We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finished better than started”
Review of Qanela Restaurante

Qanela Restaurante
Ranked #7 of 75 Restaurants in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nada
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,151 reviews
2,868 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,846 helpful votes
“Finished better than started”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had looked at the menu at Tambo del Inka and there looked enough choices to cater for my wife's dairy and wheat allergies. Unfortunately, the restaurant had changed the menu and everything had either or both of butter/cheese and wheat. Looked almost impossible to stay but fortunately the chef worked with us and found ways of delivering a quality meal - he is very good and the setting is wonderful - as others say, almost like being in a family home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroGaldos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Qanela Restaurante, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you very much! We'll take in count!!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    71
    22
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing short of amazing.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I entered the unassuming place, I felt welcomed and at home. In fact, it reminded me of eating with a foreign family of my own--I can't imagine being treated better. The smiles, the patience with our indecisiveness (everything looked so damn good!), and the attention to detail was something you'd expect from family. I will be returning here to eat before I leave Urubamba, that's for sure.
Try the mushrooms as an appetizer---they are simply amazing. I actually asked for the ingredients since I'm not sure I can go without eating them again when I return to the States. My request was met with the owner, Yudy, giving me the recipe and making sure I understood that it was the lemons that made the dish so damn spectacular (not sure I agree since I could taste at least five other equally delicious ingredients in there...).
We had the beef medallions, which were cooked to perfection, and the side of quinoa mixed with lima beans (and other delectable stuff of which I'm not quite sure) was surprisingly tasty----I usually cringe at the thought of eating quinoa but they worked a little magic with it. Prices were very reasonable and the experience was top notch. Go, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroGaldos, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Qanela Restaurante, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Thank you very much!! Hope you really enjoyed the time!!
Qanela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food, welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved our meal at Qanela! The restaurant was suggested by the concierge at our hotel. If you don't see the restaurant sign right away, keep looking. It is definitely worth the effort! Our server was the owner/chef's daughter and she was great. Very friendly and helpful with the menu. We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Everything was fresh and delicious. I had the ravioli and they were superb! The prices are very reasonable and the quality is outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillmd227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroGaldos, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Qanela Restaurante, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Thanks! Hope you come back again! We do preciate your visit!
Qanela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Value, Nice Place”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Not a fancy restaurant and prices are very reasonable. Food quality was great, is like eating at someones house. The owner herself greeted and waited on us through dinner. Complementary Lima bean were great, Potatoes for appetizer were very taste even though the sauces were nothing special. Chupe de Quino was great. Mushroom Ceviche was amazing. Main dish had Ocro with Trout and was great. Do recommend this homestyle restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroGaldos, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Qanela Restaurante, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Google Translation
We appreciate your visit!
Qanela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Local home cooked food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for a small local restaurant and the hotel recommend Qanela. Just off the main plaza up a small narrow road the owners welcome you into what it feels like their own home. A large wood burning fire in the corner relaxes you after a day of sites. All food is home cooked and very fresh I had stir fry Alpaca which was fantastic, but my husband and daughter agreed that the lasagne was to die for. Exactly what we were looking for and not expensive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank brittexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlejandroGaldos, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Qanela Restaurante, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Hope you really enjoyed the food and visit!
Best Regards,
Qanela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qanela Restaurante also viewed

 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Qanela Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing