We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely amazing stay. Friendly and responsive staff. My facial and massage were fantastic. Gorgeous food. The best breakfast spread! Cabanas were so cute and comfy and clean. I would've stayed a longer if we weren't on our way to Machu Picchu!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for a great review! We are glad you enjoyed the food, the treatments at the Spa and the service of our staff.

We do hope you can come back and visit for a longer period of time.

Warmly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived quite late in the dark and was welcomed with a hot drink while we waited to be shown to our casitas. When the door was opened all we could say was OMG, the rooms where amazing. We must have been upgraded as it was huge with a walk in and out bathroom and a his and hers sink, a rain shower and massive bath to sink into all with L'Occitane products. The bed was wonderfully big and comfortable, the main room had an Ipod dock with a nano playing chill-out music. We had welcome chocolates and fruit, I could go on!

When we got up next morning we could take in the view, with mountains as a backdrop and the pretty grounds full of flowers. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was very good, we almost had the place to ourselves as out of season. They even laid on entertainment in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your Casita and the details we put into it.

We are also glad that you got to experience our restaurants and shows.

Thanks again and we hope to have you back at Sol & Luna sometime.

Warmly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went with our 2 kids (9 and 11 years old) stayed on 2 shared CASITAS. The decoration is superb, full of art and charm, very big. The bathroom is amazing.
The people are great. Really wanna go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sol & Luna together with your family.

We do hope you can come back soon!

All the best from the Sol & Luna team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Sol y Luna over night in own private casitas and loved the experience. It was quite and we slept with the windows open. The only sound we heard all night was an owl hooting. It's a wonderful, restful place to stay to explore the Sacred Valley. The staff was attentive and the restaurant was lovely with great food. Wish we could have stayed longer as one night was not long enough to enjoy the beautiful gardens and the numerous birds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with future guests.

We are happy to know you enjoyed the peacefullness of your casita and of the entire property.

Next time you do have to stay longer!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed early Nov 2012. Great place to stay while exploring the Sacred Valley, Cuzco, and Machu Picchu. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and accomodating...all one has to do is ask, and they are eager to please. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, and guests have access to the neighbouring property restaurant as well, and can charge the meal and bar bill to the room. Both have nice wines, by the glass or bottle. The breakfast buffet is also really nice, and opens at 4 am to accommodate guests with early start excursions. The hotel also has a spa, and a swimming pool. The bar is excellent and open late. One can also book excursions and outings, and arrange local transport through the front desk. Sol y Luna is a wonderful place to spend a few days while in this area.

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra money for a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for an excellent review!

We are very happy to know that you had an excellent time at Sol & Luna and that you got to try the restaurants and bars.

Thanks again and all the best from the Sol & Luna team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at Sol y Luna for a day for a 'holiday within a holiday' after excursions in Cusco and the Sacred Valley and before travelling on to Macchu Picchu. Our stay highlighted just how important the welcome is at a hotel, I think. On our arrival we were checked and given a brief 'tour' of the facilities at the hotel. What was pretty apparent was that 'giving the tour' wasn't something really high in the staff's agenda. Hands were waved 'restaurant over there, need to book, it's quite formal. There's another place over there,' (waving in the opposite direction) 'that's more easy going.' Pointed towards the spa 'Let us know in advance if you want to us it'. We were then walked to room, past the mini streets of terracotta coloured bungalows which, for my tastes we just a little too close together. At no point had we been told about any excursions or activities that the lodge might offer. No fresh flowers in the room (which were alluded to in the brochure in the room), slightly surprised to find no TV but that was not a big deal. Dissappointed to find that wifi was intermittent, but there were hummingbirds amidst the beautiful gardens. I walked around the lodge but failed to find the second restaurant so I went back to reception. The man there asked slightly incredulously 'You want me to show you where it IS?', 'Well ... Yes please'. I was taken along a winding path and then he stopped. 'It's down there' he pointed and turned back to reception. 'I just stay on this path?' 'Yes yes' and offer went. I continued, and after staying on the path for a while found my self looping back towards reception. I tried again. On my third attempt I found that I had to go through gates ina wall to what looked like an adjacent property and across a padlock. It was only at this point that it was clear to me that the 'Wayra' property which the website talks about, adjoins the Sol y Luna facility and they share restaurants. A chat with a friendly member of staff at the Wayra lodge recommended booking at this 'less formal' restaurant. The evening meal there was in two parts, we had drinks next to a wonderful log fire and ordered our meal, taking our starters in the lounge area while watching entertainment of acrobatics and juggling which was unusual and quite endearing, being presented by staff from the hotel, I think. We moved through to the dining area which only had one other couple in the room. Within minutes they left without eating and we ate our entire meal with no other guests in the dining area. This was a recurring theme, the resort felt all but empty during the following day. Staff seemed generally standoffish but were generally more helpful than the guy we had first met on reception once we had broken the ice. Breakfasts were good with a wide selection. Each time I went to take a look in the bar it was totally empty. Having sat by the pool for a while i went into the restaurant and asked whether we could get some coffee brought out, 'of course' and it duly arrived, but with so few guests, why did I have to go hunting for service? On our second night we tried the more formal restaurant. The food was very good with excellent presentation and friendly service. As time had progressed, then, we'd gradually found more and more friendly staff but overall Sol y Luna sold itself short with our dismal welcome and lack of information. A plan/map of the facilities would have been really helpful and a list of activities (assuming there were some relating to the stables) could have resulted in us doing more than reading in the sunshine amid the hummingbirds while we were there. On our final evening the lady at reception was helpful and checked arrangements for our departure early the following day with our local tour guides. I'd hoped for something far more welcoming and friendly when booking here and, sadly, left feeling that I'd probably found out about all that the lodge had to offer. A warmer welcome would have encouraged me to go back and ask (or even taken the time to tell me about what could be arranged). As it was I was left with a strange mixed impression of some staff who, when asked, were (mostly) pleasant and helpful but who were generally invisible. If the lodge was full I suspect I'd find it unpleasantly busy, but our 'ghost-lodge' experience of the near empty facility bordered on the eerie. I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DrBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay.

We are sorry to hear that your overall experience at Sol & Luna left you uneasy about returning.

We are constantly working on training our staff in order to make sure that they are well informed and eager to assist our guests anyway we can. I am sorry to hear that this was not the case this time.

Thank you for your recommendation of a map of the property. We will definitely get started in preparing one.

We hope that you do come back at some point and see all that the hotel has to offer.

Warmly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived here after 5 days of tough trekking around Ausangate. We were a bit grubby and dishevelled, rather embarrassing when arriving at such a smart address, but the staff took it in their stride.
After 4 nights of camping, what a treat to be shown to a beautiful 2-storey casita! As three friends, the layout was perfect - we tossed a coin for the large downstairs king-size bed, and then two of us shared the twin-bedded mezzanine.
The bathroom was luxurious with lovely L'Occitane toiletries (which were replenished when needed) and the slippers and robes were perfect for padding through the beautifully manicured gardens to the spa.
We ate in both the more casual ranch restaurant, and in the gourmet restaurant, and would whole-heartedly recommend the latter.
To be honest there wasn't that much difference in price between the two eating places and the gourmet one was vastly superior in terms of food, atmosphere and service. Also you didn't have to put up with the rather surreal "local entertainment" that went on in the ranch restaurant.
Breakfast is a fantastic spread which took us about an hour to do justice to - maybe all that trekking had just built up an appetite!
Our stay here was slightly surreal - it's a big place, laid out across several acres, and yet we hardly saw another soul! That is to say, there were teams of gardeners and waiters, and staff in the plush spa and shop, but hardly any other guests.
Not that I'm complaining - but it was just a bit odd.
Lovely place though, especially for the food and the peace and quiet - nothing but birdsong - perfect.

Room Tip: I think they're probably all rather nice!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your comments with future guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your casita and that you got to try both restaurants.

Thanks again for your excellent comments we hope to see you again soon!

Warmly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 28 in Urubamba
773 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Urubamba
199 reviews
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: $200 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing