We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find in Sacred Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent find in Sacred Valley”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Sol y Luna was a nice hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our casita was large, clean and nicely furnished and we took advantage of the fireplace on the cool nights we were there. The hot water bottle delivered to our room each night added extra warmth to our beds. The room even had a Bose speaker system with an IPod, that provided music selections to fit any taste. The grounds are magnificent and well cared for. The buffet breakfast selection was substantial with cooked to order items available. We had a light dinner each night in the Wayra restaurant (too full from lunches to go to their gourmet restaurant). The service was excellent and the food well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NevadaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    159
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
303
647
51
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This resort is beautiful and very comfortable. All the rooms are separate bungalows with a front porch to sit on and enjoy the view. The landscaping is gorgeous and attracts many butterflies and hummingbirds. The restaurants are excellent and the bartenders are the best we encountered in Peru. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the bathrooms are wonderful. They have entertainment in the evenings and during the day after a wonderful lunch we saw a beautiful Peruvian Paso horse show and dance with a man and woman. The spa is very nice, but we thought their prices were high.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are wonderful, but the upgraded rooms with a private whirlpool aren't that mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are traveling to Machu Picchu then this is the place to stay for a couple of days. It is set in the beautiful Sacred Valley amongst immaculate manicured gardens. Each room (casita) is individually set in the gardens and is comfy, roomy and made of adobe brick construction. Wi fi and hot water bottles are provided.
Staff are very attentive and go out of their way to help. We even had two shows thrown in....one was a synchronized riding display and the other was 'Achuma'-an acrobatic display that was mesmerizing.
The two restaurants provide stunning food at reasonable prices. What more could you want?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moonflower59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The casitas are just stunning. They are set along a beautiful walkway with flowers and blooming shrubbery and trees everywhere. The casita itself is warm and inviting. The bathrooms have a soaking tub as well as a shower. They are tastefully tiled. The beds are comfortable and in the evening, the staff comes, starts your heater for chilly nights, and places a water bottle in your bed. With stained glass windows, ceramic figurines, and huge bouquets of flowers, the rooms were welcoming and relaxing. Safes are in the room as well as a huge wardrobe for hanging clothes. Bottles of water and given to you every day. There are chairs on your front porch and you can watch humming birds and soak up the scenery.

Our check in, as well as check out was quickly and efficiently handled. Questions about a restaurant in Urubamba were answered quickly. Taxis entered via a wrought iron gate manned by a person on staff. Dining can be charged to your credit card.

Dinner could be eaten at one of two restaurants. Both restaurants were very good, but we especially enjoyed drinks by the fire at Wayra and then dinner after the Peruvian horse exhibition. They started heaters outside and provided fleece ponchos for people who wanted to see the show, and it was professionally done and just beautiful.

Breakfast buffet was one of the best of our trip. They had all kinds of juices, fruit, hot breakfast items, as well as yogurt, cereal, and even strawberry tarts and apple tarts. Eggs cooked however you wanted, as well as omelets were made to order. The ciabotta rolls almost floated to your plate!

If in the Sacred Valley, we would certainly stay here again. It is a peaceful haven tucked in the valley and overlooked by snow-capped mountains. What a treat!

On our arrival, we hurried down to Wayra for a late lunch. My husband and I remarked on the tasty beef sandwiches and great fries. Prices for sandwiches were about $15.00 US which seemed a bit high considering other restaurants around this area. The food was very good, though, and we especially liked the pizzas.

Room Tip: We stayed at the most standard casita which we felt was luxurious. All casitas are private and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while we acclimatised to the altitude before embarking on the Inca Trail. The scenery was stunning and the gardens a real delight. Our only disappointment was that we would have preferred to stay here rather then the hotel in Cusco after our trek. We would recommend staying here before and after trekking.
We decided this would also be a good location from which to explore the sacred valley and even Cusco.

Room Tip: I would think that all the rooms are equally good but some people may prefer rooms nearer the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

A delightful hotel with large rooms that were well serviced. The grounds are beautiful and both restaurants served great food.
We had a complimentary meal as part of our package and my husband was ill on the night of the dinner. The staff very kindly allowed him to have the dinner the next night which we appreciated. The night show was another great surprise and was a real treat with very talented acrobats. Would recommend this as a place to stay near the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schwampdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My fiancé and I recently spent a night at one of the Casitas de Lujo in Sol & Luna...what a wonderful experience! From the arrival and first contact with the staff, we felt in paradise. A nice walk through carefully groomed gardens took us to our Casita and what we found behind the door took our breath away! Exquisitely decorated with Peruvian art pieces, warm colors and the finest details, the Casita was both cozy and luxurious, with an incredible view of the surrounding snow capped mountains. The outdoors hot tub was amazing! At night, we enjoyed dinner next to the fireplace in Wayra, it was superb! Their Peruvian Paso Horses show was also a unique experience. I wouldn't recommend any other place in the Sacred Valley, we had an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: we loved our room 44!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#3 of 26 in Urubamba
752 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
190 reviews
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing