We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pit-stop en route to Machu Pichu!! Make the effort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Media Luna Tourism Circuit

Media Luna Tourism Circuit
Ranked #5 of 6 Tours in Urubamba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Media Luna tourism circuit consists of a variety of workshops designed to provide insight into local mores and customs of the Sacred Valley. Each workshop is lead by a member of the Association of Media Luna. You will get a chance to immerse yourself in their daily routine and understand what it means to be part of a community such as Media Luna.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pit-stop en route to Machu Pichu!! Make the effort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a day free before our train to Machu Pichu from Ollantaytambo and chose to visit Media Luna. It was fantastic!! You enter into the homes of the people of the community and really see how Peruvians live. Seeing a demonstration of the traditional method of killing guinea pigs with the offering to PachaMama was brilliant; definitely not something I'd see in the UK! (Don't worry; no guinea pigs are harmed! Although there is the chance to eat one for lunch...) I also loved the weaving workshop; held outside in the beautiful surroundings of the Sacred Valley, you instantly feel the magic of the place as Marleni explains how all those traditional Peruvian knitwear items are made.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
1 review
“A Different Perspective”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was on my way with some friends to Machu Picchu and a friend told me to check out Media Luna. I decided to give it a go and it was a highlight of my trip to Peru! It's so interesting to get to see a different side of Peru than you do staying in hostels, doing tours, and doing the traditional "tourist" thing. My favourite part was definitely the cuy (guinea pigs), where you get to see how they're raised- they're so cute! And did you know they dye wool using worms found in cactus? How crazy is that! Anyway, I would definitely recommend visiting. It's a unique experience you won't find in many other places.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
“What a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was lucky enough to experience the Media Luna Rural Tourism Circuit while traveling through South America with a friend. Most of the tourism based activites we did were pricey and crowded, but the Tourism Circuit here was neither of those things. Media Luna is a small village, and you could feel the closeness between the people as soon as you got there. There were several stops along the circuit, including a guinea pig farm and a tutorial on how to make chicha, a fermented corn beer very popular in the region (which we got to sample)! You recieve a traditional lunch, and it also includes an amazing hike with a very interesting man they call "The Last Inca" to finish the day off. Each stop on the circuit was great in its own way but it was the people that really made it worth while. They were all so welcoming and kind and I won't hesitate to go back if I'm ever in Peru again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Lounsbur... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great authentic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I from Canada were visiting the Sacred Valley and were looking for something to do before going to Machu Picchu which was less 'touristy' than some of the other sites we'd been to.

This is a wonderful little community, about 20 minutes out of Urubamba on the way to Ollantaytambo, where you get to see some of the everday life and traditional customs of the people there. We loved Marleni's passion for weaving and making textiles and seeing how much hard work it takes and Carmen was really sweet with telling us about the importance of making 'chicha' (local corn based drink) and gave us beautiful little baskets made out of husks!

The local food was excellent and the hike up to 'Las Chullpas' was challenging and tiring, but so worth it! Tiburcio, the guide, is a man of almost 70 years of age and didn't break a sweat! The views from the pre Incan ruins were awesome.

Definitely recommended if you're around Urubamba for a half day or a full day and want to have a really lovely authentic experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7keg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A truly authentic Peruvian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was one of my favourite activities while in Peru. It's a wonderful way to see the industrious people of Urubamba and gain a better understanding of some traditional occupations. The entire experience feels very authentic and genuine, it's not just another 'tourist trap'. The hosts of this tour are lovely, friendly and humble. One can tell that they want to share their experiences with others. The lunch provided on the tour was delicious, a great way to try traditional Peruvian cuisine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7keg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Media Luna Tourism Circuit also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Media Luna Tourism Circuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing