We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Sol & Luna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our stay at Sol & Luna”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful round room with stained glass windows, very comfortable. Staff excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Highly reccommended.
A great start to a wonderful adventure!

Room Tip: We may have had the best room, not sure, all seperate bungalows, some had 2 levels, ours didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleCee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    157
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
294
628
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
306 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very nice stay here and have a great well being here . Peacefull to visit the area and have a nice rest . Service is totally personalized . The owner is very friendly and always on the ground to give you the best . The gardens are wonderful and so pleasant .
Food is very good with a choice of two restaurants but don't miss the the tasting menu chef in the cellar .
stay there and by this way you can help and support a local school , a nice project of Sol & Luna .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabriciodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I highly recommend the Sol y Luna Lodge. This is one of the most beautiful, relaxing and peaceful experiences I have ever had. The service is equally impressive! This is a great place to stay before and/or after visiting Machu Picchu!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The grounds at this resort were lovely to wander (which was good as Urubamba itself was not as pleasant for a stroll). My son loved visiting the horses and rabbits. There was a show each night at the casual dining area that was not something we would have sought out, but it was there and free (and because it was outdoors, the hotel provided warm ponchos!) There is a tiny gym (24 hours) with just enough equipment to round out a hiking workout. The business center was a convenient place to catch up on emails (did not bring our own computer) and there was a reading room with lots of books on Peru. The pool was tiny and cold, but there were some lounge chairs near by for pleasant reading on a sunny afternoon.

Breakfast was fantastic! Everything I wanted with some pleasant surprises. The best was the tamales with picante sauce. Coffee is strong and good and I loved the tea infusions. we also had dinner there twice (too tired to go out) and it was consistently good.

Our little cabin was great - two stories with a double bed downstairs and two twins in the loft. No TV, which was nice. (there was a TV in the gym so I caught up on the news each morning.) spacious marble bath with l'Occitane amenities. I loved the nightly turndown service with hot water bottles for each bed - great touch!

This was my favorite hotel of the trip - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights here as parts of a hiking/biking trip with Backroads. The casitas are clean and cozy, and are nestled in beautifully landscaped surroundings. The food was the best of our trip-Thank you Chef Nacho! The smokey morning air, due to the abundance of fireplaces, can make breathing at the altitude a bit of a challenge! There were some unwanted visitors during our visit--ants in the bathroom and bedroom. We reported it to the front desk but there was no change during our stay. Overall an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSUDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The best hotel i stayed in while in Peru. Luxurious, spacious well decorated bungalows, the bathrooms are huge. Fireplace, Ipod music, artwork, great gardens and view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Sol y Luna was our home base for 4 nights while we visited the local ruins and Machu Picchu. It's a beautiful, tranquil place that I didn't want to leave! The private casitas are adorable and the vibrant bursts of colors from the flowers that are everywhere made me so happy. The food was truly spectacular. Delicious buffet breakfasts and I had a shrimp dish for lunch one day that I'm still dreaming about! My only regret is that I didn't use the spa. We were so busy visiting ruins, the salt mines, white water rafting, etc, that I didn't have a chance. Next time we visit, (and I do plan to return!) I'll build an extra day into my schedule for pampering at the spa.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing