We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was good enough for Bono!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Global
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It was good enough for Bono!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Bono reportedly stayed here during his recent trip to Peru. He was in lodge 40 which was also our room. Secluded on the edge of the property with private hot tub with great views of the Andes above. The lodge is about 110 sq meters or c1200 sq feet. So basically very big! Separate living room and luxurious bathroom. Open fire places in both living room and bedroom that staff will set up for you on demand. Cannot fault this place. Excellent service, great comfort overall.

The spa is nice, but contrary to advice that we were given it does not have a couples massage room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your splendid review of our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed your Premium casita and the service we provide.

Hopefully on your next trip to Peru, you can visit us again for some relaxing time.

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    153
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
282
606
48
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at 4 different hotels during our trip through Peru, and this was our favorite. Beautiful small resort tucked away right outside Urabamba. Gorgeous well manicured grounds with these incredibly charming bungalows spread throughout. The rooms are spacious and clean, with new/updated bathrooms. The staff is excellent, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. Watch the sunset along the mountains while drinking a glass of wine on your private porch.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MjM1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review of our propertty with our future visitors.

We hope that you can come back again to enjoy your casita, the sunset on the porch and our food and service we provide.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a suite which was outstanding. Large and luxurious. We had a real fire each evening and hot water bottles are left under your pillow. We had our own garden with a sun lounger. The service was outstanding. The horse show whilst eating lunch (guinea pig which was delicious) was very good. We have stayed in a lot of good hotels, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc and this hotel was as good as any of these. The swimming pool is small but there is so much to do and see in the area we did not need to swim. One tip is to make sure you have a guide to collect you, show you the area and return you to the hotel each day. The hotel is in its own grounds in the countryside and there isn't a lot of public transport. Plus a guide is best to help you identify the best sightseeing in the area and guide you round in private transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sol & Luna with our future visitors and for enjoying our facilities and services.

We would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Peru in order for you to enjoy your room, the horseshow, the gardens and our personalized service.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A splendid hotel just outside the town of Urubamba. Lovely large bedrooms with open fire and excellent bath/shower room. Friendly helpful staff and very pretty grounds. Small pool, cold but as expected. Good seating area to watch over private garden and the wildlife. Nice bar and two good places to eat. If you need a hotel when doing the sites around the area, you'd be hard pressed to get any better.
Town is a short walk, 20 mins and an interesting insight into the local life. Taxi (tuk tuk) ride back is about £1.00, with a tip!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a flattering review of Sol & Luna.

We would be more than happy to see you stay with us again so that you can revel in your casita, our gardens, the gastronomy and the service we provide in your little piece of paradise!

We hope to see you back!

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The grounds are lush, well manicured gardens. The rooms are fabulous suites. The bathrooms are beautifully design with an "open concept" feel. The floors are heated. As the evenings are very cool this is a great feature. They also bring a hot water bottle for the bed at turndown. Loved that. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The two restaurants ont he property are very good. The staff are very helpful and professional. Went horseback riding. The horses are beautiful and the guides very nice. Spa service was lovely. The only negative would be the pool. Unheated and essentially unswimmable given the temperature. Went for a walk around outside the grounds. Would not recommend. Seemed very sketchy and certainly nothing to see.

Room Tip: get a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious casita, the gardens and the service we provide.

It is great that you took a horseback riding excursion with us and that you enjoyed our gastronomy.

It was a pleasure having you and we hope that on your next trip to Peru, you visit us again.

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed two nights prior to visiting Machu Picchu and loved it. The food was great, the service was very good and the bungalows were spacious, clean and well decorated. The landscaping was visually breathtaking. The lodge has a great location for exploring other attractions such as Ollayantatambo, Mares and Moray in the Sacred Valley. Lunch with the Paso horse show at Wayra Ranch was outstanding. The horse show was nice for ambiance but not otherwise notable. Dinners were excellent, food quality and presentation was outstanding. Wine prices seemed a bit high. Overall, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwcorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our property and for your recommendation.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we are glad that you liked your casita, the gardens and the food and service we provide.

We sincerely hope to see you back one day!

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - a good thing - as you want time to unwind here and just enjoy the beautiful setting, pretty gardens and your lovely casita. We stayed in one of their premium ones - uber luxury with its own hot tub/jacuzzi, huge bathroom, lounge, bedroom and generous hallway. Nothing cramped about this place. The surrounding mountains are stunning and the gardens are well maintained and lovely to wander around. Nice stables too with very fine horses you can visit and help feed. There are two restaurants - one "formal" where you have breakfast and the other "more casual" located near the stables. We ate at the latter on our first night which was fine but a little "soul-less" if I'm honest. We enjoyed going out to Ollyantaytambo for a bite to eat on our second night - a taxi ride away - really worth visiting. A very friendly, bustling town with a good range of eateries and coffee bars and we enjoyed a fun evening there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and our future visitors.

We are glad that you could take full advantage of your casita, enjoyed the gardens and that you liked our ranch with horses.

We hope you can come back one day to stay with us again.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing