We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel in A Garden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Ditchling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Hotel in A Garden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were very delighted to arrive at this hotel, following a brief stay in Lima and a transit through Cusco. The travel agent had recommended an acclimatizing stay for three nights in the Sacred Valley, in order to get used to the altitude, before tackling Machu Picchu and Cusco. An excellent idea.
The location is quite stunning, in very extensive well established gardens, complete with a range of interesting local flora and fauna, including humming birds. All around the property are tall hills and mountains, one of which was snow capped with glaciers.
The hotel is made up of separate lodges throughout the grounds. Ours had an adjoining lodge and its own sitting out area, complete with recliner.
The lodge was extremely spacious and luxurious, including his and her's washbasins. The nights can get chilly at this altitude. The room had a wood burning fire. A hot water bottle was placed in the bed in the evening.
Breakfast was excellent. It was probably the best breakfast that we had in Peru. The herb omelette was a special treat.
It was a good base for our visits to the Sunday market at Pisac and to the Inca Fortress at Ollantaytambo.
The hotel has a very small pool, surrounded by comfortable loungers, next to the main restaurant.

The hotel has an adjoining property called Wayra, where you can see Paso horse demonstrations or book a half day or full day ride. We did the full day ride to Moray, Moras and Salinas, which was excellent, if a little challenging to me as a relatively novice rider. We both thoroughly enjoyed having an expert 90 minute massage in the hotel spa, after the ride and before our visit next day to Machu Pichu!

We felt very lucky that we were able to combine our evening meal at Wayra with a circus show and a Paso horse riding demonstration.

We wished that we had stayed there for longer. We would very happily stay there again and recommend it to anyone who appreciates nature, tranquility and the stunning setting.

Room Tip: Some of the Deluxe Casitas have their own Jacuzzis on the outdoor terrace. If that appeals then I su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your exhausting review of Sol & Luna.

Your words are a blessing for our hearts & minds.

May you come back one day so that we can take care of you again.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    157
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
291
616
49
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Sol y Luna was our first stay on our trip to Peru in the Sacred Valley and what an experience we had. What can be more wonderful than listening to beautiful music on our own ild with Bose dock and being given hot water bottles at night because the temperature went down to around 35 degrees. Everything about this resort was perfect - from the breakfast, the pool, the grounds, the spa and the casual dining. And, of course, the staff. Everyone was absolutely available when and if we needed questions answered. I would recommend Sol y Luna to everyone without any reservations.
Esther and Bob
USA

Room Tip: no tips - we stayed in two different rooms and both were gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTHER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impression of Sol & Luna with our future visitors.

We are glad that you enjoyed our installations and our services and would be flattered if you could visit us again in the future.

Guests like you make our effort worthwhile!

Best regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sol & Luna on an organized trip to the area to see the Ollantaytambo Fortress and other sites. The hotel is superbly located to visit all of the local historical sites. The hotel rooms are large and well appointed, the bath area was especially nice. Outside you feel like you are staying in a garden with plants of all types blooming and large hummingbirds attracted to the flowers. In the two days at the Lodge we ate both breckfast and dinners and had excellent meals featuring many fresh foods in their comfortable dinning room. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gymdawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really greateful for your flattering review.

It is great that you liked your room, the gardens and that you enjoyed your meals with us.

Please make sure to come again one day.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here during our holiday to Peru/Bolivia booked for the second year through Imagine Latin America, who again delivered a wonderful holiday experience in every way. The hotel is set in lovely gardens with lots of birds and butterflies surrounding the patio areas. the staff were very friendly/helpful and the rooms roomy and very clean. The food was very good and the ranch area with several lovely horses well worth visit. My only reservation is that there is nothing outside of the hotel and the 30 minute walk to the town centre is along a very busy and dusty road, however as for the hotel itself it can't be faulted for service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to be reading your review.

Thank you for your wonderful words about the gardens, the casitas and our staff.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and the horses in Wayra.

Hopefully you can come back again.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having travelled extensively this hotel and the wonderful 4 room units are luxe by any standard anywhere in the world. The staff are so helpful and courteous and the food in the main restaurant is of a very high standard and so fresh. The private jacuzzi was warm and a fantastically refreshing after lots of walking. Sol y Luna is 5 star with everything you need. The setting of mountains, gardens and lawns is wonderfully relaxing. Take me back there.

Room Tip: the main house/units are simply wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely impression of Sol & Luna with our future visitors.

We are truly happy that you enjoyed your casita, the jacuzzi and the food we offer.

Please make sure to come back , so that we can take care of you again,

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved Sol & Luna--even without TV! The casitas (individual buildings for the rooms) are charming, comfortable and private. The grounds and gardens are extensive and beautiful. The food is great and the staff is absolutely the best. In fact, as much as we found the sights, sounds and flavors of Peru to be worth multiple trips, the best of Peru is its people.

Sol y Luna is next to a ranch where we went for meals, horse riding demonstrations and horse rides through the local area.

All in all, we loved the resort and found it a great jumping off place for some of the most fascinating sites and shopping in the Urubamba Valley and a good place to begin acclimating to altitude prior to going higher, e.g., to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soapmanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Sol & Luna and Wayra (the ranch next door you mention).

We are thrilled you liked your casita, the gradens and the service our staff provides.

Hopefully, on your next trip to Peru you can visit us again.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sol y Luna provides a restful stop in the Sacred Valley. The rooms are in one or two unit buildings scattered throughout its gardens and lawns. The hills across the valley provide a scenic backdrop. Our room was very large but with basic rustic wooden furniture. Sol y Luna does not have any phones, TV’s, or Wi-Fi, so you can enjoy the peaceful gardens and restful rooms. Before dinner there is show on the lawn with native dancers in fantastical costumes. Take some time to just wonder the grounds and enjoy flowers, birds, and views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression of Sol & Luna with our future guests.

Thank you also for enjoying the peaceful garden that we want Sol & Luna to be. We are also glad that you liked the show.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing