We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Real Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A Real Gem"”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

If you’re planning a trip to see the Inca sites in the sacred valley on the way to Machu Picchu, you won’t find a better place to stay than the Sol Y Luna Hotel. The rooms are about twice the size of a normal hotel room, and they include a working fireplace, a living room area, a dining area, a side covered patio, and a heated bathroom floor. It’s one of the best hotel rooms we’ve stayed in anywhere and is truly a top notch hotel by any standards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    159
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
303
647
51
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This resort is truly first class, beautiful casitas with all of the amenities. Lush grounds, quiet, relaxing. Very attentive staff. Fantastic food. There was even a folklorico at dinner that evening for a group that was visiting.

Room Tip: All private casitas, believe they would all be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My 1st time to the Sacred Valley. And I did not know what to expect.
Was totally wowwed with Sol y Luna. We stayed in the Casitas Deluxe.
Beautiful,very spacious ,suite like room. Bathroom was large with heated tile floors.
Luxurious and after a long day hiking, I would soak in the tub. The staff was very attentive and did their best to please.
We stayed 2 nights but wished we stayed longer. Make time to enjoy the facilities.
A positive of going to the Sacred valley is the altitude is lower. Stay 1st here and then move on with your travels. I also recommend to have pre arranged transportation to/from airport to the hotel.
Already thinking about going back. Much more than going to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselleLaborde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Sol y Luna was a fabulous surprise and a wonderful part of a once in a life-time trip to Peru and the Sacred Valley. Lovely individual casitas, glorious gardens and fabulous restaurant and bar. To top it off, at dinner one evening we were unexpectedly treated to a performance of the famous Peruvian prancing horses. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A lovely hotel. The staff were more than accommodating and helpful to us Yankees! A highlight was seeing the beautiful Peruvian Paseo horses in performance outside the wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the new Wayra bungalows. Fabulous! Most people stop here overnight for a brief visit to the Sacred Valley on the way to Machu Picchu, but this place offers much more than that: a super refuge where you can cool your jets, with amazing views of the mountains all around, beautiful grounds, very good cuisine, and the Wayra bungalows are spacious, comfortable and elegant. You don´t feel like leaving the place, and you don´t have to because they've got it all here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

After a long and breathtaking day touring the Sacred Valley we arrived at Sol & Luna and were simply blown away by the beauty of the surroundings and the accomodation itself.
Sadly we did not have enough time to stay an extra day or two to simply relax and enjoy this most wonderful environment.
We highly recommend anyone staying here to allocate at least one full free day to simply take in the beauty and enjoy the extremely high quality accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYDARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
1.2 mi away
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#3 of 26 in Urubamba
752 reviews
5.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#6 of 26 in Urubamba
190 reviews
18.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing