We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
houston
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved our time at Sol y Luna! Our Casita was very large with its own private hot tub! The bathroom had heated tiles and a heated towel rack! Everything was lovely! We enjoyed a fire in the bedroom fireplace every night....There was another fireplace in the living room.

The most beautiful gardens surround each casita and lead to the restaurant and lobby! We saw beautiful hummingbirds almost everywhere we looked.

The service was wonderful, the food was great! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your Casita.

Dont hesitate to come back to visit.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    157
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
291
616
49
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the one we used to overnight for machu picchu.

When you arrive you cant see past the wall and it looks like its just some camping site.

Once you get past the reception you can see part of the garden and you start feeling more confident in your choice of hotel. The staff is very helpfull and extremely friendly!

Once you get settled in the basic rooms without a tv and minibar you should take a walk to the "horse range" (they breed peruvian horses on the sight). You will be amazed by the garden and the view. The horses and dogs on the property only add to the country feeling. The garden has A LOT of flowers and we saw humming birds.

There are two restaurants on the property. Both are decent, nothing too special but very acceptable. The one near the horses is more of a "snack" restaurant.

The breakfast was basic but you do get the option to order custom made eggs.

The perfect place for lovebirds! ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldorado89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad you enjoyed the views, your casita and that you were able to try both restaurants.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Sol y Luna was perfect. Stunning location with mountain views all around. Beautiful landscapping, flowers in abundance and humming birds, too. Sounds like paradise and it is. Our casita (each room is a stand alone cottage) was spacious and luxurious without being pretentious. Furnishings reflected the location as did the architectu of the other buildings. W had a fireplace and each night called to have it lit while we were at dinner. The breakfast which is included was an extensive buffet. Everyone we met who worked here was friendly and helpful. I would easily plan to stay here for at least 3 nights s we did. Others who stayed one night on their way to Machupichu commented that after seeing how lovely this is they wish they had planned a longer visit. I agree.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us.

Its great to know that you loved the location, landscape and your private casita and fireplace.

We are also very glad to know that you stayed with us for more than one night.

Thanks again for making us part of your Peru vacation!

All the best from the Sol & Luna team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I along with my brother and wife spent two nights and loved every moment. The property is beautifully maintained with gorgeous flowers. The food was excellent, the service excellent, and the spa excellent. The "rooms" which are really individual cottages are well thought out and decorated in native motif. Can't say enough - it was great!

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are newer - those are the ones in which we stayed. I don't know the differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you such an amazing review.

We are glad you and your husband had a great time at Sol & Luna, that you enjoyed the food, landscape, flowers and your casita.

We do hope you can come visit again.

Thanks again and all the best from our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights on an Adventures by Disney Trip and Wow. The grounds were gorgeous. The staff, incredible. The facilities amazing. Rooms were very large, biggest complaint was the bed was a bit uncomfortable and the bar a bit pricey. You are far from most of the toursist sights but well worth it to get away and unwind. I am spoiled for any future hotel stay. And the food, was AMAZING. Nacho (the chef) was a miracle worker. Wonder down to the stables and visit with the animals. They let us hold the baby rabbits. One night we watched a show down there and another they did a cooking in the ground meal for us another night. We also ate in teh restaurant at the hotel a couple times, everything was amazing. The pool is small, and was too cold to go in when we were there (early oct). Amazing flora and fauna throughout. The rooms are all unattached bungalows, so you have a little patio and are not attached to anyone. Some rooms had an upstairs bed area as well. Nice tub. Clean. Quiet. Nice selection of breakfast in teh morning, lI think it took us about 20-30 mins to get to the train station to Machu Picchu (in Ollatuambo - pardon my spelling). Well worth being a little bit farther out for this kind of luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such an amazing review.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a great time with us, that you liked the grounds and the food and that you were assisted by our staff.

Thanks again for letting us be part of your Peru trip!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Apart from the expected cleanliness and great service, the food was also quite good. There are two restaurants and both seemed to have the same quality of food. We were not disappointed by the one close to the horses and it is a nice short walk from the room. Downside is that it is pricey but you don't have much choice in Urubamba.

The breakfast is pretty good and there are tasty treats and a variety of juices. Also, there is a small buffet of fresh herbs to add to your food and tea.

The whole complex is very nice and well kept and the only thing I didn't like very much was the fitness room... but I think I was the only person to ever work out there... so I had low expectations and was grateful that I could actually have a space to work out.

Massages are great!

A great atmosphere, recommended for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floflo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to try both of our restaurants.

Thank you for your recommendation on our fitting room.

We hope that you come back to visit.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Sol & Luna late Jan. The service was excellent on every count. Although there is no room service menu when my partner was ill they rushed a menu over from the restaurant and served us rapidly, setting up a beautiful white tablecloth service in room. (Restaurant food is very high quality.) Service was equally good in restaurant.

We made use of the lovely spa facilities, saw the horse show (Paso) at the on-site Wayru ranch and dined in the Wayru restaurant as well as the main hotel restaurant. All great experiences. breakfast is also delicious with huge variety.

The rooms are lovely, beautiful, comfortable and calming. The setting of the hotel - surrounded by mountains - is one of the most beautiful we have experienced (despite having been to many beautiful countries and mountains).

The staff are overall helpful and kind and will attend to every request possible.

Room Tip: the higher the category of room, the more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_DLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a great review.

We are sorry to learn your partner got ill but we are glad the staff was able to assist you at al times.

Thank you for you your comments on our food and facilities.

We hope you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing