We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie Set meets Land of the Lost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Star State
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Movie Set meets Land of the Lost”
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed two nights at Sol y Luna on our way to Machu Picchu. It took a full day to get past the surreal feel of this charming place. The lush grounds are full of life and absolutely covered with the most beautiful flowers one has ever seen. Almost a tad Alice and Wonderland with respect to the color variety. You are surrounded by mountains.

The individual casitas are both traditional and modern. Very quiet and comfortable.

The spread at the breakfast buffet was a complete surprise...far...far...from your standard continental type. Very exotic with a European influence.

The restaurant was okay, but very pricey. While Urubamba is small, there are 2-3 other restaurants in town that are much more reasonable and the cab fare is about 3 soles or 1USD. We loved El Huacatay restaurant!!!!

The bar was great by virtue of ambiance and of course the special nectars. The bartender has competed in international mixology contests. Huge variety of pisco concoctions...to include a pisco moonshine of sorts that coca leaves have been soaking in for an indeterminate amount of time...be prepared to see your future. :>

We had a few spa treatments including facials and the jacuzzi.
The facial was blissful and we found ourselves coming in/out of consciousness. Hmn...
The jacuzzi/hot tub is a paid service, not a part of the general amenities of the hotel, but well worth the extra cost. We were surprised by our 8pm reservation and finding it in complete darkness with only candles to lead the way. Very relaxing and clearly romantic. The room is encased in stain glass. Stunning...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperModo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    157
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
297
637
51
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We were looking for a perfect and trouble-free vacation to Peru. This was to be my first-ever vacation outside of North America. Sol y Luna was one stop during our 10 -day trip. But it proved to be one of the most magical. After thinking about a Marriage proposal in Machu Picchu I was so moved by the beauty of this location , that one night I dropped to my knees and asked the big question. That is the power of the sacred valley.
The "casitas" round cabana style rooms were clean and comfortable, the gardens around each suite were imaculate and offfered views of numerous birds including humming birds
After waking up to the sounds of nature you can enjoy a wonderfully prepared breakfast at the main restaurant. We were fortunate in that we were travelling during the rainy season and for that reason we were two of maybe 4 people staying at the hotel. The staff were wonderful and always treated us with great care. in the main dining room you can sit near a cozy fire as you enjoy any of their many fabulous dishes for me it was the ceviche. But it didn't stop there. My Fiance is a food lover, has dined at many of the finest establishments in the Washington DC area and elsewhere. She let me know one night that she had just had the best meal of her life! That in my book is high praise indeed.

If you have a chance to stay somewhere pior to going on to Machu Picchu Give this Hotel /Spa your serious consideration It is doubtful you will find a better, more relaxing establishment!

PS I forgot to mention that they have horses on the premisses.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxit2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_stenning, Resident Manager at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property.

On behalf of the management and staff at the Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your forthcoming wedding.

In all other respects, your comments and feedback are appreciated and I was most delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick Stenning
Resident Manager
Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This hotel is BEAUTIFUL!!! I was a little worry about staying here because some reviews on this forum complaint about food poisoning, but all those worries vanished as soon as I got there. The place is immaculous!!! Take some time to wonder around the place and enjoy the gardens and the scenery and mountainous backdrops. The manager mentioned that they have free morning bird watching sessions.

My favorite part is that you can reserve the sauna/steamroom for private use. I have never seen that before and thought it was an awesome idea. The food was very good but the portions was small - so you may need an app, entree, and dessert to be full.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foody1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_stenning, Resident Manager at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations at every opportunity. Thank you very much.

Patrick A. Stenning
Resident Manager
Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed in Sol y Luna for one night and just wished that we were staying there for a longer period of time. The hotel is pretty exclusive, with only 29 bungalows, you'll never see a crowd. We also booked a spa service at night, and they only serve 2 people at a time. If you book it, you can literally reserve the jacuzzi and sauna area for your use only. We felt completely pampered. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens, and it is a breathtaking view in every angle. The manager of the hotel also walks around greeting all the guests.. you can just be strolling around and be greeted by Patrick. It was just a lovely experience.

We also had dinner and breakfast here as well. Food was good, no compliants. We really enjoyed our stay here... if I ever go back, I woul definitely come back to this place again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dededa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_stenning, Resident Manager at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
Thank you so much for all your nice comments. We really enjoyed having you at the hotel. We greatly appreciate your thought and opinions regarding our service.

Nice meeting you.

Yours sincerely,
Patrick A. Stenning
Resident Manager
Sol y Luna Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Our group of five couples had a great stay here. Gorgeous gardens, fine food, helpful staff, and quite nice bungalows. We ate at the hotel our first night. Our second night, we walked over and had a dinner at their new development and saw the horse show. Absolutely no complaints from us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I struggle to understand the good reviews of this place. The up side: gorgeous gardens and an unusually good restaurant. But the rooms were miserable - spartan, cold, and with nothing that you could describe as comfortable. Fine, you're in a rural location and so there to relax but having been - no exaggeration - kicked out of the bar area at 9:50pm, there was nothing to do apart from sit in this rather stingy room and wait until falling asleep. We had a look at the spa but it was pretty claustrophobic, and the prices were hilariously outlandish. Plus the staff were unpleasant, frequently rude, and never helpful. We'd been booked in here for two nights - one on the way towards Machu Picchu, and another on the way back to Cusco, and it really put a downer on this bit of the trip. To be honest, there's no need to stay around here if you're pressed for time, and especially not at this place. If the travel agent recommends it - just say no kids! Get yourselves to Cusco or Machu Picchu or wherever else it is you're going, and give this trap the widest of berths.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank quintopino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_stenning, Resident Manager at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Comments and feedback provided by the great majority of our guests are excellent and our goal always is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.
We wish you have enjoyed yours stay with us. Your feedback is very important and it means there is plenty of room for improvement. We can take action and remedy to solve out the feelings you got during your stay and other problems you are mentioning.
I wish I would have been at the hotel at the time of your visitt, since I was appointed Resident Manager on December 1st, 2009. It will be our pleasure to have you, or your family or friends in Urubamba soon. We will make sure you all have a pleasant stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Patrick A. Stenning
Resident Manager
Sol y Luna Lodge & Space
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We spent 5 nights here doing day tours in the Sacred Valley. The set-up with individual bungalows in a beautiful, tranquil garden full of humming birds suited us perfectly. The service was excellent, with staff responding to requests promptly and competently. The rooms are spacious and clean with high quality modern bathrooms. The food was good and although fairly expensive it is par for the course in this type hotel in Peru. You have the option of a short taxi ride into town and cheaper eats if you prefer. Like most high end hotels here they do forget that sometimes you would just like a plain ham sandwich. There was no snack menu - this would really improve the choice. Breakfasts were good with quality fresh fruit. Can't comment on the spa or horse riding as didn't use either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 26 in Urubamba
744 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing