We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cold comfort”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Sol y Luna Lodge is set in beautiful grounds and the circular bungalow rooms are quaint and sort of ethnic in decor. The food and service in the equally circular restaurant and bar was welcoming and good. Our stay was marred by the coldness of the bungalow. The oil fired room heater had not been switched on prior to our arrival so it took an hour to raise the temperature. Unlike a previous reviewer - we were not offered a hot water bottle - which would have been welcome. Finally, as a traveller, it would have been good to send some laundry. We did not as the cost was excessive. An example laundry list price was a shirt at USD$ 12. 4 sets of shirts, socks and underwear would have cost just short of US$ 100 less tax etc. The beauty of Sol y Luna overode most of this bad impression so score 4 rather than 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of our property and for enjoying the casita, the restaurant and the food.

You are correct, the heater should have been turned on prior to your arrival and you should definitely have received the warm water bottles for your bed. We are going to ensure that this does not happen again.

We hope you return so that you can experience Sol & Luna again - this time for a warmer stay!

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    157
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
296
629
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel left me with an interesting impression. The lodge grounds are as beautiful as it gets, a community of casitas (or as we in America would call it, bungalows), with pathways lined with fresh roses and a backdrop of the beautiful mountains of Sacred Valley. We stayed in one of the bungalows in the back of the grounds, and we discovered in the room... not very much of anything. Normally we are used to having a tv, radio, or some sort of entertainment, but our room did not include any of those. We found out later that for most of the casitas, they are eco-friendly aka no excessive waste of electricity. So in turn, we turned to good ol' fashion conversation. It was a refreshing taste of humanity. We also did have dinner at the restaurant... service was good, food was good, though lacking a bit in Peruvian authenticity, maybe they were going for some sort of fusion. Overall the stay was nice, but please do go and see yourself, just be prepared for a very silent night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for enjoying the grounds, the service and the food.

Thank you also for recommending us to other travelers.

We hope to see you back on your next trip to Peru.

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wonderful gardens. We took lots of pictures of flowers and birds as we walked around the garden. Staff were fantastic. We stayed two nights but could have done with longer, just to relax amidst the site-seeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your impression of Sol & Luna and for enjoying the gardens and the natural setting we provide.

Hope you can come back one day, as you wrote, to spend more quality time with us.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Once you've checked in your led through luxurious gardens to your beautiful and very comfortable casita. Both restaurants provided excellent food and service. My wife and sister-in-law both had massages which they said were "marvelous".
Make sure you check to see what, if any, special events may be happening at the hotel - especially at the equestrian center.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerry98230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for ranking us so high amongst all the places in Peru!

We are pleased you enjoyed your meals and that your wife and sister-in-law enjoyed their massages.

Hope to see you back in Sol & Luna on your next trip to Peru.

Best Regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

You stay in individual casitas set in the most stunning garden in the middle of the Sacred Valley with mountains towering all around. Simply breathtaking! The staff were friendly and efficient. We were especially delighted to find hot water bottles in our bed at the evening turn down. Our casita was spacious and comfortable and we made good use of the free wi fi. There was no television, but that would have seemed superfluous in this eco setting. The library has a good selection of books on Peru and there's a spa, a shop and a small pool. We enjoyed meals in both restaurants and the lunchtime marinera display, but the breakfasts were particularly outstanding, with everything you could wish for and more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our services and installations and that the breakfast was to your liking.

Please make sure to return to enjoy Sol & Luna again.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My son, my nephew and I spent 3 delightful days in this exceptional resort, seemingly set in a Garden of Eden, surrounded by the towering peaks of the Andes, in Peru's Sacred Valley. Our casita was charming and comfortable. The staff was, without exception, friendly, helpful and professional. Guests have 2 restaurants from which to choose, both with outstanding cuisine and service. Having lunch on one of the restaurant patios one afternoon, we were treated to a wonderful show of Peruvian horsemanship on the adjoining paddock. Sol y Luna is an extraordinary place for basing one's explorations of the Sacred Valley, Cusco and Machu Pichu.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warski4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression of Sol & Luna with our future visitors.

We are thrilled to be reading about how much you enjoyed your casita, the service our staff provides, the cuisine and the paso horse show.

Please come back soon.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

All I can say is that everybody was in aw when we got to this place. It is like a beautiful garden with casitas. The decoration and the details are so beautiful and well put together. The rooms (casitas) were amazing. We had two casitas, one double and one triple. The decor is rustic with modern elements. Each piece in the room was lovely. We also had a nice backyard with a lounge area (I could have stayed there forever). They have two restaurants but we only had a chance to try one of them, Rancho Wayra, which offers a show with Paso Fino Horses. The staff was friendly and courteous. On Wednesday night the hotel had a show at night time with folkloric dances. It was really a good performance, not only the dancers, but also the light and music were very well organized.
Breakfast was included and it was delicious as well. The only thing that caught our attention was the service for breakfast. The first morning, most of the hot items were gone and were not replenished and it was only 8am. The staff was not as proactive as at the other one in Rancho Wayra. I asked for coffee and the server said that it was on the buffet table. He never offered to bring coffee for us. They seemed friendly but it felt they were just doing their job, picking up dishes. It did not match the amazing service of the rest of the hotel. Overall we had a wonderful time at Sol y Luna and we would like to go back. We will recommend this wonderful gem to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajerosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly thankful for your review of our property and for calling us the "jewel in the Sacred Valley."

We are glad you enjoyed our services and the shows.

We took note of your observations of the breakfast service and will make sure that it does not happen again.

Hope to see you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing