We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inti Nan Hotel(Urubamba)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,488)
Filter reviews
1,488 results
Traveler rating
1,248
175
34
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
175
34
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse showcasual restaurantindividual casitasperuvian paso horseshot water bottlessacred valleymachu picchuhorseback ridinghumming birdseach eveningtwo nightsmain restaurantbeautiful flowersturn down servicebeautiful oasisour honeymoonfavorite hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,488 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having read some of the poorer reviews we found the staff courteous and friendly and had none of the problems some had encountered. Our casita was large and comfy with excellent shower facilities. OK there was no television....so what...who comes to a location like this in The Andes to watch TV. Not us. We liked not having one.
What makes this place is the location...a garden paradise set in The Sacred Valley...surrounded by magnificent mountains. The gardens are amazing...a mass of flowers...even at the end of Summer...and loads of birdsong waking you up in the morning. The stables were also well tended with the horses looking fit and healthy.
The restaurant was full every night....there aren't many places nearby except in the village...but the food was varied and good. Again the staff was attentive and friendly.
We really enjoyed our two nights here...and the only reason I have not given it 5 stars is the cost of drinks. I agree with other reviewers that this is exorbitant with a G&T and a bottle of wine with dinner costing a fortune. We put up with it as we were on holiday but we certainly couldn't afford a longer stay!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emlyn8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Emlyn8484,

How wonderful that you enjoyed your casita!
You seem to understand our sentiments about the television exactly :)
There is so much to do and see around the Sacred Valley that generally no one seems to notice the television even when it is present. The flowers and mountains of Urubamba tend to provide plenty of entertainment. We are excited to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive.
Unfortunately foreign alcohol is quiet expensive to import especially up here into the Andes. We sincerely apologize if you found the cost to be exorbitant. Thank you for your compliments and for your critiques. It's important to us to constantly improve our services and provide the best accommodations possible to our guests.

We wish you all the very best and thank you once again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

The Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is a hidden gem in the middle of Urubamba. Great place for rest and relaxation whether your hiking or touring the Sacred Valley or on your way to Macchu Picchu. Beautifully designed cabins, immaculate hotel grounds, and delicious food....every single detail taken care of by their friendly and attentive staff. Property loaded with blooming flowers that will guarantee plenty of hummingbird sitings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 991lizs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Liz S,

We are grateful to know that you had such a positive experience with us at Sol & Luna.
Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a relaxing time and that you enjoyed the the beautiful scenery here in the Sacred Valley.
Our chef will also be happy to know you enjoyed your meals and that our staff treated you so well.
We hope you will come stay with us again if you decide on another trip to Macchu Picchu!

All the best,


The Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived at around 20.30 and checked out at 05.30 so not a lot of time to make a real judgement but overall a superb location, great setting and very comfortable. Wifi did not work in the room as signal not strong enough but fine in reception. We eat in the pub/restaurant and had a lovely meal of king prawns. About 25 minutes drive from the station so handy location. The setting is fantastic and the pool looked great....only wish we had more time.

Room Tip: near to reception for wifi signal
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear 1468VX,

Thank you for your lovely post,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your accommodation in the hotel.
It’s very important to us that our guests have a comfortable place to rest before or after visiting Machu Picchu, so they can thoroughly enjoy their holiday.
We too wish you could have stayed longer and had time to visit our SPA and our business center where we provide access to computers and a faster internet connection.

Thank you again for sharing your experience in Sol & Luna!

We wish you the best,
Sincerely,

The Sol & Luna team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Who knew such a gorgeous haven existed in the Sacred Valley? The gates open onto a secret refuge. First, your senses are overwhelmed by the amazing gardens with immaculately maintained lawns… There were many flowers I had never seen before -- and the hummingbirds are plentiful.
Then, you are delighted by the casitas, which are large and well-appointed. After a day touring, we welcomed a relaxing, massage by a skillful therapist. Imagine our delight when we were surprised by a hot water bottle delivery -- aah, a heavenly touch! The staff lit large candles on our patio as the daylight faded. Our wifi connection was perfect.
The staff was delightful from check-in through our check-out after two nights. They even contacted the artist who sculpted the whimsical art we admired throughout the premises -- I fell in love and wanted to take a piece home. In addition, the staff was happy to light a fire for us when the weather became a little drizzly -- cozy!
The breakfast buffet was delicious -- and the chef was happy to make something more. His scrambled eggs were yummy ---- I recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior Room if you can.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLCJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear LLCJ54,

Wow! Many thanks for taking the time out of your day to tell us about your experience at Sol & Luna. We are elated to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us. It's always a delight to know our guests have been taken care of. Our goal is to insure that you feel at home and cared for as you travel around Urubamba and the Sacred Valley.
We are also big fans of Frederico Bauer. His work warms the atmosphere and what better souvenir then an original piece of artwork from the people who make the Sacred Valley such a wonderful place to be.
Thank you again for your shining review. We hope that you will remember us with a smile when reminiscing about your travels here in Peru.

All the Best,
The Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We loved everything about Sol y Luna. The little houses are beautiful, as are the gardens. The food was dynamite. The only reason I'm not giving an excellent is b/c we had ongoing problems with the shower ... hot water wouldn't stay on, then freezing, then burning. They "fixed" it but didn't. Also, I had a most amazing facial in the spa. If you are in Urubamba I'd stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Susanagogo,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience,
It’s nice to hear that you really enjoyed the food in our restaurant we take great pride in catering for all people. We are glad you appreciated the houses too; we like to make people feel at home as well as bringing in a little touch of the Peruvian culture.
We do apologise about the shower it is unfortunate that you had to deal with this during your stay, and feel confident in saying this problem will not occur again.
That is great you enjoyed your facial, should you visit again be sure to check out our other treatments, in particular the Sol y Luna pack which includes massage plus facial!

Once again, thank you for your comment we really appreciate and take into consideration our clients feedback.

Kind regards,


The Sol y Luna team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews