We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to brag about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
323 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Its a lovely little and clean hotel, surrounded by an amazing mountain view. Thats all i can find positive.
Our room had two floors, tv and tiny bathroom downstairs and full bed and heater upstairs. I can not find all the words I would like to write down about the inconvenience of this.
We asked fot towels and it only took them 4 hous to bring them!
Breakfast is nothing but normal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    168
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
98
166
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night on our way to machuppichu,we arrived in the afternoon and the staff was very polite & friendly, right away they took care of our luggage and as soon as we were done cking in a nice lady offered us tea, I really appreciated the gesture after many days of touring Peru we were feeling tired also the room was spacious and clean; nice bathroom; later that night we went to their restaurant and sat close to the fire place, the food was fresh homemade delicious!, they also have wi-if and a nice lounge where you can relax with your family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

An old monastery with lots of charm and history. The rooms were very comfortable and the beautiful gardens were enjoyable to stroll through or just sit, relax and enjoy. A car is necessary as the hotel is not immediately handy to restaurants or tourist locations. We ate in the restaurant and I would rate the food and service as fair. However, I would stay here again but look for alternative places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaraHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet spot, beautiful old buildings and picturesque courtyards and lovely chapel adjoining. Staff very helpful, though a little challenged by English!
Good breakfast, but did not try the dinner, though the restaurant looks very nice. Do go to Tres Keros in the town, fantastic.
The rooms are a bit mixed. Some are very nice with pleasant views over courtyards, other are very poor - avoid the triple rooms (no 300's) dark and dingy. Generally not terribly well designed but pleasant enough. Wifi was excellent when working but had been off a while when we arrived.
Overall good for a couple of days while exploring the Sacred Valley.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south riding,va
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is setup in a serene and majestic surrounding.
very nice setting also.
staff not very competent in the restaurant and needed help from us to help us calculate the bill?.
anyway the place is great to relax for 1-2 days .
overall all other staff were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place for couples. Not much going on around the town, but this hotel is a unique experience. Very quiet and great resting place. Food was good, but go early, they take a while. Go to their gardens and pick their fruit!!!! Their inka trout was pretty good.

Make sure you stay in the 100's rooms.

great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights (three adults, two rooms) and were impressed by the surrounding scenery more than anything, although our rooms were atmospheric, the garden was very pleasant, the food was fine and we appreciated the wifi. The huge shower in our room was impossible to use without some spillage into the rest of the bathroom, but that's the only complaint we can report. The bedroom was small but it had everything necessary (and including a small refrigerator (where we kept bottles of water). The hotel is near the Sacred Valley of the Incas, which was the reason we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
2.0 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#15 of 26 in Urubamba
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel

Property: San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Address: Jr. Recoleta s/n | Cuzco, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#8 Family Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urubamba is located to 76 km from Cusco, it is a stunning valley with an incredible scenic beauty, and historical heritage, thanks to its excellent location, it becomes the best starting point to visit Machu Picchu (just an hour and a half by train).The Recoleta Hotel is a historical religious monument built up in the XVII century. This charming Boutique hotel in the Sacred Valley of the Incas was and is the mixed races purest example of the colonial art. The Recoleta Hotel, cautiously remodeled in 2007, has all ascetic, monastic, and magical tradition of an ancient monastery, together with the comfort and technology will make you feel part of the spiritual mysticism of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. The Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel is nearby the most important ruins of the Sacred Valley of the Incas such as Ollantaytambo, Pisac and Maras Moray. Its convenient location attracts travelers because it is ideal for acclimatization to the Cusco altitude, and for its pleasant climate and low altitude (2.700 m.a.s.l.), 700 m.a.s.l. less than Cuzco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Monasterio De La Recoleta Hotel Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing