We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel with wonderful gardens chosen for us by our travel company. It provided a totally relaxing environment after a day's travel. We had an upgrade and so had a private Jacuzzi in our own garden. The gardens were filled with scent, butterflies and humming birds. It has its own ranch for horse riders and both evenings we were staying there was a show. The staff were really helpful. We did not use the spa so I haven't commented on that. All together a great place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experiences with our future guests.

We are truly glad that you enjoyed your upgraded casita and the shows in Wayra.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Sol y Luna was one of the highlights of our recent three week stay in Peru. Our private backyard that came with our cabana was abundant with gorgeous flowers, butterfly's and hummingbirds. The accommodations are decorated artistically and serenely, the tub overlooks nature and outdoor beauty, the horse ranch is surreal and the amenities are top notch. The owner Petit greeted us when we arrived and her husband took my husband on a tandem para gliding excursion personally. The food is excellent (we really loved the cooking class we took with their amazing chef) and after a wonderful dinner you can return to the room with a fire lit in the fireplace for the evening. Such an amazing place to relax and prepare for the next leg to Machu Picchu. Thank you for your wonderful service and hospitality, we were sorry to leave!!!! Linda and Andy

Room Tip: The massage, pedicure and jacuzzi services in the beautiful stained glass spa were amazing!!! Mariso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baffled4232011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Linda & Andy,

Thank you very much for your review of our property and thank you for enjoying the facilities and services we offer.

Please make sure to come back one day so that we can spoil you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived in Urubamba, the Sacred Valley, a day after stopping in Cusco and experiencing a touch of altitude sickness. Reaching the Sol & Luna Lodge was like finding paradise. It was a beautiful oasis. A stone path led the way to our private casita which was just lovely--flowers everywhere and hummingbirds flitting between them. The room decor was inviting, the quality of the lodging was excellent and the meals and service left you feeling like you never wanted to leave. The setting is also marvelous down in the valley with the beautiful Andes mountain range circling it. What a wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There probably isn't a bad room at the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our property.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the gardens, your casita and the service we provide.

May the rest of your travels be just as enjoyable and we hope to see you again at Sol & Luna in the Sacred Valley.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had booked this hotel as part of a package associated with a 4 day Inca trail hike ... And frankly did little research other than relying on the travel advisor's comment of "trust me". The rooms (individual casitas) and grounds are stunning. While we did receive an upgrade to a "deluxe" room it appeared all the rooms were similarly nice. The heated floors and towel racks in the bathroom were welcome amenities. My only regret is we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing a review of our hotel and enjoying your upgraded casita.

We hope that you can come again and stay more than one night next time!

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not sure that you can really ask for much more of a hotel in this area. An amazing overall layout with great facilities; the individual lodges were excellent for what they promised to be; two great restaurants (see my separate reviews if you have time); and excellent staff.
Not sure we could have asked for more!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your impression of Sol & Luna with our future guests.

We hope that we will see you again for another stay at Sol & Luna.

Cordially,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What an unexpected oasis of loveliness! The casitas were adorable, the grounds were breathtaking, and the spa was wonderful. I didn't know I'd be stalking hummingbirds on my way to Machu Picchu!

Our stay included a theatrical production and a paso horse demonstration...not to mention a demonstration from a local weaving cooperative. And a barbecue lunch at the rancho Wayra which just kept coming. When do you stop counting courses?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your lovely review!

Thank you so much for your kind words - we are delighted that you liked what we have to offer.

We would be delighted for you to visit us again at Sol & Luna so that you can enjoy our "Garden of Eden" again.

Warmest regards,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on the way to Machu Picchu. The gardens were lovely & in bloom. It was quiet so you could hear the birds in the morning. However, the room itself was basic. There was a staircase going up to a second level with another 2 beds, which we did not use, but the extra space did make the room a little chilly. Bed was comfortable. The shower was in a bathtub that had a high side, so stepping into it would be difficult for anyone with joint problems. There were ants on the headboard area of the bed, I am sure they were harmless, but having them so near the bed was disconcerting. We had dinner at their "fine dining" restaurant & was disappointed. The food was average at not-average prices. The wifi was intermittent in the rooms, although seemed to improve after complaining. So, overall, just ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sol & Luna.

We appreciate your comments about the grounds and apologize for the ants in your room. We are making sure that it does not happen again. We also apologize that the food was not to your complete satisfaction. We usually receive great comments about the food, since we work with one of the most regarded Peruvian chefs, Pedro Miguel Shiaffino.

As far as the casita goes, it was constructed with the surrounding nature in mind. We would like to know during your stay that it was not warm enough, as we could have added an additional heater to warm the space.


The Wi-Fi can be a challenge in Urubamba and we are glad that the problem was solved to your liking.

Sincerely,

Sol & Luna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
801 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
3.1 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
6.3 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $204 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing