We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice grounds being a former monastery. Staff are quite helpful. Rooms were nice and bathrooms clean but high ceiling made both rooms a bit cold. Since we had a 5 am pick-up to catch the train for Machu Picchu, hotel had breakfast ready by 4:30 and there were a number of other guests who took advantage of it. We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed another day. The main town of Urubamba is a 15-min walk and about 5 mins by tuktuk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mart63nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

When our taxi turned down this dirt road, I thought it was a mistake but there was the sign for the hotel. The one lane road is dotted with pot holes and ruts and I was worried about bottoming out as we watched a bus slowly make its way out. First impression, they need a better entrance or should we say a real road/driveway with some curb appeal.

At the end of this dirt road one encounters the walls of the old monastery and is relieved that there is actually a hotel. Upon passing through the gate, there is no indication of where reception is as the most prominent entrance is the door to the chapel. Note that the door to reception is to the left of the chapel and slightly hidden around a corner.

Reception: Speak Spanish and already have plans for the Urubamba area as they will not be of much help. Also, allow extra time at check out as they may not have your correct bill and their invoicing system is confusing.

WiFi: Supposedly throughout the hotel but reception only worked for me in the computer room.

Restaurant: Probably best to dine out for dinner as the food is quite average. The buffet breakfast was better and offered a variety of hot dishes.

Bar: Area with sofas and a small bar with a glass wall towards the courtyard.

Grounds: Pretty

Rooms: Average with hard mattress, small bathrooms, inconvenient bathtubs and little hot water. We had a loft room with a sitting area downstairs and bedroom up. Note that you will have to leave the bathroom light on at bedtime as the bathroom is on the lower level.

Cleaniless: Needs improvement and someone to teach the staff how to clean around a faucet.

Overall: I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_r_h_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

San Agustin Monasterio formerly a monastery, beautiful building, very nice grounds and quiet. Rooms are clean and very spacious. Has a business centre with free internet access. Service in restaurant was not prompt. Hotel is a 10 minute walk into Urubamba.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vind63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The San Augustin Monasterio hotel is built in a former Monastery. It is a very comfortable place that is attractive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the edge of Urubamba, but taxis are inexpensive so it is inexpensive to get to anywhere in town.

My room was spacious and comfortable with a large rock wall in the back and a glass walled shower giving you plenty of light. Recommended for a visit to the Sacred Valleyl.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel had very nice rooms and grounds. You do not notice the nice facilities until you get past the front door. Service was average and a good breakfast came with the room. When trying to exchange dollars into Solis, their rate was .60 less than anywhere else. Recommend you find another location for dollar exchanges. Had a funny experience playing pool with six missing balls on an uneven snooker table. Very challanging!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mireya Bernal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very good service throughout the hotel and whilst we only took in breakfast it was an excellently appointed buffet. Being a monastery many years ago its a beautiful building with delightful grounds. Located in a peaceful position about 10 minutes walk into Urubamba centre. The rooms are very different and to a high standard. Free business centre and coca tea/coffee. Enough English speaking staff in the areas that matter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyUrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The whole grounds are really beautiful, but the rooms or I should say bathrooms leave something to desire. The shower sprays water all over the bathroom, it's an open concept, and needs renovating. The walkways are cobblestones so your suitcase is bumped along, and the breakfasts are sub-par. That first night I had the worst headache of my life due to the altitude, so get meds before you go and take them.

Room Tip: You really don't have a lot of choice in this area, there are not a lot of 5 star hotels in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
6 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
San Agustin Urubamba Hotel
#19 of 29 in Urubamba
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
5.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Valle Sagrado Urubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel

Address: Jr. Recoleta s/n | Cuzco, Urubamba, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#7 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $83 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urubamba is located to 76 km from Cusco, it is a stunning valley with an incredible scenic beauty, and historical heritage, thanks to its excellent location, it becomes the best starting point to visit Machu Picchu (just an hour and a half by train).The Recoleta Hotel is a historical religious monument built up in the XVII century. This charming Boutique hotel in the Sacred Valley of the Incas was and is the mixed races purest example of the colonial art. The Recoleta Hotel, cautiously remodeled in 2007, has all ascetic, monastic, and magical tradition of an ancient monastery, together with the comfort and technology will make you feel part of the spiritual mysticism of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. The Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel is nearby the most important ruins of the Sacred Valley of the Incas such as Ollantaytambo, Pisac and Maras Moray. Its convenient location attracts travelers because it is ideal for acclimatization to the Cusco altitude, and for its pleasant climate and low altitude (2.700 m.a.s.l.), 700 m.a.s.l. less than Cuzco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Agustin Monasterio de la Recoleta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin Monasterio De La Recoleta Hotel Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing