We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Myself and my husband spent a night here on our honeymoon. This hotel was booked for us by our tour company and so I had not done much research before we arrived.
We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived here. Our room was a little hut within what looked like a botanical garden. Surrounded by trees and flowers we quickly took our cameras out and got snap happy walking around the grounds. We even saw hummingbirds and got some nice shots :-)
We ate at the restaurant there and it was delicious. Had we not been exhausted I am sure we would have enjoyed the bar area too.
Definitely a must see if you are in the area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishSiouxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that Sol & Luna was part of your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your time with us!

We hope that next time you come for a longer stay so that you can enjoy the gardens, the hummingbirds and the food again, this time also trying our bar.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Sol y Luna for 6 nights in May. Wonderful place to stay , quiet, and the grounds are very well maintained. The staff is very friendly and the people at the front desk always there to help you. Nice place to stay to adjust to the altitude instead of Cusco. We flew in Cusco and drove to Sol y Luna right away . No problem with altitude adjustment. From the Hotel did a day trip to Macchu Picchu, another day to visit Willoq and Patacancha (very nice place if you want to see the people still wearing the traditional costume and see how people leave at 12400 feet.
Also visited Ollantaytambo, Pisac market , saltpans, and did some horseback riding which they offered at the hotel. Stayed in the deluxe room which was very nice. Lots of hummingbirds at the hotel. At night it gets to be a little cold in the room but you just have to turn the thermostat for the heat (heating done from the floor) and you are OK for the night. Also the staff will place a hot water bottle in the bed every night which is nice. You can walk to Urubamba, use the main road or the back streets at the back of the hotel . We used the back streets since you get to see the locals work the fields etc.... Had dinner a few nights at Wayra one of the restaurant at the hotel which was very good. They use the same menu for lunch and dinner so if you don't eat a big meal for lunch than lunch gets to be a bit expensive because the price for a pasta meal is only a few dollars more than a bowl of soup. Went to Urubamba for dinner one night at El Huacatay very good and price were just a bit less than the hotel. Can use motortaxi from Urubamba town to go back to hotel 5 minutes away and cost about 1-2$ US. So we recommand this hotel if you want to have a very nice place to stay, quiet, and help your body with the altitude. We were a bit sad when we left.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBreviews_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a great review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the Sacred Valley, the service our staff provides, your casita and the nature in our gardens.

The menu in Wayra for lunch and dinner is not the same as you state and the options for lunch and dinner thus vary, as well as their price options.

Either way, we hope that you visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Sol y Luna Lodge and Spa was a true highlight of our 8-day trip to Peru and Ecuador! My husband and I spent two magical nights there while we were touring the Sacred Valley, and we wish we could have spent many more! First of all, the staff is amazing! From check-in to dining to spa, we received nothing but the best of care. We ate in both restaurants -- the food, service, and ambiance at both were superlative. We watched the Peruvian horse show during dinner one night, and it was very entertaining. The casitas were clean, spacious, and extremely comfortable -- we even received heated hot water bottles each night! Peace and quiet permeate the place and made for excellent night's sleep. The grounds are some of the most beautiful on earth -- meticulously kept lawns, trees, and flowers -- imagine Eden, and you have Sol y Luna! I treated myself to a facial -- advertised to be 55 minutes, but the wonderful aesthetician treated me for much longer! My husband and I would fly right back to Peru just to sequester ourselves again in that amazing place! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twaldspurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review! We are delighted that everything was to your linking and that you want to come back for a longer stay. Please do, so that we can take care of you again in our Eden!

Thank you so much for enjoying the horse show, your spa session, the gardens, your casita, the food and the service we provide. Thank you also for stating that we were the highlight of your trip to Peru & Ecuador.

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sol y Luna Lodge is set in beautiful grounds and the circular bungalow rooms are quaint and sort of ethnic in decor. The food and service in the equally circular restaurant and bar was welcoming and good. Our stay was marred by the coldness of the bungalow. The oil fired room heater had not been switched on prior to our arrival so it took an hour to raise the temperature. Unlike a previous reviewer - we were not offered a hot water bottle - which would have been welcome. Finally, as a traveller, it would have been good to send some laundry. We did not as the cost was excessive. An example laundry list price was a shirt at USD$ 12. 4 sets of shirts, socks and underwear would have cost just short of US$ 100 less tax etc. The beauty of Sol y Luna overode most of this bad impression so score 4 rather than 3.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of our property and for enjoying the casita, the restaurant and the food.

You are correct, the heater should have been turned on prior to your arrival and you should definitely have received the warm water bottles for your bed. We are going to ensure that this does not happen again.

We hope you return so that you can experience Sol & Luna again - this time for a warmer stay!

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel left me with an interesting impression. The lodge grounds are as beautiful as it gets, a community of casitas (or as we in America would call it, bungalows), with pathways lined with fresh roses and a backdrop of the beautiful mountains of Sacred Valley. We stayed in one of the bungalows in the back of the grounds, and we discovered in the room... not very much of anything. Normally we are used to having a tv, radio, or some sort of entertainment, but our room did not include any of those. We found out later that for most of the casitas, they are eco-friendly aka no excessive waste of electricity. So in turn, we turned to good ol' fashion conversation. It was a refreshing taste of humanity. We also did have dinner at the restaurant... service was good, food was good, though lacking a bit in Peruvian authenticity, maybe they were going for some sort of fusion. Overall the stay was nice, but please do go and see yourself, just be prepared for a very silent night.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mimilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for enjoying the grounds, the service and the food.

Thank you also for recommending us to other travelers.

We hope to see you back on your next trip to Peru.

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wonderful gardens. We took lots of pictures of flowers and birds as we walked around the garden. Staff were fantastic. We stayed two nights but could have done with longer, just to relax amidst the site-seeing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your impression of Sol & Luna and for enjoying the gardens and the natural setting we provide.

Hope you can come back one day, as you wrote, to spend more quality time with us.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Once you've checked in your led through luxurious gardens to your beautiful and very comfortable casita. Both restaurants provided excellent food and service. My wife and sister-in-law both had massages which they said were "marvelous".
Make sure you check to see what, if any, special events may be happening at the hotel - especially at the equestrian center.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gerry98230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for ranking us so high amongst all the places in Peru!

We are pleased you enjoyed your meals and that your wife and sister-in-law enjoyed their massages.

Hope to see you back in Sol & Luna on your next trip to Peru.

Best Regards,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
793 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
18.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
6.3 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $188 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing