house is lovely and spotlessly clean. We even cooked a couple of nights as the kitchen was well stocked. We walked into the main town of Urubamba one evening and although it was getting dark we felt safe although there are no pavements you have to watch where you are walking – we got a taxi back.

We had a driver each day to take us sight seeing, Mr Agripino who although didn’t speak English we had a Spanish speaker with us so this was not a problem.

To sum it up this was the best place we stayed in Peru. The Sacred Valley is a beautiful place and we really relaxed while we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pattyh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
1.9 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 28 in Urubamba
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
1.7 mi away
Villa Urubamba Sacred Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuychi Rumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuychi Rumi

Address: Main Urubamba Road Km. 74.5, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#9 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $137 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuychi Rumi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best hidden gem in South America by Tripadvisor readers in 2006, the six uniquely designed cottages of this original hotel are nestled in the Andes Mountains among lush and colorful gardens that attract many varieties of hummingbirds. The comfortable, cozy Andean casitas come fully equipped including fireplaces and wi-fi. Here you can be sure to receive the best personal attention for your special needs and travel arrangements for all of Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kuychi Rumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuychi Rumi Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Hotel Urubamba
Kuychi Rumi Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing