We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

World class, comparable to other great resorts anywhere. Whilst remote, the location is breathtaking. Nestled in the sacred valley with snow capped peaks of the Peruvian Andes all round, and covering a large area it includes restaurants, an extraordinary wine cellar (ask to have a tour), horse stables, traditional dance and entertainment on horseback. The staff are professional, helpful and deservedly proud of the resort. We spent two days relaxing in the valley, we left the resort just once. Oh, and the food is excellent

Room Tip: Ask to see the wine cellar, or better still book the only table (larger group) in the wine cellar to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to know that you had a great time. Thanks for your comments on the staff, our horses and the overall landscape.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    157
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
297
637
51
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Sol y Luna, and it was by far our favorite hotel during our vacation to Cusco, the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, and Puno! Our group of six opted for three Deluxe Casitas, and they more than met our expectations, with a wonderful bathroom and luxurious bathtub with view of a garden, large inviting beds, and beautiful and intriguing decor. You even have your own fireplace to curl up near each night. We also saw the Standard Casitas, and I would recommend that the upgrade to the Deluxe is well worth the price.

There are plenty of great things to do while staying, from reading a book, photographing the incredible assortment of flowers throughout the gardens, or watching the Paso Horse Show that the hotel puts on. We chose to the the full day horseback riding tour of Maras and Moray, and although this was a bit more strenuous on our legs than we would have liked, it was an incredible experience nonetheless.

The food was very delicious and fresh, the staff was very friendly, and overall an incredible experience. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay a few more nights...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such an amazing review!

We are glad you got the opportunity to try a little bit of everything, and that you had the time to do an excursion in the area.

Thanks again and please come back to visit.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

...plus a truly magnificent garden.
My only regret is we stayed only one night at this beautiful property; arrived late in the afternoon and left early the next morning. Try to manage two nights here, if you can.
This is a "quirky" place, set on many acres of land and you will need to do a little bit of walking to reach the amenities offered. This is actually a delight as cobbled paths wind around gardens filled with exotic cacti and cottage flowers more associated with an English or French garden. The rooms are located in separate, round cottages/casitas, all joined by the same, cobbled paths. The furnishings are tasteful and ecofriendly. Each room has two beautifully-crafted, stained-glass windows; a sun and a moon. There are two restaurants available. Both are quite pricey and the one close to Reception is for fine dining. We chose the slightly cheaper version and walked through to the rear of the property, near the stables. We had been told there was a circus presentation that night. We ordered our meals and then were escorted to comfortable chairs in the bar area, fed canapes and enjoyed a thoroughly-polished variety of circus acts for 20 minutes. On return to our table, entrees arrived in only a few minutes. The food was of a high quality, as was the service.
The resort has horses for riding the Sacred Valley, a beautifully-appointed library and spa, plus an inviting pool surrounded by soft, red lounges. We did not have the time to enjoy these amenities and could only admire them in passing.
The French owner greeted us on arrival and took the time to show us some of the closer amenities. She later walked with us when we became a little lost, trying to find the second restaurant. Her flair for decorating was evident in the multi-coloured stucco walls, furnishings and whimsical papier mache animals and people found scattered around the resort.
We were visiting in November and the resort was quiet. Breakfast was generous and situated in a glassed room overlooking the pool area. The only complaint I could make would be when we took breakfast on the day of departure. We were early, yet had been told the breakfast room would be open for us. No-one told the waiter and he was a little surly when we knocked on the locked door. He did soon improve when he heard our delighted remarks about the food on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionessGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its great that you were able to see the circus show and the Paso Horses.

I apologyze for the slight mixup during breakfast but am glad to know it was sorted out ok.

Thanks again for your comments and dont hesitate to come again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved Sol Y Luna. The Casitas were all beautifully decorated with Peruvian art and comfortable, and they come in three levels/sizes. They are situated in an incredible garden of flowers, and superbly maintained. The staff are tops and the food is very good.
The location is in mid-vally and is an easy drive to the many attractions. For the quiet respite, and serene grounds...actually for everything else...stay here and enjoy. It is worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your casita, the artwork, the gardens and the food at Sol & Luna. It is always rewarding to read such raving reviews.

Thanks again from all the Sol & Luna team and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

About a one hour drive from Cusco to the Sacred Valley at Urubamba lies this superb hotel overlooking the Mountains, quite the most beautiful stop for a few days. Each room is circular and remained me over some of the Game Lodges in Africa (but without the Lions! ) the staff are wonderful, service excellent and the two restaurants very good with some excellent Peruvian dishes and wines. There is also a horse presentation each evening in front of the restaurant which again is fun and different from going to the local restaurant!
They have a small but excellent swimming pool and an excellent Health Spa..definitely worth a visit if you are looking for peace and quiet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad you were able to see the horseshow and experience the facilities of the property.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not stay here but enjoyed a fantastic pachamanca (underground oven) buffet lunch including coy (guinea pig), followed by a horse show.

This a very pretty place, very artistic and quite worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you were able to stop by Wayra restaurant to see the horse show.

We hope that you had an amazing time and we have you next time staying!

All the best from the Sol & Luna team ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The rooms and grounds are magnificent. The service is well meaning but disorganized. Our luggage was delivered to someone else's room. We were told that wifi did not work because there were too many guests. Yet, all in all, I would highly recommend the hotel for its beautiful gardens and tastefully decorated rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with our future guests.

We are sorry to learn that you encountered some problems with the staff. We are in constant training, making sure that all operations run smoothly and exceed expectations, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are glad you had an overall great experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 26 in Urubamba
744 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing