We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sol y Luna a Magical Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sol y Luna a Magical Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Been in Cusco lost of times, but never in Urubamba, for being our first trip tu Urubamba we didn't knew where to stay, a friend of us recommend us Sol y Luna, couldn't be a better recommendation.
We visit a couple of other hotels in the valley and definitely Sol y Lune was the best in the zone.

I really recommend this hotel for all occasions: business, family or honey moon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recommending us for future guests.

We are glad you had a great time!

Hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    153
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
280
604
48
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our recent trip to Peru was full of great memories and some surprises. Thank goodness the only surprise at Sol Y Luna Lodge was how it exceeded our expectations. Entering the grounds after a long day of climbing and sensory overload, we were not sure what to expect when driving up the narrow little nondiscript road. Then,wow, we entered the paradise. Our service was welcoming, our accomodations excellent, and our breakfast delicious. We did not find the lack of television an inconvienience...who wants tv in a place like this...get out and enjoy that beautiful porch..listen to the birds and bees and the wind blowing off of the galciers in the afternoon. We had no problem with internet connections in the room however there was an issue wilth the VISA internet connection at departure. I can see where that might present a problem for a guest. Beautiful accomodations and a safe sancutary in the cool afternoons.

Room Tip: ...there is no bad room here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed the grounds, your Casita, the meals and the overall peace of the property. We work hard to give our guests a relaxing environment.

We hope to have you again sometime.

Al the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were quite excited to stay at Sol & Luna, but we were sadly very disappointed. There is a lack of warmth at this resort. From the moment we checked in we were struck by the general air of snobbery, so different than most of Peru, which is so welcoming. The rooms are nicely appointed, but without televisions or decent internet, and even the library is lacking in any interesting books. The restaurants are very expensive. The spa is basic at best and the pool is ice cold. They do a decent breakfast, I'll give them that. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: We hear the casitas in the back are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not an enjoyable one.

We are taking note of your recommendations and comments as to how to improve our level of service.

I do hope that you can come back at some point to visit us since we wouldnt want this to be your last opinion of our property.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our three nights in this hotel as it is beautifully designed and in a really lovely and quiet setting. You don't get any hint of what to expect as you approach the hotel but it is a stylish haven set in gorgeous gardens. There are stables on the premises and they will arrange mountain biking as well.

Our casita was large, well furnished and decorated, and comfortable. The bathroom was enormous and luxurious. We enjoyed having a Bose ipod doc (complete with ipod) and our own fireplace which was lit when we requested it.

The bars and restaurants were very good and we enjoyed all of the meals that we ate here. On our third evening we were entertained outside the informal restaurant by a fantastic paso horse show involving 4 horses and riders and 2 dancers which had been staged just for the two of us, I think that our tour operator had booked this for us.

The only slight disappointment was that the reception staff didn't seem to be very well informed and gave us conflicting information about which restaurant we should eat in each evening (dinner had been included in our booking).

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Sacred Valley, it was our favourite amongst all of the places we stayed in Peru.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe casita which was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us; that you enjoyed your Casita, the amenities, the restaurants, gardens, and specially that you got to see the Peruvian Paso Horses and Marinera dance.

Regarding the front desk staff, we are working on improving the service they give and it is one of our main concerns,so thank you for sharing this with us.

We hope that you come back and visit us sometime.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent one night at Sol y Luna in a deluxe casita. We love the lush gardens full of flowers, and the amazing decor different in each room. The artistic spirit that defines this hotel is unique, as it incorporates traditional motifs in modern and very comfortable design. Every detail is perfect, from the paper flowers to the amenities in the bathroom, the iPod and photo books in the room, delicious marzipane treats, and the finest beddings. The spa is also beautiful and inviting.

Room Tip: Deluxe casitas are excellent, of course the premium luxury casitas are even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sol & Luna with other guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your Deluxe Casita with its details and the art that we have made part of the decor in all the property.

We hope to have you again at Sol & Luna soon!

All the best from the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here as part of our 10 day trip with Adventures By Disney. It's truly an oasis! We loved every minute we spent here. The grounds are so beautiful! Hummingbirds and flowers everywhere. When we walked out of our hut we had the most gorgeous view of the mountains. The huts are awesome! Yes, it was a little chilly, but they give you a heater and and warm down comforter. Not a big deal. We loved it all, the food, the people and the accommodations. We will be back! Thanks for the memories!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jrickmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our future guests.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the compliments on the grounds and general landscape. We certainly put a great effort in making our property a relaxing retreat for our guests.

We do hope you come back again soon.

All the best from the Sol & Luna team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The nicest hotel we stayed at during our two-week trip in Peru. The grounds are beautiful with magnificent gardens. The casitas are exceptionally spacious with wonderful amenities (fireplace, fruit and cookie plates, huge bathroom, robes/slippers, array of toiletries). The staff was extremely friendly and service oriented. And the restaurants offered outstanding breakfasts and dinners. We are recommending this hotel to everyone we know who plans to travel to the Sacred Valley area of Peru.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith - David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitMiribel, Owner at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for a great review and for sharing it with our future guests.

We are glad you had a great stay at Sol & Luna. Definitely the gardens and landscape is something that we put extra care into.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food, your Casita and that the staff made your stay even more joyful.

Thanks again from all the Sol & Luna team and we hope you can come back and visit us sometime.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing